1 photo
SJD Homes
4.9 from 255 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by SJD Homes

Reviews

4.9
195 reviews
  • Build Stage
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (179)
  • Site Admin
    4.9 (167)
  • Timeliness
    4.9 (164)
  • Structural Integrity
    4.9 (158)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    4.7 (154)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    4.8 (155)
  • Flooring
    4.8 (157)
  • Transparency
    4.8 (168)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Lauren J.
Lauren J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Our Perfect Home!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
Marko and Slobodanka
Marko and Slobodanka Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Perfect home!

published

From a very start Rachel( designer/consultant) was great help with all the colours and design .She did amazing job!
But the biggest thank you goes to supervisor Brad Little who made sure our new home is perfect .He was always keeping us informed every step of the way and ensured that this journey is enjoyable.
Thank you Brad!

Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2021

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Christine P.
Christine P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Amazing team at SJD

published

From when we walked in the door to the contract stage, the colour appointment and all through to our final build inspection we’ve had the best experience from SJD. Extremely friendly, attention to detail and just down to earth approach to real customer service. Amazing value for what you get in your inclusions and packages. They are very flexible with changes. We’ve built 3 times now and SJD are by far the best we’ve dealt with. Thank you for the amazing team at SJD. We can’t wait to move into our beautiful new home.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2021
Home Builders

Find out how SJD Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eddie and Michele
Eddie and MicheleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Our perfect home

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
Get quotes

Get quotes from Home Builders servicing your area

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Get quotes
Timothy R
Timothy RGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

All around excellence - great builder and great company

published

Built a house in 2020 with SJD. Really impressive from start to finish. Megan in the design & contract stage was friendly, relaxed and knows her stuff. Scott kept us well informed, provided insight & options where required and was great to work with. And James was a delight in the wrap up stage.

All around SJD are a really impressive smaller builder in outer east Melbourne. Do yourself a favour and give them a go. You will find a personalised journey, with flexibility and friendliness you won't get elsewhere.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2020

Related Articles

Previous

Tips for Choosing a Home Builder

Ready to build your dream home? For the best outcome, a lot of planning prior to building is recommended, so here are some tips to help you with choosing a home builder.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.14 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-home-builder

Making ProductReview.com.au's home builder reviews work for you

A quick guide to getting the most out of ProductReview.com.au when researching home builders. If you're feeling overwhelmed by information, we're here to help you cut through the noise and easily pinpoint the most useful reviews for your situation.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Feb 2020
making-productreviewcomau-work-for-you

The best home builders in 2020

ProductReview.com.au has an extremely active community reviewing home builders all over Australia. We've harnessed their collectively knowledge to deliver a comprehensive list of the best builders in NSW, VIC, QLD, WA, SA, ACT, TAS, and an overall #1 winner for the whole country.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Nov 2019
the-best-home-builders-in-2020
Next
Our new House
Our new House Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

THANK YOU ON OUR NEW HOME

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
Paingamuwa
PaingamuwaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Supplied everything in the contract

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2020
Brad and kylie
Brad and kylieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Highly recommend. Great expeience end to end.

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
  • Verified

Our new house

published

SJD home has provided attention into detail and customer satisfaction also communication. Through out the journey Kathryn and our site supervisor Kim has been fantastic in all areas and SJD homes should be proud to have them as a part of their team. Furthermore the volume build process has amazed us how well articulated it had become and we would recommend SJD homes to anyone..
Thank you once again to be a part of our dream
Liya and Bibin

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
Home Builders

Find out how SJD Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan and Jessi
Dan and JessiGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

A Seamless Build

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
Get quotes

Get quotes from Home Builders servicing your area

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Get quotes
  • Verified

Review of post construction of our house

published
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
  • Verified

The light at the end of the tunnel

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
Rating Y.
Rating Y.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

We are so glad we chose sjd!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2019
Maryanne
MaryanneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

New for Old

published

I had a house that was in dire straights, so decided to look at a rebuild. I walked into an SJD display and walked into a house that was exactly what I wanted. I had many consultations with Leigh Shoebridge to customise it slightly to my needs and he very patiently followed through on all my requests. I was then put in the hands of James, the supervisor, and I was very impressed with management of the build. He was a great asset and solved any issues that arose. Overall I am very happy with the quality of my new home and would highly recommend SJD Homes. Thank you to both these people for making it happen.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sue
SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Great experience with SJD

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Home Builders

Find out how SJD Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ron
RonGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

Retirement heaven

published

When we first saw the display home we thought, this is a good place to start. When we asked about customisation, above the available upgrade packs, we were assured that was no problem. The pricing of all the add-ons we made,( 450mm eaves, electric aircon, larger garage etc.) were all quite reasonable. The build time was excellent. We settled the purchase of the land on 11th March, 2020, the build started quite quickly after that and we moved in on 2nd October. Kim, our construction supervisor was helpful at all times and made the whole process quite seamless. As far as quality of build is concerned, we are delighted. We recommend SJD homes to anyone. They are certainly a cut above the others in their field.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Get quotes

Get quotes from Home Builders servicing your area

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Get quotes
  • Verified

House on the hill

published

From the moment we stepped foot in the display homes at SJD, we knew we’d found our forever home.
We enjoyed our building journey with Kim as our site supervisor by our side, he was honest, informative, always approachable and he has great attention to detail.
Thank you to all at SJD for our beautiful new home that we can make lasting memories in with our gorgeous boys.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
  • Verified

Dreams do come true

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
  • Verified

Dream home come true!!

published

Brad and the team at SJD went above and beyond our expectations for our first home. The attention to detail was incredible and we had a very smooth build overall. Brad kept us in the loop every step of the way and we couldn’t be happier with the final product! We will definitely build with SJD again!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Liz
LizGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

Our new home !

published

SJD Homes built our new home within budget on time and to specification and there is not much more you can ask from a builder.

We first visited SJD showhome in Wonthaggi and met Kathryn, the Consultant who was very helpful and courteous and we then made the decision to build with them.

Throughout the build Kim the site supervisor was always contactable and came up with simple solutions when we had any issues.

Yes we would definitely build with SJD Home again !

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
Andrea Tuchlei
Andrea TuchleiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Happy with our home

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +6Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Michael M.
Michael M.
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

I’ve built many houses, both homes & investment properties, SJD Homes definitely is a standout performer

published

built many houses, both homes & investment properties, SJD Homes definitely is a standout performer with a special mention of our amazing professional and reliable Supervisor, Brad Little, who took care of the build while we were locked down in Melbourne Big thank you to, sales consultants, Tracey Johnston & Pip Marshall

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Wendy
Wendy
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Fabulous Retirement Home

published

We had looked at several builders to build our retirement home. From the moment we walked into the SJD display home at Wonthaggi & met Katherine we were really Impressed with the workmanship of the build & the genuine care by Katherine to ensure we were getting the home we wanted. Katherine always answered our emails & phone calls promptly & nothing was too much trouble to follow up or change. Kim O’Connor was our site manager & again we were so impressed with his professionalism but so easy to deal with. Due to COVID 19 we could not visit the site as often as we would have liked but Kim always ensured we had progress photos & kept us in the loop re build time etc. We are thrilled with the finished product & highly recommend SJD Homes.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
Chris P.
Chris P.Gippsland, VIC
  • Verified

As a first home builder I am absolutely ecstatic with the results of my new home, highly recommend Kim and Mark!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +3Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
  • Verified

Absolutely Thrilled With Our New Home!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
Page 2 of 8

Questions & Answers

chitra d.
chitra d.asked

Hi, just wondering whether the SJD will change the size of the building to our choice. I like one display house it's 33 squares fits lot size 16x32. But I have 16x28 lot. So want to know whether they can change the size. Thanks

5 answers
Christine P.
Christine P.

You will be surprised at what they can do, and they’re pretty good with adjusting and customising to your needs. Our house was made a little bigger than off the plan. Good luck!

chitra d.
chitra d.

Thanks for your reply. Will try them.

SJD Homes
SJD H.SJD Homes

Hi Chitra, we can definitely alter plans and will work with your block to achieve the results you are after.

Kinz L.
Kinz L.asked

Hi,
Im in WA. Do you guys only build house or also help with the purchase of land? I am a first home buyer, Wondering if I have to purchase the land separately and hire a builder to build my house or both can be done together by the builder? Also with the land, can I choose my own or does it have to be the ones offered by the builder? Also the whole interiors and material that goes into the house can be freely chosen by the client or need to stick to options offered by builder? I really don't like the modern Australian homes I come across everyday, I want my house to have more stones and woods included and less glasses and steels that makes the house cheap and unnatural and tacky. I am dreaming of a small two storey house. Thank you.

1 answer
SJD Homes
SJD H.SJD Homes

Hi Kinz, if you are looking to build in WA, I'm sorry, we cannot help you. We only build in the SE suburbs of Melbourne.

martyn f.
martyn f.asked

Sorry should read Do SJD charge more to build in Wonthaggi

4 answers
Tav & Sam
Tav & Sam

I don't know mate, but we had to, because we are close to their outer boundaries. Try Leigh Shoebridge from sales, he has a simple sheet that tells you exactly what the premiums are, if there's any at all...good luck

martyn f.
martyn f.

Thanks

Sue A
Sue A

Yes SJD have metropolitan, region 1 and region 2 pricing, Corinella is Region1 (that’s where we built) I think Wonthaggi fell into Region 2.. I did play around on their website and the pricing with regions was on there in 2018 we then met with Leigh Shoebridge went over the plans, elevations, pricing etc. He is very thorough and patient. Our build went quite smoothly, not overly impressed with the plumber though (has attitude and won’t admit fault - little like Dan Andrews). Build completed inside of time frames & no price shock. Customer Service and site supervisor “great”.. all the best

See all SJD Homes questions

Get an answer from our members and SJD Homes representatives

Details

SJD Homes Services

  • Both new home building and house and land package services are provided, offering a variety of designs, house sizes, floorplans and facades.
  • Display homes can be visited in several locations across South Melbourne, allowing you to find inspiration for a new home.
  • SJD Homes is a Greensmart builder, meaning it’s responsible for creating environmentally sustainable houses. Its Z-range display home is a particularly sustainable pick, due to its energy efficient design and low carbon footprint.

Points of praise for SJD Homes:

  • Several reviewers were grateful for the incredible support they received from SJD Homes staff throughout the building process. Staff displayed a thorough knowledge of all aspects of the building process, and their personal and prompt service was greatly appreciated.
  • SJD staff showed a good responsiveness to any issues that arose, resolving them in a timely manner and communicating changes to home builders effectively
  • The build quality of houses was sound, with many reviewers being more than happy with the final product.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

As the ProductReview Award-winner for Best Home Builders in Melbourne and Victoria for both 2019 and 2021, SJD Homes has certainly earned its home building cred. It particularly excelled in the areas of: transparency regarding business practices, and timeliness in completing building projects.

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right Home Builder

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Start NowNEW SERVICE