??!
1 photo
Singer Heritage 8768

Singer Heritage 8768

3.6 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (11)
  • Safety
    3.9 (10)
  • Thick Fabric Performance
    3.2 (11)
Previous
Next
Dee

DeeMudgeeraba, Gold Coast, Qld

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Gorgeous and do an awesome job

published

Guess everyone has different experiences and more likely different patience levels. I must admit it takes awhile to master some
Stitch options and I have to figured out myself from YouTube to one stitch options which finally be able to use my buttonhole kit with that small lever.

overall after I mastered all of the Operational plus always use the best thread which with gutterman I hardly find any issue, I’m pretty proud of my patience levels and so happy to confess this is my dream sewing machine! Not just a look but I don’t need a separate overlocker machine to do all the sewing job, it has a nice steady adjustable stitch and can do a simple border embroidery too ! Just what I need.

Not just a good looking
But It’s a Must have

Purchased in July 2020 at Hobbysew.com for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Roula

RoulaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

No pressure foot control

published

Machine does not have a pressure foot control.....and does not like bulk material......2 layers of fleece and can't cope with a buttonhole. I'll be pulling out my old janome to finish the job...also prob fix my 1960s machine even better so disappointing that today's machines are made so poorly.

Purchased in April 2018 at Spotlight Retail Stores for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
Dee

DeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Looks can be deceiving

published

I bought this machine from spotlight in 2018. Within an hour it was making a great deal of noise. Screw popped off the back turning wheel and it popped right off..Took it back to spotlight...apparently fixed....NOT... This has happened twice. Took six weeks before I got machine back. Very disappointed with service. Wouldn’t replace machine even though under warranty... Definite fault. It still makes quite a bit of noise when sewing...however it is easy to thread and being able to see the bobbin through the clear window is a bonus..I would not purchase this machine again.....I bought it because of the heritage look.. don’t be fooled by the look...

Purchased in March 2018 at Spotlight for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heritage 8768 compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
elisabeth

elisabethGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Simply the worst

published

This machine kept reverting to the C6 error which is infuriating as you have to readjust it constantly. It is very precious. Lots of fiddling to get it working. It does not go happily through heavy fabrics, in fact it doesn't go happily through anything. And then when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the turning reel on the right of the machine flew right off. It wouldn't reattach. I took it to the sewing machine shop, they said the screw was too small to hold the reel in place. They said the Heritage was the worst machine they'd ever serviced and appalled at the quality. Very flimsy. I am looking for a new machine. This is simply junk!

Purchased in March 2019 for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Jennifer. D

Jennifer. DPerth, WA

Love my singer

published

I bought one and love it. Beautiful stitches. Quality thread and correct settings makes a difference.I recommend anyone to buy one of these.
You won't be sorry. Remember it's limited edition. I bought the last one in the shop

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lainie

LainiePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Use quality thread.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Spotlight Retail Stores for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
mezec83

mezec83North Western Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pretty, but problems

published

I purchased this machine about 7 years ago as an ex demo. I have had problems with it from the get go. Keeps throwing a C6 error, which is apparently a thread tension issue. I have had it serviced and they repaired a couple of bits that were damaged, I'd say from its demo days, still the C6 error. It eats thread like the cookie monster. Doesn't tension the thread and you have it all loose and messy. It wasn't cheap and now I think I'd better start looking for another machine as this one is just not able to be used.

I had such high hopes for this machine. So many things I loved about its design.

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelBeginner
See all answers
Sophie

SophieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great learner machine, can go the miles.

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Spotlight Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers

crap machine

published

This machine has just fallen apart and it has had little use in the year I have owned it its a piece of junk and I would never recommend it to any one and as I bought it from spotlight there is no after sales services worth talking about

Purchased in June 2018 at Spotlight for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heritage 8768 compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Solei

SoleiGoldfields, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it!!!

published

I am a beginner to medium sewer. I am SO happy with this machine!! I love the look BUT also love the capacity of it. So far i have sewn thin and buttery fabrics like rayon, knit fabrics and heavier fabrics like busoku duck cotton! Not once it has let me down or have i run into a problem with it. I also made a cot bumper with it which had lots of cushiony layers and again, it did not let me down! The only thing i wish was different is that the needle automatically goes up when you stop sewing, so when you are pivoting you need to do this manually, but that’s just me being picky now! If you are into vintage looking things and good quality, this is your machine!

Purchased in August 2018 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelBeginner
See all answers
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 76 reviews
  • 32 likes

Looks good but.....

published

Though this Singer Heritage looks good, it could be better. Trying to thread and get running was a confusion in itself. Prior purchasing this machine, I read numerous reviews and was happy with what I read.
Firstly, I struggled to thread the Cotton through the needle eye, even though it is supposed to be easy. Actually went to YouTube for help. Eventually, managed to thread only to have stitching issues. Should have stayed with my original sewing machine of 30 years.

Purchased in November 2018 at Spotlight Retail Stores for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nic

NicGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does everything I need!

published

I’m a beginner sewer and, to be honest, bought this machine based on its looks (I didn’t know what else I needed to base my decision on!) It’s great though! It’s super easy to use and tells me when there’s a problem and what it is (usually the thread coming out). I’ve used it to sew baby playmats, skirts, bags, scrunchies, burp cloths etc, so albeit nothing too advanced yet.
I would recommend it when spotlight are selling for half price (which seems to be every few months)!

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Don’t purchase on good looks alone

published

I have had nothing but problems with my Heritage, it’s clunky, breaks thread constantly, usually on commencement, and today the foot lift decided to stop working for no apparent reason.
I’m taking it back to Spotlight for repairs and hopefully a refund.
I’m an ex sewing machine mechanic and not even going to bother trying to find out what’s wrong with this absolute lemon.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Dream machine

published

I have nothing but praise for this outstanding sewing machine. It has a great selection of stitches to choose from, comes with multiple presser feet, storage in the removable platform is generous and so handy. It's also quiet (for a sewing machine) and extremely attractive. The best purchase I've made in years. I couldn't be happier.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Amin

AminLaunceston

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Working nice

published

I have bought this just a month ago. it works great. It has different function to choose. It is easy to use and it has fully automatic function with plenty of stitches. You can choose it for family as well as fashion shop.

Best of luck with your buy .

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heritage 8768 compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sharon111

sharon111South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks good and works well.

published

Like the look of the Heritage from the outlook and found the machine can handle anything I throw at it. Ease of use and fully automatic with plenty of stitches to create with one touch. It has plenty of room for bulky work with curtains or quilts. Good overall machine that can handle family sewing whether fashion or home creations.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Questions & Answers

EDMOND

EDMONDasked

Pressing padal and not working, what can I do?

No answers
Blanca N.

Blanca N.asked

Singer 8768 Heritage Electronic Sewing Machine only can use regular stich. What can part can be change to solve this problem?

No answers
Delcey W.

Delcey W.asked

having great difficulty in sewing button holes, doing every thing correct following instruction manual and utube vdeo is not displaying

2 answers
Lainie
Lainie

Don't rely on just Singer tutorials. Most of my own questions have been answered accidentally by off hand comments by the tutors. The lever on the left side of the shank, don't forget that. None of the tutorials actually tell you to thread the thread through the needle hole in the button hole foot. A lot of people use stabilizer and then there is the needle. And then there is the dreaded cleaning under the plate (I don't ever remember cleaning my old clunkers, but computers are sensitive) Don't know if this is any help. Trust me..... I feel you frustration.

Jennifer. D
Jennifer. D

I don't know what part of the bottom sew are you struggling with. Make sure the arm in the back is drawn down as the indicator and support of the attachment. Did you receive the cd that came with the machine.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySewing Machines & Overlockers
TypeNon Computerised

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.