??!
1 photo
Sims Direct

Sims Direct (page 2 of 9)

4.7 from 166 reviews

Reviews

4.7

166 reviews
5
(148)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(10)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (115)
  • Customer Service
    4.9 (108)
  • Rates and Fees
    4.8 (108)
  • Transparency
    4.8 (105)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Get this if you need sim data in China

published

Personally, this sim was great. I used it on our regular trip to Guangzhou and Hong Kong and it ticks all the boxes bar one (but get back to that later) As we spent the majority of time in China, it worked perfectly with an inbuilt vpn that allowed you to get basic proper coverage. You will need a specialised VPN to get into Optus or Netflix. Connection was strong and I could even set up a hotspot through which my wife could also access Whatsapp immediately. Easy to set up and cheaper and simpler than getting a data card in China.Only con? maybe have a bigger and longer plan

Purchased in December 2019 for A$35.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Jaume

Jaume

  • 3 reviews

100% recommended

published

Amazing experience first time using SimsDirect. I purchased 10 GB for 30 days in New Zealand and it worked flawlessly. I must say the staff is very friendly and always willing to help. The SIM card arrived at home quick and at the moment I landed it was literally plug and play!

Purchased in December 2019.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael W.

Michael W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

published

The folks at SimsDirect make it too easy to stay connected while travelling. They made sure that the SIM arrived in time, particularly considering in the middle of the crazy period between christmas and new years. As always, the SIM worked perfectly from the moment I swapped it into my phone. I can't imagine getting my travel SIMs anywhere else.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$49.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Travel SIMs

Find out how Sims Direct compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EDC

EDCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best Decision

published

Made the very late decision to purchase the UK & Europe Travel Sim, but it arrived with a couple of days to spare! Was a godsend to keep in contact with teenage children, search for places or using maps whilst away. Was also able to keep in contact with relatives without incurring expensive phone bills and a dream to use-automatically updated to what ever countey we were in. Defintely recommend to others travelling

Purchased in December 2019.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers

This was the best option for data on the go overseas!

published

It was seamless to the use. I put the SIM in before I landed, turned the phone on in Barcelona, followed the instructions and I was away. It was great to keep my phone number for Whatsapp communication back home. It was very handy having google maps/ internet on the go and at such a cheap price. I was with others in the travel party who were paying excessive daily data rates through their Australian service provider! They were super jealous!

Purchased in December 2019 for A$45.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Zero Hassles

published

From start to finish everything worked smoothly and efficiently. The SIM arrived the morning after ordering, the setup was easy and straight forward and the roaming worked seamlessly going from country to country. I wish everything was as easy and slick as using SimDirect...

Purchased in November 2019.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Gavin

GavinSouth West, WA

Israel to Iceland

published

Europe & UK SIM was incredibly convenient, especially for ports visited on a cruise, and whilst using a rental vehicle in Iceland. Only used up 6GB in 30 days. Great value for money.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$44.00.

Transparency
Value for Money
Gundam

GundamPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use sim cards

published

I found using these sim cards better than looking for a sim card on arrival as we were able to swap out our cards while we were in the air. Upon arrival, the network did not work straight away and we did have to restart the phones for them to automatically get the right settings to connect. Other than that they were great for our trip and we would definitely purchase again for our next trip.

Purchased in November 2019.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money

Hawaii Dec 2019

published

Bought 3 sims in total. One worked 100% of the time with little issue.
Two others had problems with SMS.MMS back to Aus, but support helped to get partial refund, so all good.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$45.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Travel SIMs

Find out how Sims Direct compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolutely fabulous service and product

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Mpyr

MpyrSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Plug and play SIM card, very easy to install and use. Works great!

published

This was easily the 10th SIM card I have purchased from SIMSDIRECT. I have traveled to the US, China, India, Indonesia, Singapore, Korea, and Japan. Always plug and play, never had a problem with it in any of the countries we visited. Handy to have a data connection as soon as your plane landed!

Purchased in November 2019 for A$45.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers

A great way to stay in touch

published

The sim was easy to install and use while in South East Asia. It was great and cost effective way to have access to data while travelling throughout South East Asia.

Purchased in September 2019.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Kathryn

KathrynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Brilliant!

published

A user-friendly, no fuss sim. We literally stepped off our flight, inserted the sim and were up and running within a few minutes. Absolutely beats standing in a queue at a local phone shop to purchase a sim which costs at least twice as much!

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
terryr

terryrHunter Region, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 17 likes

Very impressed!

published

We had no problems at all setting up and using our data sim in Japan. We could even use it on a cruise ship offshore most of the way around Japan. Very impressed!

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Joa

JoaSydney, NSW

Great

published

Sims card came in time, easy plug and play. No problem using my data in China and get to browse the internet like in Australia, would recommend it for all.

Purchased in November 2019.

Travel SIMs

Find out how Sims Direct compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Doug Horne

Doug HorneSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worked perfectly and so easy

published

The SIM worked perfectly in Rome, Sicily and the UK. We are oldies and had the instructions in case something didn't work but we just put in the SIM at the airport and all was good. I had downloaded maps for Sicily and Rome to my phone in case I didn't have coverage as we had read Sicily had dead spots but we never had any trouble. We used Google Maps all the way around Sicily which was a must with all the one way systems and there was only one time when the arrow on the phone didn't keep up with the car and we missed a turn. So no complaints from us. We mainly had the card for data. We have already bought another SIM for the next trip.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Value for Money
Ballarat

BallaratCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Sim Card for NZ.

published

I was very happy with the SIM Card. The only problem I had was a couple of days into the trip when I had No Service. I went into a 2Degrees shop and the woman briefly put the phone onto Flight Mode, once she turned off Flight Mode it was perfect. She said it was not uncommon for iPhones to do that. Good to know!
The only other thing to be aware of in NZ is that there are some long drives between towns and over mountains where there is no reception. Not the Sim Card's fault, just not enough towers in remote areas.

Purchased in October 2019.

Johnrmartin1.

Johnrmartin1.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Top Notch!

published

The 2degree network was available in all the towns we visited. The SIM had enough data and calls for the period of our visit. Excellent product. Faultless performance. Well priced. Highly recommended.

Purchased in June 2019 at Sims Direct for A$29.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Maree W

Maree WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

China Tour made easy with Sims Direct

published

Fantastic experience using Sims direct, definitely very valuable extra during our recent trip to China, would of been very difficult without it. A must for China
Thank you Sims Direct

Purchased in September 2019 for A$35.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Tracy C.

Tracy C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Great product

published

The sim worked great in USA for my trip. Was quick delivery to my house before my trip and simple and easy to use. Didnt have any issues while using my SIM card.

Purchased in October 2019 at Sims direct for A$45.00.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 2 of 9
See all Sims Direct reviews

Questions & Answers

Sue H.

Sue H.asked

We are heading to Russia, Baltic’s and down through Vienna Dubrovnik and Turkey in late April. Do these work there? If I purchase now can I wait to activate them when we leave Sydney on 21/4/2020?

1 answer
AmyH
AmyH

Hi Sue, you can purchase them now and you can only activate once you arrive in Europe. here is the link to their website which list where they work. https://simsdirect.com.au/?msclkid=d18e1947fce016b94813470db130e9dd

Viki W.

Viki W.asked

I will be travelling in the UK and Europe for two months starting in late May. For my phone I will need two 30 day SIM cards. From the information I assume this means I will be using two separate phone numbers. Is there any way of simplifying this process? Thanks, Viki

2 answers
Ken. S
Ken. S

Hi, I can see the issue that you may be facing but I'm not sure of the answer. Best to contact Vanessa or Supriti who are the owners of this company. They were terrific when I first purchased the sim cards and again when I had a question while on holiday in NZ. I'm sure they will answer your question asap when you send an email to them. I found the following info in an email they sent to me:
How do I top-up if I run out of data or days?
Most of our SIMs cannot be topped up or extended. We'd recommend grabbing an extra SIM to make sure you're covered for your full trip!

Happy and safe travels!

Viki W.
Viki W.

Thanks Ken!

Rustyj

Rustyjasked

I am travelling through Spain doing the Camino. What will the coverage be like with htis SIM in the small villages throughout Spain?

1 answer
Gavin
Gavin

Hi Rustyj,
It worked really well for me in the places that I travelled to (Venice, coastal towns of Croatia and Greece, all of Israel, and Iceland), but I did not go to Spain, so I can't really comment on coverage for the Camino walk.

Get an answer from our members and Sims Direct representatives

Other Travel SIMs

Previous
Sim Corner

Sim Corner

4.7
(198)
GO-SIM

GO-SIM

4.1
(351)
TravelSim

TravelSim

3.9
(432)
OneSimCard

OneSimCard

4.1
(55)
DataGO

DataGO

4.0
(3)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.