??!
2 photos
Solahart L Series

Solahart L Series (page 2 of 4)

2.5 from 64 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.0 (2)
  • Heating Speed
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Going strong after 15 year maintenance

published

Bought a house with one of these on the roof. Electric boost wasn't working, Solarhart Sutherland replaced along with anode and pressure valve in a 5-year service (cost $450). Working like a dream. Boost kicks in, but only at night after using lots of hot water.
Some very negative reviews here, maybe manufacturing quality has dropped?

Date PurchasedJan 2001

DONT BUY SOLAHART / Rheem

published

Sadly, I poorly invested $6,000 dollars on a three panel solahart hotwater system thinking it would last longer than 6 years. However, the system has suffered a catastrophic premature failure. Leaking panels. Lucky for Solahart it just made it past warranty, with Solarhart giving me the two finger salute. Solahart is owned by Rheem so beware of this namesake product range too. I found Choice magazine a great place to start looking for your replacement system. Im thinking a straight electric hotwater system with a solar power panel system may be the best replacement. Main thing to take away from this is "buyer beware" of solahart / Rheem. You wont get any product or after sales support.

Date PurchasedOct 2010
Waz

WazAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Solarhart - No thanks!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2001
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Solahart L Series compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony Hunt

Tony HuntPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 26 likes

Luke warm water

published

I have nothing good to say about my solarhart. Even with the booster installed the hot water takes more than a minute to come through and it's luke warm at best.

Especially over winter you pretty much can't have a decent shower. You can't wash dishes in hit water.. Even if you might get a could a few minutes worth of water it will go cold and you'll have to get out of the shower.

Date PurchasedJan 2007
David MacKinnon

David MacKinnonNortheast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor service from Solahart & the local service agent.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2001
Jannai

JannaiMount Colah

Terrible product and service

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
phil

philNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product failure of solarhart own repairer

published

This product is perfect for North Queensland conditions purchased in 2001. Serviced at 5 year intervals yes even sacrificial annode recently had a dripping overflow pipe so had service done and was told cold water relief valve should be replaced agreed to it to stop dripping. When I got home found it to be leaking worse. Contacted Solahart only to be told it's only the tank expanding and contracting. How is a lose of 144 litres on a 24 hour period be normal. I thought by dealing with Solarhart them self I would be safe. The rep told me it's fine. No it's getting worse. Not happy Solarhart.

Date PurchasedOct 2001
1 comment
phil
phil

UPDATE.contacted the company. THEY were efficient will send rep over in 2 days to try and rectify issue

Ferenc

FerencBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Thermostat setting - 50 degrees is just not hot enough

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Peter

PeterGlenwood

J series. Useless

published
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Solahart L Series compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Saves power bills, but so does any cold shower.

published
Jacked Off

Jacked OffPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solarhart Midland

published

We had to hound Solarhart Midland to get a new tank installed. This was eventually installed this Wednesday the 23rd March 2016. We have a double storey house. They came with no ladder as our house backs onto a heritage trail and we had the plumber from Solarhart visit us the week before. My Husband had a double ladder which they used. Anyway guess what they haven't connected the hot water. New tank no hot water. Bloody pathetic. We have to ring them after Easter and ask for them to come back to fix this. Not good enough. Never met a company so pathetic. I expect a discount due to poor service.

Huntsman

HuntsmanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 21 likes

great after sales service

published

We have a 300L system for house of 3 and it works really well. We have had the system fir two years and have had a couple of call outs to sort out a dodgy thermostat.
The thermostat was replaced under warranty and the service was really good.
I have turned booster off and don't run out of hot water which is great - the system has saved us 4kwH per day on electricity.
I would recommend this system.

Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 44 reviews
  • 39 likes

Happy so far

published

Poorly installed

published

Just got off the roof adding insulation to the tubing left exposed by the plumbers. The hot water line has been frozen every frosty morning. The insulation that was installed is already breaking down. Also there is no insulation on the circulation pipes so there is little hope of getting hot water anytime soon

Awful costs more in electricity now!

published

We replaced our roof and were unable to keep out 1980's system so decided to replace. Worst decision ever! Temps are so low that my 2 yo complains of cold showers yet only hot water tap turned on in winter. Have had the mixing valve replaced twice and still not very satisfied. They claim Government ruling but seriously get the valve thing right. We never used the power unless we had 2 overcast days before now we have to turn on power every night. So not happy.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Solahart L Series compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
northernangler

northernanglerNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Solahart installation.

published
1 comment
northernangler
northernangler

Extra comment on my original, I have installed an "under sink" instant heater. It works really well, instant hot water at low cost. Unit cost me about $80.00 on ebay and now a big saving in water albeit with a little extra in electricity.

Shocker- zero rating in winter

published

We replaced our fantastic effective1979 SolarHart in 2013 with an L Series 150 L tank which is supposedly adequate for a large family,. The 2013 one is dreadful. Cold water in Winter. The district rep is not contactable and the plumber seems unable to rectify. Water temperature is inadequate 50degrees and we are reduced to one person having a shower each day. .

Jack.D

Jack.DHervey Bay

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beware

published
Jamie

JamieSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Solahart 302L one of the best

published

I'd suggest that the problem may be external to the solar hot water system. Collectors don't lose heat from the storage tank, so replacing one would do nothing and the tank insulation is very good. I'd suggest getting a plumber to check for an internal leak in your hot water line. It may also be something simple like a leaking hot water valve. Otherwise, the system may be too small for your application.

Better than I had ever expected

published

We have had our Solahart 302L for 3 months now and have saved over 300 off our hot water bill. There are 6 of us in the house and haven't run out of Hot water once. The service from Solahart Townsville was next to none.

Page 2 of 4
See all Solahart L Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Ritchie Border

Ritchie Borderasked

How much does it cost to replace the anode also the hot water release valve

No answers
Sydney T.

Sydney T.asked

how much is it to buy a heating booster element for a 300LJ system?
i assume they are about 3.6kW?

No answers
Glenn M.

Glenn M.asked

Dear Sir
I have owned my solahart l series for 4 1/2 years and will require service shortly.
The question is what parts are included free in the $350 SERVICE cost. Eg cathode , tempering valve, filters any oyher valves

Thanks
Glenn McGrath

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

The question is best directed to the company as this is a review site

Steve S.
Steve S.

Hey Fired Up, you are in the Q&A tab of the Product Reviews

Get an answer from our members and Solahart representatives

Details

CategorySolar Water Heaters
Release dateAug 2007
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.