??!
3 photos
Siemens iQ800 WM16Y892AU

Siemens iQ800 WM16Y892AU

3.4 from 8 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

3.4

8 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Absolute joke

published

Our first mashing machine was continually leaking. After 4 technician visits and continued leaking, Siemens eventually agreed to replace the machine. We are now a year in with a second machine and it has again stopped working. This time an e 23 error and need to call a technician out. And yet again we are highly inconvenienced and now don’t have a working washing machine. For such an expensive product, I’ve been absolutely disgusted with the quality. One dodgy machine I was happy to forgive due to warranty, but a second is unforgivable.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens

Hi Sacha, Thanks for your review, we're so sorry to hear about your experience.
We'd like to investigate for you, if you could email us at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, quoting BSH12567 in the subject line.
Regards, Siemens Home Australia.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Taz

TazSouth East Queensland, QLD

Intermittent leaks over last 18 months

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2015 at Winning Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Taz
Taz
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ross

RossSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

One major issue

published

My problem with this machine is the low water pressure warning. I have almost 600Kpa water pressure at the tap yet it still beeps incessantly. When the warning goes off it continues to fill with water resulting in the water reaching half way up the door window. How to disable this useless warning?

Purchased in March 2018 at Winning Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Siemens iQ800 WM16Y892AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark a

Mark aSydney

Consistently breaks down

published

We bought this washing machine brand a few years ago. We are a family of 4 and have pretty standard needs for a washing machine. This machine has broken down about 15+ times costing us huge amounts in service calls. Very dissatisfied with what is meant to be a high quality reliable brand.

If you are thinking about buying a Siemens washing machine, definitely think very carefully about your decision.

Date PurchasedNov 2012
1 comment
Mark a
Mark a

Update on this matter. I contacted Siemens who agreed that the faults were excessive. They replaced the machine with a brand new one. We've had the new one for two months with no problems so far.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dusty

DustyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Very gentle on Clothes

published

Cleans clothes very well with the auto detergent dispensing, it does not waste detergent,
Nor rough on clothes like previous other washers,
Very quiet,
Love the programmed stop function, the machine will delay start and have your washing finished at a designated time, either when you wake up or when you get home from work, to avoid sitting in the machine wet for hours.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rose

RoseVictoria

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love it!!

published

Looks great, handles large loads easily. Reliable and energy efficient. Very quiet even with heavy duty washing. Lots of wash option cycles which can be altered to suit, very gentle on clothes yet gets them super clean. Would not use any other Brand in the future .... happiness in the Laundry. Previously used Bosch machines which are made by same company I believe but they sounded like planes taking off and coming in to land.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
WAgirl13

WAgirl13Mid West, WA

  • 3 reviews

Very reliable machine and gentle on clothes.

published

My machine gets a good workout and is strong and reliable. I have had many of the other brands and experienced problems with the electronics. It is a good solid washing machine and I can recommend it for families. It is easy to access for cleaning filters etc. also very quiet while in operation.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hotwire

HotwireHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant washing machine

published

What's not to like about this washing machine. If you can't read the instructions it would be a bother but for literate persons its amazing.
Not more moldy washing because it has a clean cycle that fixes that, and it tells you when to run that cycle too.
The wash has no residual detergent so your cloths don't have that soapy feeling. The machine adds the detergent and softener so you just put the cloths in and start washing. It turns itself of when it's done!
No shaking the house down when it spins and it's so quiet, it's often difficult to know when its on. FANTASTIC!!

Date PurchasedNov 2015
2 comments
Siemens
BSH Home AppliancesSiemens
Hotwire
Hotwire
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Siemens iQ800 WM16Y890AU / WM16Y892AU reviews

Questions & Answers

Selina W.

Selina W.asked

iQ800 WM16Y892AU

My machine is not spinning out and I have to keep emptying the water how do I just do a spin cycle.. very flipping annoyed considering what we spend on these machines

4 answers
Taz
Taz

I had that problem, have you cleaned out the filter (bottom right lid), there may be something stuck and it can't pump out the water. Mine looked like it was about to spin, but it would start and stop, then left washing machine pooled with water - kids hair clips were caught in the filter. The wash would also take twice as long to finish.
To just spin, turn the dial to "others" and you can choose to spin, drain... there are quite a few other things you can do.

Taz
Taz

Also, make sure you have a thick towel under the washing machine front, as a bit of water will flow out when you open the filter. To drain out some of this water, unhook the little pipe and unplug it to let some water out into a little ice cream tub - BEFORE you open filter.

Selina W.
Selina W.

Hi Taz.. yes I clean that out on a daily basis and still is not draining properly...I have had enough and have had to order a new LG washer now. thanks for your input.

NatsSiemens

NatsSiemensasked

iQ800 WM16Y892AU

Have just received my new WM16Y892AU washing machine. Please explain how to just do a spin cycle.

No answers
DavesLaundry

DavesLaundryasked

iQ800 WM16Y892AU

Hi Siemens / all. I have a Siemens IQ 800 model WM16Y892AU. The clothes are not coming out nice and soft like they did with my old Siemens where I dosed the detergent and softener myself. Any ideas please? Thank you. Frustrated. David

2 answers
Hotwire
Hotwire

You need to check the its using softener. Does it run out? If it isn't using any softener you need a Siemens technician.
Secondly not all cycles include softener. Try the wool cycle.

DavesLaundry
DavesLaundry

Hi there Hotwire. Thanks for your answer. Yes it's using softener, as it needs refilling. I'm using the cotton cycle which uses conditioner. Something is not combining right. Clothes used to come out soft and fragrant with my old manual Siemens. Seems like this automatic thing is more hassle than it's worth. David

See all Siemens iQ800 WM16Y892AU questions

Get an answer from our members and Siemens representatives

Siemens iQ800 WM16Y892AU

Details

Compare both Siemens iQ800 WM16Y890AU / WM16Y892AU
CategoryFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $2,499.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Reload/Add Wash
Energy Rating4.5 star(s)
Water Rating4.5 star(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 590 mm
Max Spin Speed 1,600 rpm
Maximum Noise Level73 db
Weight83 kg
StackableNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2012
Compare both Siemens iQ800 WM16Y890AU / WM16Y892AU

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.