??!
1 photo
Smeg SA550-1X60 / SA550-2X60 / SA550-1X90 / SA550-2X90

Smeg SA550-1X60 / SA550-2X60 / SA550-1X90 / SA550-2X90

SA550-2X60, SA550-2X90, SA550-1X60, SA550-1X90
2.4 from 12 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
4

Benno

BennoQueensland

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Disappointed

published

Disappointed because we expected better longevity with SMEG. Looks like there is a 5 year limit on these. Mine was installed around June 2013. So approximately 5 1/2 years before it started to fail. Buttons started to play up doing different things or not responding... after a few month, now no response at all. We know it is out of warranty. I emailed Smeg to get an idea of prices for parts but they referred me to a contractor at $165 visit for first 1/2hr to find out what is wrong. This unit cost $760 before installation.

Purchased in May 2013 at Harvey Norman for $760.00.


Caitlin

CaitlinLaunceston

  • 2 reviews

Fan fell off after 4 years.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Rangehood not working

published

Hi Smeg my Rangehood has stopped working after 6 years of having purchased it seems like i have the same problem as the persons above . Wanting to know if this will be a ongoing issue with this model
Lights and fan work sporadically
Turn the light switch on and fan comes on vise versa
I am happy with the Rangehood since buying it as its strong suction and have never had a problem with it since installing it .
Not to impressed with the life span of a $1500 unit
My old house had a cheap unit that was 15 years old

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Andrew D

Andrew DPortland

Faith Restored

published
Date PurchasedDec 2011

Benz

BenzNSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally Disappointed

published
Date PurchasedJul 2014
2 comments
Benz
Benz
Benz
Benz

Nicole

NicoleMelbourne

Very Disappointed!!

published

I purchased this Smeg slideout range hood a few years ago and the fan has been working very well. Earlier this year I pressed the light button to turn it on. Both the on and off light button pressed back into their slot so it is now very difficult to use them. I have barely used the lights on the rangehood so there should not be a problem with wear and tear. This is very disappointing as I choose a smeg brand product thinking it would last longer than other brands.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

D.Star

D.StarSunshine Coast Queensland

So disappointing SMEG what a let down

published
Date PurchasedDec 2013
3 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
D.Star
D.Star

An update- SMEG customer support has contacted me to arrange an experienced technician to look at repair or replacing the rangehood. Great to see brand backing a product. Outcome to follow.

D.Star
D.Star

Disappointed

published

We purchased our Smeg range hood 5 years ago. Spent a bit more believing it was better quality and would last longer. Disappointed that it has stopped working and now have the added expense of repairing it. Noticed a lot of others have had problems with this model and it has been discontinued.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Disappointed from day 1

published

We trusted the Smeg name but are totally disappointed. The first 18 mths we had to call twice for repairs. One year later another problem and now the rangehood is 4 yrs old and not working at all. Unfortunately I'm weary to buy the same brand again.
Dishwasher also has had problems.

Date PurchasedJun 2012
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Linda
Linda

I'm pleased to say we have a resolution. Our rangehood was replaced with the compliments of SMEG. Really appreciate their prompt service.

chumbley17

chumbley17Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointing unit

published
Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Cate

CateMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Rangehood exhaust not working but lights still functional. Purchased only 5 years ago. This is the second time we have had to get the rangehood fixed. Also disappointed with SMEG oven that has also had to be fixed recently after only having for 4 years. SMEG Induction cooktop is brilliant though. Am considering not buying SMEG products in the future.

Date PurchasedNov 2011
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Cate
Cate

jase27

jase27Shepparton

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Product

published

Purchased in 2012 this range hood is excellent - It has being reliable is unobtrusive and provides high suction with low noise levels

Questions & Answers

Madbenjoel

Madbenjoelasked

I have been quoted $130 each for rangehood fans for P52/2 by a Smeg referred contractor. My concern is they also quoted $130 for 2 light assemblies (after charging $110 for a visit) when I change a globe and it works perfectly. Confidence in contractor is not high! Is the quoted price reasonable?

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hi Madbenjoel. Thank you for your enquiry. My name is Steve Cullen and I am the National Service and Spare Parts Manager. Can you please email me your full name, address and a contact telephone number along with the name of the Company ( Authorised Smeg Repairer ) who has given you this quote. I will then be able to ascertain what we can do to help you. My email is Steve.cullen@smeg.com.au - I await you email, thank you STEVE CULLEN


MPS

MPSasked

Hi My Smeg Rangehood has stopped working after 5 years of having purchased it . seems like i have the same problem as the other person above . Wanting to know if this will be a ongoing issue with this model and that is why it was discontinued ??
Lights are working .
I have been extremely happy with the Rangehood since buying it as its strong suction and have never had a problem with it since installing it .
Thinking of having it fixed instead of purchasing another one but really dont want to have to get it fixed in another 4 to 5 years down the track if this will be an ongoing problem for this model ?????

1 answer
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Dear MPS,
Sorry to hear about the problem you're experiencing with the rangehood. Could you please email our National Service Manager, steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your telephone contact details, address and the problems you are experiencing with your appliance. Once he has this information, he can ascertain how to best rectify the problem.
Regards
Smeg


Charles

Charlesasked

How to reconstruct filters after cleaning, please?

1 answer
Smeg
Smeg

Hi Charles pull out the slide rear filter goes in first then the front.
Regards Chris


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.