1 photo
Sharp R995DST

Sharp R995DST

MPNs: 36384593 and R995DST
2.8 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Microwaves in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Sharp

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.4 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.1 (7)
Previous
Next
Mike
MikePerth, WA
  • 53 reviews
  • 51 likes

So very disappointing [Edit: failed in under a year]

published

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for $849.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Mike
Mike
Brad
BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Used once & failed. So deviated!!!!

published

Have used once after getting as a present & was so excited to use it. It half cooked a roast & now the oven, grill & microwave doesn't work. I was so excited about this & re styled my kitchen to not have an oven due to this being told this was so good. Took to repair person & they cut the lead saying it was dangerous!!!!
Totally devastated.

Purchased in July 2020 for $999.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Eric
EricHobart, TAS
  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Rubbish

published

Lasted less than 3 years whereas previous Panasonic lasted 14 years. Cost over 800 dollars and only 12 month warranty. Sharp know this product is prone to failure eg inverter board and repair costs are too high. Never buy another sharp microwave again.

Purchased in January 2018 for $800.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kerry
KerrySydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Buyer beware: Cash backs bounce back!!

published

Company used communication system failure caused by Covid 19 lockdown as excuse to reject perfectly legitimate cash back claim. Terms & conditions state: ' no liability' even if communication error is their fault? What happened to ethics? What happened to these unusual times we are all enduring call for unusual assistance in all and every way possible? What happened to let's all help each other? Apparently this does not apply to certain companies? Passed from one department to another for months. Management does not even have enough courtesy to reply to my letter. I have been a loyal customer for 42 years. There will be no 43.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David Mauger
David MaugerPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

TOTAL JUNK stay clear of their products!!!

published

SHARP knows there is an 'ISSUE' with this product, they are sending us another one, but why not simply build it right in the 1st place? Has to be the noisiest appliance on the market and for the Dimensions of it, the interior is very small. I can not find a positive about it. Sharp has dropped the ball on quality control.

Purchased in November 2019 for $415.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
exempolyee
exempolyeebrisbane

Never buy a Sharp product ever.

published

Bought this oven from Harvey Norman 13 months ago. 1 month after warranty ended so did the oven the oven feature stopped heating. Contacted Harvey Norman on numerous occasions and on all occasions they told us sharp would be in contact with us. 1 month later where still waiting to hear from sharp. We thought sharp was a well known brand that’s why we didn’t take an extended warranty on this product which cost $750.00 you would think you would get more than 13 months use out of this product.
Will never buy a sharp product again and will advise all friends never to buy a sharp product ever.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Deepa Kuriakose
Deepa KuriakoseVictoria
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fast cooking and heating

published

I have bought this microwave which helps my food heat evenly in less time.I like that it's door opens by pulling and not by the button system.it easy to clean.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Deepa, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged.

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Next

Dies just after warranty expires

published

Out of the Microwaves that we have had over the years this would be the one we have liked the least. However our opinion dropped even more when the the unit failed half way through a convection cook up and now doesn't heat on either convection or microwave. Very annoying as it was out of warranty by 3 months. Lucky we had a cheap $120 no name brand that we use camping each year and surprisingly, it is still going strong after 5 years. No more Sharp products for me

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $820.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Kevin, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dean
DeanLogan

Rubbish, has had 3 issues in less than 2 years.

published

Have had to take our unit back twice because it wouldn’t work on microwave or convection. Now the door won’t stay shut. I was a big fan of sharp products, I would expect a little bit more than roughly 18 months out of a microwave that honestly doesn’t get used all that much. Our previous oven was close to 20 years old and survived many house moves and a much harder life, thought we would stay loyal and buy another sharp product, can’t say I would buy sharp again.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Dean,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for this product. For support we would encourage you to contact ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing this review so that our team can assist in achieving a resolution for you.

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fliss
FlissSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good product

published

I had the previous model to this one - lasted over 20 years!! Was very happy with it. This one is taking a little time to get used to the changes (sensor cook, etc is a little more difficult to use), & interior is a litte smaller so some dishes/containers no longer fit, but overall am very happy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear Customer, thank you for your time in providing feedback. We will pass the issue on to our product team for their review.

Breezy1
Breezy1Camberwell
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works Very Well Indeed

published

I am happy with our one but perhaps I should be worried looking at all the other reviews, lol. I mostly just use it to warm up milk these days plus the occasional dinner reheat. I find it quick and efficient - hey - I even like it. I guess I am one of the lucky ones? Anyway eight months in, no problems to report.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad that you enjoy using the microwave. Have a good day!

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
  • Verified

Absolute rubbish microwave

published

first issue, the grill kept tripping fuses in the first week, fixed under warren-tee, found to be a cracked internal grill.
Microwave use ok, used oven function only for the first time after a year, as mostly used just the microwave and grill function. 40 minutes oven use, turntable doesn't work, microwave doesn't work either. Display ok.
Not going to bother fixing it, trash bin here it comes

Have a LG combination microwave in my garage, leaking microwave door, cant get replacement.( hence the sharp one bought) still working all functions for 20 years

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
KIM
KIM
KIM
KIM

With such an expensive microwave that had a cracked glass internal roof of the grill area, we requested a replacement but were turned down.....

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
joyc
joycGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Contacted sharps customer service before I wrote my rating of this microwave. Guess what. No reply.

published

Not satisfied, not happy. Oh sorry, you say I have to write a minimum of fifty words. Okay, bring back the sharp carousel convection microwave and. Replace this new unsatifactory microwave. I have now started looking at competitors products. I emailed customer service, no response. Put complaint on face book, oh got a response, contact customer service. Err what customer service????

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
johno
johnoFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

dissapointing

published

Previous 2 Sharp micro/convector ovens preset buttons were perfect for Australia, This replacement has omitted jacket potato and has pumpkin risotto! and two settings for frozen chips (thick and thin cut), Did any one from Sharp Australia check this devise before selling it in Australia? Sharp phone and on line support very poor replies to request for help asked me to use preset buttons that are not available on this machine and also seemed unable to differentiate between English and sweet potato recipes. also convector oven button alters temperature in 20 degrees Celsius which means the most popular setting (150`) for cake baking is unobtainable. A very disappointing oven.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your review. We have spoken to our Customer Care team and they would like to clarify and assist you. Please send your contact details to ccare@sharp.net.au referencing this review.

johno
johno

6/6/18 I am still waiting for a response from sharp

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your patience. Due to limited personal data availability on this website, we were unable to confirm your contact details. Are you able to send your contact details via private message or through the email, ccare@sharp.net.au?

sharpless
sharplessGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sharp R-995DST

published

I have always used the sharp Carousel Convection microwave for 25 years. finally had to replace it and was disappointed the model was no longer available. Bought the Sharp R-995DST expecting it to be the same or better.
Could not be more disappointed, infact I hate using it now.
Manual for use is hopeless, things I have cooked before do not come out anywhere near as good. Door mists up, control buttons are misleading.
I have emailed Sharp from their website and did not get any response. I felt that was very rude and showed poor customer relationship and as a business owner, it has not done the Sharp name any service at all
Looks like Sharp are going to lose a previously very happy user

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Questions & Answers

Cara
Caraasked

We got our sharp microwave oven 3 months short of two years ago. Just switched it on today and it caused one of the household fuses to blow. Now when we try to use the microwave it doesn't heat and the carousel doesn't rotate, but the fan goes and the countdown goes.

Any ideas what could have caused it and whether it's fixable?

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely fixable. Contact SHARP Australia.

Terry H
Terry Hasked

I have a sharpe convention microwave ( brought it on Dec 2019 ) and when doing rice it fogs up and even the clock area fogs up , it takes 4-5 hrs for the fog to disappear . Why is this or is it a problem with the microwave

2 answers
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely an issue with the Unit.

Terry H
Terry H

Thanks I have taken it to a sharpe serviceman and I will see what he comes up with .

Val M.
Val M.asked

How can I cook for 25 seconds on microwave.

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

You're kidding, yes?
I mean REALLY?
Maybe If you're actually capable, try Setting for 30 seconds and press Stop/Cancel with 5 seconds remaining.

See all Sharp R995DST questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $1,249.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 368 x 550 x 537 mm
Turntable Diameter362 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Power1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36384593 and R995DST
  • GTIN13: 4974019884981

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.