1 photo
Smeg SA550 Series

Smeg SA550 Series

SA5501X, SA5502X
2.4 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Smeg

Reviews

Previous
Next

Potentially Dangerous

published

Agh, the saga of a SMEG rangehood. It was much noisier than stated when first installed, had a technician out who just said it’s fine without measuring the actual decibels and then we had to foot travel cost! Had a number of other issues with it, fans stopped working at random and then would come on a long time after switching on. Now it has stopped all together. The day after it stopped completely, I forgot and turned it on only to have it make a succession of electrical bangs. Scared me as I thought I could be hurt trying to turn it off! DO NOT BUY!

Purchased for $815.00.

Incentivised Review No
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Ellen
EllenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good company to deal with

published

We had issues with our range hood but are very happy with SMEG’s response to our problem. Unlike some, this company will look after you . We are very impressed.
Thank you Mr Cullen

Purchased in October 2016 for $1,300.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mingo
MingoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Quality issue

published

I have this unit installed with my other SMEG Appliances stove and oven. In less than 3 years, the unit has power but fan is no longer working. Bad quality for such a new unit.

Incentivised Review No
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Range Hoods

Find out how Smeg SA550 Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Another one with the fan failing

published

Bought 3 March 2016 $950 from Bing Lee.

Fan stopped working today. Judging from the other reviews this is a common fault.

Like everyone else I expected a lot more from this product.

Purchased in March 2016 at Bing Lee for $950.00.

Incentivised Review No
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Gemma
Gemma

I've sent an email and waited and waited...

Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Dear Gemma, I have noticed that we have a goodwill call booked for your appliance on the 7th of May. Regards Steve Cullen

Mr T
Mr TSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fan stopped working after 3 years

published

The fan won't turn on even though all the switches seem to work fine. I removed the range hood and manually turned the fan. When the fan is turning manually the fan works. It appears it cannot start the fan from a standstill. I am extremely disappointed given the expense spent on a quality product. I will return to Bosch as my product of choice.

Purchased in June 2017 at David Jones for $900.00.

Incentivised Review No
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Mr T
Mr T

Thanks Steve, I appreciate your prompt response to resolve the issue as its now working perfectly again. I am greatly appreciative of your product support and I am glad we chose SMEG as the brand for all our kitchen appliances. Cheers, Mike

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Rose27
Rose27WOLLONGONG
  • 4 reviews

Not Happy

published

Smeg Rangehood installed December last year, makes a lot of noise but doesn’t do anything. Contacted Masterton Homes who installed it and was told, “You got what you asked for” brilliant answer, no help no offer to check it, well I do hope my Oven and Dishwasher also Smeg last the distance. So in the meantime I am left with no Rangehood.

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Benno
BennoQueensland
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Disappointed

published

Disappointed because we expected better longevity with SMEG. Looks like there is a 5 year limit on these. Mine was installed around June 2013. So approximately 5 1/2 years before it started to fail. Buttons started to play up doing different things or not responding... after a few month, now no response at all. We know it is out of warranty. I emailed Smeg to get an idea of prices for parts but they referred me to a contractor at $165 visit for first 1/2hr to find out what is wrong. This unit cost $760 before installation.

Purchased in May 2013 at Harvey Norman for $760.00.

Incentivised Review No
Caitlin
CaitlinLaunceston
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fan fell off after 4 years.

published
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Rangehood not working

published

Hi Smeg my Rangehood has stopped working after 6 years of having purchased it seems like i have the same problem as the persons above . Wanting to know if this will be a ongoing issue with this model
Lights and fan work sporadically
Turn the light switch on and fan comes on vise versa
I am happy with the Rangehood since buying it as its strong suction and have never had a problem with it since installing it .
Not to impressed with the life span of a $1500 unit
My old house had a cheap unit that was 15 years old

Date PurchasedJan 2012
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Range Hoods

Find out how Smeg SA550 Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew D
Andrew DPortland

Faith Restored

published
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Benz
BenzNSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Totally Disappointed

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Benz
Benz
Benz
Benz
Nicole
NicoleMelbourne

Very Disappointed!!

published

I purchased this Smeg slideout range hood a few years ago and the fan has been working very well. Earlier this year I pressed the light button to turn it on. Both the on and off light button pressed back into their slot so it is now very difficult to use them. I have barely used the lights on the rangehood so there should not be a problem with wear and tear. This is very disappointing as I choose a smeg brand product thinking it would last longer than other brands.

Date PurchasedJune 2013
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
D.Star
D.StarSunshine Coast Queensland

So disappointing SMEG what a let down

published
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
D.Star
D.Star

An update- SMEG customer support has contacted me to arrange an experienced technician to look at repair or replacing the rangehood. Great to see brand backing a product. Outcome to follow.

D.Star
D.Star

Disappointed

published

We purchased our Smeg range hood 5 years ago. Spent a bit more believing it was better quality and would last longer. Disappointed that it has stopped working and now have the added expense of repairing it. Noticed a lot of others have had problems with this model and it has been discontinued.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Disappointed from day 1

published

We trusted the Smeg name but are totally disappointed. The first 18 mths we had to call twice for repairs. One year later another problem and now the rangehood is 4 yrs old and not working at all. Unfortunately I'm weary to buy the same brand again.
Dishwasher also has had problems.

Date PurchasedJune 2012
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Linda
Linda

I'm pleased to say we have a resolution. Our rangehood was replaced with the compliments of SMEG. Really appreciate their prompt service.

Range Hoods

Find out how Smeg SA550 Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Dana
Danaasked
SA550 Series

Hi My Smeg wont work . The fan stopped after i cleaned the filters . Is there a simple fix. I didnt touch anything else

No answers
Atul P.
Atul P.asked
SA5502X60 (60 cm)

My SMEG range hood is about 10 yr old. Fan started not working & then light started stopped working. Switches/button are five on panel. Board behind switches/buttons part no is 08086249. Can I buy that part?

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Dear Atul, This part is no longer available from the supplier.

Madbenjoel
Madbenjoelasked
SA550 Series

I have been quoted $130 each for rangehood fans for P52/2 by a Smeg referred contractor. My concern is they also quoted $130 for 2 light assemblies (after charging $110 for a visit) when I change a globe and it works perfectly. Confidence in contractor is not high! Is the quoted price reasonable?

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hi Madbenjoel. Thank you for your enquiry. My name is Steve Cullen and I am the National Service and Spare Parts Manager. Can you please email me your full name, address and a contact telephone number along with the name of the Company ( Authorised Smeg Repairer ) who has given you this quote. I will then be able to ascertain what we can do to help you. My email is Steve.cullen@smeg.com.au - I await you email, thank you STEVE CULLEN

See all Smeg SA550 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

Smeg SA550 Series

Details

Compare all 4 Smeg SA550 Series
Smeg SA5501X60 (60 cm)
  • Discontinued

Smeg SA5501X60 (60 cm)

3.0
(2)
Smeg SA5501X90 (90 cm)
  • Discontinued

Smeg SA5501X90 (90 cm)

2.0
(2)
Smeg SA5502X60 (60 cm)
  • Discontinued

Smeg SA5502X60 (60 cm)

2.0
(7)
Smeg SA5502X90 (90cm)
  • Discontinued

Smeg SA5502X90 (90cm)

3.4
(5)
CategoryRange HoodsRange HoodsRange HoodsRange Hoods
Price (RRP)$1150$1350
Release dateMar 2007Mar 2007Mar 2007Mar 2007
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 4 Smeg SA550 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.