??!
1 photo
Sikkens Cetol Deck

Sikkens Cetol Deck

3.4 from 15 reviews

Reviews

3.4

15 reviews
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(4)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Application
    3.0 (2)
  • Coverage
    3.5 (2)
  • Longevity
    2.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Beautiful finish but needs care

published

I have been using this product for 12 years. Do the prep work as per instructions for best results.
We need to re-coat every 6-12 months where timber is exposed to full sun.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$219.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Gavan E

Gavan E

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very ordinary

published

This product is way overpriced and over rated.Slip resistant for a very short time but after normal wear for about a week/ fortnight it loses its non slip.At about $45/litre it is not worth it. Adds a yellowish colour, not transparent as it states and in non wearing areas of the deck there is a build up of unsightly stain.Takes 24 hours to dry which is a pain if you need to use the deck.Trying to remove it to renovate your deck is another matter...it is a nightmare to remove.If you want to use sikkens..just use the cetol, without the slip resiatant.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$45.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Curtis

CurtisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Average

published

Provides a good finish but needs a lot of prep, it's expensive and it doesn't last long. Also be careful with the stain colours. Even the pine colour gives a stain. Decent, but not worth the money.

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Sikkens Cetol Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Satisfactory: but depends what you are looking for

published

Have sold and used this product for many years along with flood spa n deck, Intergrain Ultradeck/DWD and Cutek and would rate this product as satisfactory considering the price. Gives a great finish that is second to none however is often referred to as 'liquid gold' as the price is high and increasing every year. As far as longevity it could last longer when accounting a drum costs $600-700 as it faded in about 8 months. It really depends on what you are after. If you are willing to re-coat the deck every year in full sun then sikkens is the elite option with best finish, however if you want a product with more longevity Spa N deck we have found is the longest lasting (roughly 2 years depending on exposure).

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Terry B

Terry BPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good product, but with limitations

published

Have used this product on and off for years. It is a very good product, but with limitations. The two biggest problems we have encountered is that the time between treatment/costs is always sooner than the product material suggests. The second is most of Sikkens products are a stain Vs. a strict oil protective coating. After a few coats the natural timber grain is lost under the stain. This combined with a tendency to attract and absorb dirt sees the timber get very dark very quickly. We still use Sikkens and it is a good product, its a pain to prepare the surface and expensive to use. For areas that we insist on retaining a timber finish we use other products or varnish.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Excellent

published

i am a professional painter operating as Calgary quality painting i started using Sikkens cetol 1 for my customers more than 2 years ago for decks and fences after i sand down to the bare wood decks i apply a heavy coat of Sikkens cetol . my customers are very happy with the results it penetrates in the wood and protects it for many years searching for photos and reviews under Calgary quality painting.com is the best stain if you use it correctly

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Peter B

Peter BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Expensive waste of time and money for a terrible result.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
ganesha

ganesha

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

7 years later.....

published

It's seven years since I coated my decking with Sikkens Deck. It previously had Setol HLS on it. I followed instructions on the tin and gave it three coats. Just done a re-coat after seven years, and must say that it held up extremely well. I live in the tropics with harsh sun and rain often blowing in. The 12 monthly re-coating advice is possibly for the most extreme locations, and best to use your common sense. Of course they want to sell product hence this advice.

Date PurchasedMar 2010
Albervin

AlbervinWollongong

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Does what it says

published

I have a massive Karri deck on my house. I painted each plank with two coats top, bottom and sides before fitting. A final coat was applied after nailing. The two areas that get most sun have deteriorated because I was slack about maintenance but the rest of the deck looks superb. I wash well and re-coat every two years and the colours of the wood remain the same. Karri can vary in colour from deep red (like Jarrah) to a caramel/beige and the look is what I was always after. Be aware that some woods do not take stain well and can be disappointing so do your homework before forking out the money.

Date PurchasedMay 2013
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Sikkens Cetol Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kathy M

Kathy M

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sikkens Cetol Deck

published

We used the Sikkens series of deck products - BL tannin & oil remover, BL Deck, HLSe & Deck - to finish a hardwood deck. We followed all the instructions and also allowed the deck to season for 3 months before applying everything else. The surface on the area exposed to full sun degraded within months. Sikkens response is to make it my problem. My advice would be to reconsider purchasing the EXPENSIVE & DISAPPOINTING product. In my experience, there was absolutely no value gained from spending the extra money.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
PaulS

PaulSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 56 reviews
  • 34 likes

Worth every cent

published
Robyn

Robyn

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Really great.

published
Marc

Marc

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Worst exterior product I have ever used

published

Applied following strictly the instructions on the tin. The product failed within 3 month. The coat film turned black and peeled off. Thier customer service was arrogant and dismissive. I would give zero stars if possible.

Bobby Vee

Bobby VeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

Top shelf

published

Sikkens is a world class product that is head and shoulders against other deck stains, oils and look alikes. Been using Sikkens for 23 years and have always been satisfied. Not cheap, but worth ever dollar. Takes 24 hours to dry and looks terrific when cured. You will not be disappointed.
Professional
Re coat every 12 months

Dr Rob

Dr RobPERTH

Sikkens Cetol Deck

published

Great product but like every outdoor wood product needs to be redone every 12 months in exposed areas. Sikkens have now developed a brush with long handle for application so it takes less than half an hour for me to apply to whole deck. Needs to be applied to dry deck so if need to wash the deck the day before application.
Quick easy to apply and looks great
Have to redo every year or so in exposed areas

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Sikkens Cetol Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Morag MacDougall

Morag MacDougallasked

Can you apply this straight onto decking after sanding down?

No answers
Sarah

Sarahasked

I have a 10-year-old large tallowwood deck which has been sanded back to bare wood. I want a clear matt finish. I'm tossing up between Sikkens Cetol deck and Intergrain Decking Oil. What's best for longevity?

5 answers
Linda Kalle
Linda Kalle

Depends if your deck is fully exposed to sun. If in Qld, recoat every 6 months for either product. I've used Sikkens as a 2-part oil based product but used it extensively on Merbau decking. There is a customer call line for Sikkens.

Gavan E
Gavan E

The Cetol will be better than the Intergrain for longevity,Am not to impressed with Integrain, too expensive for what I have found to be inferior product. I hope you are aware that the Cetol deck must be used over a coating of Cetol HLSe. You will require 2 coats over one coat of HLSe.Have you thought of just using HLSe on its own, it is a satin finish but will need 3 coats each 24 hours apart.You must be careful using it as it "dries" very quickly on raw timber so you must cover the deck boards say to at a time and stain along the length of the board, not across.You must have a wet edge all the time otherwise it dries and the dry mark will be seen.So stain 2 boards down and back up 2 boards. You might find you can do more than two at a time, you will find out when you start.Timber decks are the biggest pain on a house.Good luck

Sarah
Sarah

Thanks. Is SIKKENS CETOL HLSE clear or almost clear?

Kerry M.

Kerry M.asked

What is the best sikkens product to use on picnic tables in a beer garden attached to a pub, mostly in sun has a retractable roof for when it is raining so not really wet other than spilt drinks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.