?
? !
11 photos
Skoda Superb

Skoda Superb

3T, NP
4.5 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

38 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.5 (2)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Wheels and tyres

published

My 2014 Superb Outdoor came with 225/40r18 wheels and tyres. The ride on Australian coarse chip roads was extremely loud and harsh.
Do yourself a favour and change to 17” wheels and 225/50 tyres. This is the same as the VW Passat. The whole driving experience is far far better. Quieter, smoother and very little give away in handling. It even makes the Speedo read exactly according my gps.
Otherwise the Superb is an excellent place to be

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car - except for the cost of spares

published

I have a Superb 2 TDi 125. Great car for long distance and have taken it all over the North island, The only caveat is the price of spares. The right headlight failed and a replacement from Gazley cost $3000.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ride quality

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Skoda Superb compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
matt

mattBrisbane

Surprisingly good

published

Nice clean lines, audi remenicient.
forgiving chassis, with smooth ride
basic but functional gearbox
great instrument layout inside
plenty of power from an audi engine
the resale will not be great but it's cheap enough now
replacement parts are cheap considering it's a european car
hard to beat for the amount of car you get at the price.

BodySedan
BadgeElegance 191FSI
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lonnie24

Lonnie24Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Skoda Superb 2011 Sedan - Petrol

published

The Skoda Superb drives beautifully. Its roomy interior and boot space is the best I have had. The back seat is as comfortable as the front with excellent legroom. The air conditioning and heated seats keep you comfortable all year round. The Skoda does take more oil than other cars. We had to change the tyres because of road noise. The highlight is definitely the boot - being able to open the boot lid to two different size openings - normal and coupe like is very helpful transporting larger items. Overall good fuel economy, super comforty, spacious, slick looking and drives well.

BodySedan
Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Honest

HonestGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Honest review

published

2011 Skoda Ambition superb wagon 118 TSI. Car drives well, very spacious and comfortable. Leather trim is a plus. Take off from a stationed position could be improved, burns oil a little so check regularly. Beats the mazda 6 wagon hands down for drive quality and is a lot more cost effective.

Engine Size1.8 turbo
TransmissionAuto
BadgeAmbition 118TSI
BodyWagon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon

SimonBunbury

Not quite Superb

published

10,000 kms in Superb Elegance TDI. Really love the motor - economical (low 5lts/100ks) and great acceleration for passing road trains. Most of my driving is rural or semi-rural.

Don't like the fake leather. The ride is a bit harsh on 17" alloys - would have been better to stick with 16" for Australian country roads.
Practical, reliable - everything works well. Quiet limo, huge wagon, moderate dimensions.
Harsh ride - consequence of good road holding with low profile tyres.

BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BanjoPaterson

BanjoPatersonYarralumla 2600, ACT

  • 60 reviews
  • 70 likes

Overall Excellent Car

published
BodySedan
2 comments
A Ramone
A Ramone

My 2011 Skoda Superb Elegance Wagon with 125 TDI is the best car I have owned. It has a great interior and features, plus massive comfort. On the road it is powerful and handles very nicely. Panoramic sunroof is sensational. Love this car!

Darcy
Darcy

agree on the brakes being too sensitive!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Skoda Superb reviews

Questions & Answers

Sara M.

Sara M.asked

Superb

Is the car capable in snow conditions? Eg driving up to Falls Creek regularly.

1 answer
Mitcho
Mitcho

The ability of a car to travel into snow is not so much about one passenger car Vs another. Front drive cars with modest ground clearance and city tyres will all be pretty much the same. What varies is tyre profile (i.e. 40 series / 50 series or the like) and whether you can fit chains or not. DO NOT get fooled by thinking that an AWD car (whether Skoda or any other brand) without chains can do better in snow than a car with chains or is in anyway "safe" in snow (just look in the panel beaters near ski fields). Most modern cars (including the Superb) have ABS and traction control, but if you hit ice on chain-less tyres (and remember there is often a very fine line between settled snow and ice), then these features aren't much help. These features are however pretty good if you have chains on.

Having driven rear drive with chains on back and front drive with chains on front, in snow and assuming you only had one set of chains, I'd stick with the front drive as steering and power are on the same set of wheels.

As for which cars can accommodate chains - refer to the manufacturer specs, but typically most of the ones with low profile tyres (50 series or less) will not be compatible with most cheap / rental chains.

As for whether a Skoda Superb is good on a mountain climb, then strong mid range torque is important and all engines in the range do well here, with the diesel and the V6 obviously better than the smaller turbo four.

Sukh

Sukhasked

Superb NP (2015-2021)

Hi
Actually I am looking to buy superb Skoda. Usually drive over 5000km a month mostly around city so can I get suggestions that which engine patrol or diesel should I go
Your suggestion would be very valuable for me
Thanks

3 answers
Albervin
Albervin

That is a lot of Km. Usually a diesel is better in these circumstances. If you are leasing then I would take a 3 year lease at 40-50% balloon then think whether you want or need to turn it over. If you can obtain a 5 year warranty then go for 5 years with 25% balloon (residual). If Skoda are offering fixed servicing costs then take that too.

Clark Kent
Clark Kent

Yes definitely the diesel is the more efficient option. If smoothness and quietness are important then the petrol will be significantly more pleasant at idle and will offer more linear torque off idle and throughout the entire range, if you are a performance enthusiast there is no other choice other than petrol. If it were me, petrol!

brian
brian

I would recommend petrol as well as it's easier to obtain from petrol stations however, if you're planning on driving on muddy surfaces then disiel is the better option plus diesel is sludge and if you somehow get into a traffic collision - there's less chance of catching on fire

Sukh

Sukhasked

Superb NP (2015-2021)

Hi
I am thinking to buy Skoda superb but have confusion about Engines diesel or petrol can anyone help me get on decision add on I drive about over 5000km/month

4 answers
Albervin
Albervin

At 5,000km/mth I would buy a diesel. Servicing costs will be a lot less than a petrol car.

Sukh
Sukh

Thanks
Your opinion is very valuable for me

Simon
Simon

Hey Sukh,

We've done +70,000 with the 125kw diesel Superb - my first diesel, goes like a dream. (once you adjust to the double-clutch auto at take-off). Overall 5.3 lt/100kms (mostly country), and plenty of power when you need it. Some mechanics say that for city driving, petrol's the way to go due to diesel injectors clogging - but if you have your car serviced properly, it shouldn't be an issue.

See all Skoda Superb questions

Get an answer from our members

Skoda Superb

Details

Compare all 7 Skoda Superb
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Wagons
Starting Price $43,990$55,290$59,990$45,690
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L66 L66 L66 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm206kW @ 6500rpm206kW @ 6500rpm162kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1500-4400rpm350Nm @ 1700-5600rpm350Nm @ 1700-5600rpm350Nm @ 1500-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureCzech RepublicCzech RepublicCzech RepublicCzech Republic
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 7 Skoda Superb

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.