1 photo
Sharp R995DST

Sharp R995DST

MPNs: 36384593 and R995DST
2.8 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Mars
MarsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Good Microwave

published

I have owned this microwave for 9 months now with absolutely now issues. It is strongly built, compared to Samsung and Panasonic, and is a very powerful machine.
I don't use all the functions of the microwave, but it does heat things up very fast, and the door has a very solid feel, compared to other microwaves.
I have noticed a lot of bad reviews about this product from 2 years ago, but perhaps Sharp have fixed these issues.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Not a fan of iinet
Not a fan of iinetSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Just like to thank the staff at Brisbane for arranging to fix my microwave under warranty. Top service.

published

Just like to thank the staff at Brisbane for arranging to fix my microwave under warranty.
Top service.
Will buy again. They fixed it under warranty and provided an excellent service

Purchased in November 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Deepa Kuriakose
Deepa KuriakoseVictoria
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fast cooking and heating

published

I have bought this microwave which helps my food heat evenly in less time.I like that it's door opens by pulling and not by the button system.it easy to clean.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Deepa, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged.

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fliss
FlissSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good product

published

I had the previous model to this one - lasted over 20 years!! Was very happy with it. This one is taking a little time to get used to the changes (sensor cook, etc is a little more difficult to use), & interior is a litte smaller so some dishes/containers no longer fit, but overall am very happy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear Customer, thank you for your time in providing feedback. We will pass the issue on to our product team for their review.

Breezy1
Breezy1Camberwell
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works Very Well Indeed

published

I am happy with our one but perhaps I should be worried looking at all the other reviews, lol. I mostly just use it to warm up milk these days plus the occasional dinner reheat. I find it quick and efficient - hey - I even like it. I guess I am one of the lucky ones? Anyway eight months in, no problems to report.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad that you enjoy using the microwave. Have a good day!

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
johno
johnoFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

dissapointing

published

Previous 2 Sharp micro/convector ovens preset buttons were perfect for Australia, This replacement has omitted jacket potato and has pumpkin risotto! and two settings for frozen chips (thick and thin cut), Did any one from Sharp Australia check this devise before selling it in Australia? Sharp phone and on line support very poor replies to request for help asked me to use preset buttons that are not available on this machine and also seemed unable to differentiate between English and sweet potato recipes. also convector oven button alters temperature in 20 degrees Celsius which means the most popular setting (150`) for cake baking is unobtainable. A very disappointing oven.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
6 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your review. We have spoken to our Customer Care team and they would like to clarify and assist you. Please send your contact details to ccare@sharp.net.au referencing this review.

johno
johno

6/6/18 I am still waiting for a response from sharp

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your patience. Due to limited personal data availability on this website, we were unable to confirm your contact details. Are you able to send your contact details via private message or through the email, ccare@sharp.net.au?

New purchase

published

My last one was the SuperStream oven which was great for 6 years then died. My first Sharp microwave was the Carousel R-9450 purchased in 1984. It is still going strong but I needed a convection. Tested the microwave with the brownies from the recipe section. They did not turn out well - too dry. Not as easy to use as the Superstream was.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Lois, Thank you for your feedback. We will pass it on to our product team. Have a good day.

Gina palumbo
Gina palumbo
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good for the price

published

Microwave is very powerful. I feel the settings are all quite similar and I have to over ride it, otherwise my defrosted food will start to cook. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to cook evenly as it is a newer model I would have hoped that function was improved. Its quite light weight so moves around in the cavity I've built for it

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Gina, Thank you for your purchase and review of the product. If you need any assistance in regards to the cooking feature, please feel free to email us your contacts details at ccare@sharp.net.au, or by phone on 1300 135 022.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Hayley
HayleyPort Douglas
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

After my wall oven blowing up I replaced it with this convection microwave and just love it. I find it does everything I used my much larger wall oven for and only takes up a fraction of the space in my small kitchen. Can cook great pizzas, cakes, roasts, reheat etc. and it doesn't create too much heat. I only have a small family of 2 so size not an issue.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Hayley, thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you love the microwave. Have a great week ahead!

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jaspa
jaspaMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great and easy to use

published

Only had for a little while and i dont use it to much for cooking just to reheat and defrost but works really well and seems very quiet and sturdy. Had an older model sharp that lasted for a long time so wanted to get same brand as felt i could trust it and it hasn't let me down

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
JBS
JBSSydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Works as it should

published

Easy to use setting and happy with the results. The Unit is sturdy and the door and hinges quite strong. Also, it is fairly easy to clean. Steamer to clean the microwave I feel is a bit of a gimmick, but overall I am satisfied with its performance. Noise wise it is no different than the Panasonic that I had previously.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Mike42
Mike42South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

New Purchase

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
disappointed
disappointedMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Sharp Microwave Model No. R995DW Good Kitchen Aid

published

No automatic convection for roasts and no time guides per weight for manual setting, in the booklet. The fan is very noisy and cools for a long time. The trays which are great in them selves, do not cook the food if they are put in the microwave together. I have always had Sharp microwaves and have used them every day. I am reasonably happy with this model and it has some really good features. Great if you only have a small amount of baking to do.The microwave is lighter than the old one but it seems to be well built.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Mick
MickInnisfail
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Update as old one died.

published

New model . First in about 30 years. Not as heavy as old model and has a few more features. This is perfect if you are looking for a lower power consumption than electric oven. Have used for only one month so haven't been able to try all functions. So far have had no problems understand controls and use everyday.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Linda
LindaTHIRLMERE

I'm in love with my Sharp R995DST Microwave

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Sharp R995DST reviews

Questions & Answers

Cara
Caraasked

We got our sharp microwave oven 3 months short of two years ago. Just switched it on today and it caused one of the household fuses to blow. Now when we try to use the microwave it doesn't heat and the carousel doesn't rotate, but the fan goes and the countdown goes.

Any ideas what could have caused it and whether it's fixable?

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely fixable. Contact SHARP Australia.

Terry H
Terry Hasked

I have a sharpe convention microwave ( brought it on Dec 2019 ) and when doing rice it fogs up and even the clock area fogs up , it takes 4-5 hrs for the fog to disappear . Why is this or is it a problem with the microwave

2 answers
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely an issue with the Unit.

Terry H
Terry H

Thanks I have taken it to a sharpe serviceman and I will see what he comes up with .

Val M.
Val M.asked

How can I cook for 25 seconds on microwave.

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

You're kidding, yes?
I mean REALLY?
Maybe If you're actually capable, try Setting for 30 seconds and press Stop/Cancel with 5 seconds remaining.

See all Sharp R995DST questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $1,249.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 368 x 550 x 537 mm
Turntable Diameter362 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Power1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36384593 and R995DST
  • GTIN13: 4974019884981

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.