?
? !
5 photos
Sonos Playbar

Sonos Playbar

MPNs: PBAR1AU1BLK and S-PBARSB
4.4 from 63 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Voice / Dialogue
    5.0 (7)
  • Bass
    5.0 (7)
  • Music
    5.0 (7)
Previous
Next
Benjamin

BenjaminPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Go no further.

published

The quality of this product is unquestionable. Build quality and sound quality are amazing. The ecosystem this product can fit in with is another huge positive. Easy to connect with most TVs and makes even a cheap TV sound great.

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $950.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
shaunak p.

shaunak p.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely Amazing

published

The sound quality is clean and crisp and second to none. The set up is very easy and works over WiFi. I highly recommend the sound bar. The only drawback is no support for Bluetooth however truly blown away by the sound quality when paired with the subwoofer.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $845.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JJJ

JJJ

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

I have a few different Sonos speakers and have never had any issue. Easy to install and the sound is great. The app works well. Love Sonos products. Highly recommend

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David l

David lSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

So easy to install

published

I am not tech savvy and paranoid about setting this myself. All I did was connect the cables - though finding the digital audio line or output from my TV was the hardest part of the exercise- the app did all the rest. Great sound quality.

Purchased in October 2019.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James

James

  • 6 reviews

Good integration with other Sonos products

published

Bought this to complement my other Sonos speakers. It has a good design that easily fits to any home decor. Sound quality is full and it can get very loud (sorry neighbors)! The price is quite high but you mostly get a high quality premium product.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman for $999.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Murray G

Murray GMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Love the sound, but not the way it has to be used.

published

I have a sound bar, sub woofer and two SONOS one's that I use as surround. It also wakes me up in the morning with either a radio station, music from my phone or a music App. However I find the system so frustrating when for some reason it looses connection to the modem if when everything else is connected. I just wish that I could just play music straight from my phone or iPod, when my internet is not working. Why,why why does everything need to have internet to work. If I knew this was going to be such an issue when I bought it I would have bought a BOSE instead.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kyran T.

Kyran T.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best love it

published

I bought it from jb Hi fi month ago with 2 sonos 1. I love the sound quality it is awesome easy to pair with another device. I am really happy with it really nice.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amhill

AmhillFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Amazing sound bar!

published

I was initially hesitant to buy this sound bar for a really large rumpus room as I’ve read that it’s on the small side however couldn’t be happier with my purchase. The sound is amazing, I use it for gaming, movies and listening to music love it!

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $499.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G Man

G ManSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sonos Playbar

published

Amazing Quality. Build quality is 1st class. Sound quality is perfect. Not bulky but a good solid size. Wi-Fi connection works a charm. Never ages always looks modern and classic. Mine is wall mounted and no issues at all.

Purchased in September 2017 at Excel Hifi Physical store for $999.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Fantastic

published

Great sound, easy to use, connection software is old and a little outdated, but other than that fantastic, looks great and suits any style, fantastic with the surround sound set up

Purchased in July 2018 at eBay for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trure Racing

Trure RacingSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Playbar punches out the best sound with effects in large a room

published

I have 2 Playbars in different parts of my house and i love how you can control the sound level from the App on your Phone or I-Pad. Just plug in and 4approx 2 minutes set up and away you go. I have also go the Sub woffer and Sonos Play 1, Play 3 and Play 5. Great in the theater room, Excellect sound effects, I.e. Top Gun when the fighter plan takes off the Aircaft carrier !!

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Margarita

MargaritaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified

Excellent Sound

published

Bought the Sonos Playbar for Xmas. Sound is amazing, can't believe how we were listening to TV speakers for years. We already had 2 Sonos Play 1 in the house and we bought their Playbar as well so that everything works together smoothly.
From design perspective I probably like Bose Playbar more, but the Sonos one is nice too.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Frustrating. Never again

published

Regret buy a Sonos system. Considering going back to old style plug and play. Tired of having to do updates just when I want a quick flick for background music to clean up, do dishes etc. I have to log into the iTunes enter password etc, and wait for the updates. Plus the unreliability of our NBN connection means if no internet, no music. Which happens too often. Also, wanted to be able to stream whatever I am listening to on iPad, whether music or YouTube, whatever and the lack of this has always been disappointing.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eustace W

Eustace WSYDNEY

  • 2 reviews

Sound is magnificent

published

Sound has been unreal, what a difference to the crap I’ve used in the past. Definitely the best sound for the price and super easy to set up. Looking forward to adding more speakers this summer and listening to the quality that it produces. I’m going to get my mother one for x-mas

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MarkJ

MarkJMelbourne, Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Does not support Apple Airplay 2 - hardware limitation

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

So amazing it will blow your mind away!!!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian

IanWollongong

  • 19 reviews
  • 4 likes

Magnificent Sound from my widescreen TV plus WIFI connectivity.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amanda Ng

Amanda Ng

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best investment

published

Bought the Playbar, subwoofer, 2x play 1s. Easy set up (wireless - just need power source). Excellent sound, convenient play modes, awesome surround when watching movies. Very crisp and clear! Had initial problems as the WIFI in the house was not stable. Was frustrating as the music dropped frequently, and at times, I can't even stop it! Did some research and bought the Bridge. That saved the day. After also upgrading and stabilizing our internet source, it has been wonderful! Not cheap, but we enjoy having it! No regrets! Love it!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Excellent sound and quality

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ViSammyR.

ViSammyR.Adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Xmas present ever

published

Got our sonos playbar at Xmas 2017 and have loved it. Great sound, and can easily use it with phone and tv. Very good sound, crystal clear, even bought another one for my sister we loved it that much. Best xmas present ever, would recommend this to anyone to buy its just really good, and great value too.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3
See all Sonos Playbar reviews

Questions & Answers

Trent D

Trent Dasked

Currently I have 5.1 running in the lounge. It’s big and bulky. I have no doubt the quality for theatre will be good. Music wise, I use a Bose sound dock in the loungeroom, which I would like to get rid of. How’s the sound quality on this? I won’t be heading out to buy the sub super quickly due to initial costs. Many thanks!

2 answers
Murray G
Murray G

The sound from the sonos system is awesome we have the sound bar in front of the TV a sub woofer and two surrounds. The sound bar connects to the TV with a optic cable and the whole sydney runs on WiFi and you can add lots of apps like Spotify, iTunes and your favourite radio stations from any where in the world. I do however get very frustrated with the system when the Internet goes out as you can't do anything with it then other than user it with the TV

Trent D
Trent D

Great. Thanks for the info

Diane

Dianeasked

Can I use my iPod with the Sonos playbar?

2 answers
Lee W
Lee W

Yes if both are connected to the same wifi network. Sonos doesn’t have Bluetooth. It’s plays over WiFi.

Diane
Diane

Thank you.

kck

kckasked

I have the sound bar downstairs with a mini speaker at opposite end of room, sound is great very full. The speaker upstairs in bedroom sounds like 1/2 of a stereo system...getting predominatley background music and faint lyrics. Will adding another mini speaker in the bedroom give me fuller sound? At times I cannot even hear he lyrics....

2 answers
gasp
gasp

I suspect there is interference between the mini speaker and the music source. Wiring or insulation material perhaps? Have you tried moving the equipment around? SONOS are very supportive so you could call them for advice.

Rizzle
Rizzle

You are comparing a commodore Hsv SSV supercharged to a base model 6 cylinder in this case.

The playbar has more speakers,lower Hz and better response rate plus you have another speaker for the rear.
So of course you will think the speaker sound in the bedroom is less than it should,because it is!
You are best to tune the smaller speaker to your room.

Or a stereo pair of play1 will most probably suit your needs in the bedroom.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySoundbars
Price (RRP) $999.00
FeaturesWall Mountable
Connectivity OptionsEthernet, Optical Port and Wi-Fi
Colour / FinishBlack
Soundbar Dimensions140 x 900 x 85 mm
Weight5.4 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Speaker Configuration
Subwoofer TypeNone
Satellite Speakers0
Up-Firing Speakers0
Channels3.0
Release dateMay 2013
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00180501002847
  • GTIN13: 8717755771674
  • MPN: PBAR1AU1BLK and S-PBARSB

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.