2 photos
Singer Brilliance

Singer Brilliance

6160, 6180
2.3 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sewing Machines & Overlockers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Singer

Reviews

2.3
12 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.5 (2)
  • Safety
    1.0 (1)
  • Thick Fabric Performance
    1.5 (2)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Worse machine I have ever owned

published

Does not self thread. Bobbin never works right now I can't even turn the needle knob.
Only 2 months old. I have sewed many face masks and pillow covers I have also sewed kids costums

Purchased in December 2020 at Walmart online for $174.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anne and John
Anne and JohnCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Singer Brilliance 6160

published

Worst machine l've ever used. Needles break with any thickness of fabrics. I do alot of hems and adjustment on garments, l expected a lot more from this machine. Don't buy.

Purchased in March 2018 at Spotlight for $300.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sapphire
sapphire
  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Ok For an Inexpensive Machine. Light is Terrible

published

Purchased for $399.

Incentivised Review No
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anon
AnonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never used a worse machine.

published

Had this machine for a few years now and I should have thrown it out way back then. Nothing but trouble with it. It will sew fine sometimes for an hour and then it will jam. Othertimes I can't even use it for constant jamming. It will sew nice and straight before suddenly throwing stitches out. Even though the tension should be perfect it just won't sew any fabric well for me. Ive been sewing for 25+ years and never had such trouble.

Incentivised Review No
Sewing Experience Level Intermediate
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Brilliance compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sal55
Sal55Hunter Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Faulty when unpacked

published

Opened the box. Took out machine. Went to load cotton onto horizontal bar. Bar not there. Looked everywhere for it and found it in the bottom of the box. No way to attach it. Phoned Spotlight. They picked it up and I requested a refund as I did for the Overlocker . Customer Service sent me all the forms and after Aus Post picked up both sewing machine and overlocker I received an email to say items will not be accepted. Both items now in dispute. Not happy and will take the matter further. Raise a dispute with financial institution. Fair Trading and NCAT.

Purchased in February 2019 at Spotlight Online Store for $299.

Incentivised Review No
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mel
MelCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible

published

Very clunky, stitches uneven half way through sewing, more recently the bobbin just won't work properly. absolute waste of money. So after 4 years it is now on the junk pile, its last trial over the last 6 weeks trying to do even the most basics of sewing just wasn't happening.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steph O
Steph OBrisbane

Great!

published

I've had my 6160 model for about two and a half years and have had almost no problems with it. It see frequent (and probably harsh) use as I make three complete costumes with it per year. Super easy to use and adjust. It does jam if you use cheap threads, but all other problems are easily solved by checking the user manual or DVD that comes with it. I'm taking it in for its first service next month as the zigzag stitch has started to do funny things, but I love the machine.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Judith
JudithMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

just rubbish

published

I purchased the 6160 model ...and what utter rubbish ..I have been a machinist in a clothing company for 32 years ....so I purchased what I thought was a great make being a Singer ...Made In Vietnam should have been a warning ...it was just rubbish and the faults too numerous to mention ...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Viv
Vivmelbourne

what a lemon

published

brought one from an online deal. Worst machine. When I first got it I tested out all the different stitches, within 10mins of using it the thread jammed so bad I managed to break the needle. The thread kept jamming in the bobbin area and caused the thread to snap regularly. So frustrating when I needed it for simple tasks ie. hemming. Luckily the online company was happy to refund my money.
light weight, many stitches
the machine

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Brilliance compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dandw
DandwVictoria
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Awesome sewing machine, great value.

published

Easy to use. Plenty of stitches to choose from. Great value for money at less than $200 from Costco. I've been using it for about 3 months now with no jamming or thread breakages. The instructional DVD was very simple but informative although the manual was a little too brief for my liking.
Automatic needle threader is a boon.
If I have to make a negative remark it would be that the machine is a bit 'plasticky'

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Linda
Lindaasked
Brilliance

My machine intermittently keeps on stitching after I have taken my foot off the pedal. Has anyone else had this problem

1 answer
sapphire
sapphire

Hi Linda,
I have not had this problem so far so sorry I really can't help. It might be worth having a sewing machine tradie look at it.

Theresa
Theresaasked
Brilliance

I have checked the bobbin thread and needle thread and all seems good however when I try to stitch the upper thread is sowing but the bobbin thread, although up is not connecting with the needle thread. Any thoughts?

No answers
Joy Cooke
Joy Cookeasked
Brilliance 6160

Can anyone help please? Just turned my machine on and all I have on the computer display is two brackets back to back...

1 answer
Jasmine1485
Jasmine1485

Is the bobbin roller clicked into place on the top? It usually shows that when I'm winding bobbins.

See all Singer Brilliance questions

Get an answer from our members and Singer representatives

Singer Brilliance

Details

Compare both Singer Brilliance
CategorySewing Machines & OverlockersSewing Machines & Overlockers
TypeComputerisedComputerised
Price (RRP)649599
Release dateNov 2012Nov 2012
Compare both Singer Brilliance
  • GTIN14: 09311138061605

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.