?
? !
5 photos
Sonos Playbar

Sonos Playbar

MPNs: PBAR1AU1BLK and S-PBARSB
4.4 from 64 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Voice / Dialogue
    5.0 (9)
  • Bass
    4.9 (9)
  • Music
    4.9 (9)
Previous
Next
MarkL

MarkLSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified

Great sound and outstanding customer service and support

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $999.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
cgallich

cgallich

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great sounding bar with excellent software

published

Always had been more of a HiFi person and the thought of a soundbar seemed just not right.

When I moved into my new house I created a secondary small living area and decided to put a Sonos in there as all it had to do would be better than the tv speakers (not hard)

Surprised myself at how good the sound is for tv viewing with decent bass and clear vocals.

Even better is the Music playback via the app which is easy to use and streams flawlessly

So impressed I bought a Sonos one

Purchased in March 2019.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
Benjamin

BenjaminPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Go no further.

published

The quality of this product is unquestionable. Build quality and sound quality are amazing. The ecosystem this product can fit in with is another huge positive. Easy to connect with most TVs and makes even a cheap TV sound great.

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $950.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
shaunak p.

shaunak p.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely Amazing

published

The sound quality is clean and crisp and second to none. The set up is very easy and works over WiFi. I highly recommend the sound bar. The only drawback is no support for Bluetooth however truly blown away by the sound quality when paired with the subwoofer.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $845.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
JJJ

JJJ

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

I have a few different Sonos speakers and have never had any issue. Easy to install and the sound is great. The app works well. Love Sonos products. Highly recommend

Incentivised ReviewNo
David l

David lSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

So easy to install

published

I am not tech savvy and paranoid about setting this myself. All I did was connect the cables - though finding the digital audio line or output from my TV was the hardest part of the exercise- the app did all the rest. Great sound quality.

Purchased in October 2019.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
James

James

  • 6 reviews

Good integration with other Sonos products

published

Bought this to complement my other Sonos speakers. It has a good design that easily fits to any home decor. Sound quality is full and it can get very loud (sorry neighbors)! The price is quite high but you mostly get a high quality premium product.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman for $999.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
Murray G

Murray GMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Love the sound, but not the way it has to be used.

published

I have a sound bar, sub woofer and two SONOS one's that I use as surround. It also wakes me up in the morning with either a radio station, music from my phone or a music App. However I find the system so frustrating when for some reason it looses connection to the modem if when everything else is connected. I just wish that I could just play music straight from my phone or iPod, when my internet is not working. Why,why why does everything need to have internet to work. If I knew this was going to be such an issue when I bought it I would have bought a BOSE instead.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
Kyran T.

Kyran T.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best love it

published

I bought it from jb Hi fi month ago with 2 sonos 1. I love the sound quality it is awesome easy to pair with another device. I am really happy with it really nice.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amhill

AmhillFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Amazing sound bar!

published

I was initially hesitant to buy this sound bar for a really large rumpus room as I’ve read that it’s on the small side however couldn’t be happier with my purchase. The sound is amazing, I use it for gaming, movies and listening to music love it!

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $499.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
G Man

G ManSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sonos Playbar

published

Amazing Quality. Build quality is 1st class. Sound quality is perfect. Not bulky but a good solid size. Wi-Fi connection works a charm. Never ages always looks modern and classic. Mine is wall mounted and no issues at all.

Purchased in September 2017 at Excel Hifi Physical store for $999.00.

Voice / Dialogue
Bass
Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Fantastic

published

Great sound, easy to use, connection software is old and a little outdated, but other than that fantastic, looks great and suits any style, fantastic with the surround sound set up

Purchased in July 2018 at eBay for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Trure Racing

Trure RacingSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Playbar punches out the best sound with effects in large a room

published

I have 2 Playbars in different parts of my house and i love how you can control the sound level from the App on your Phone or I-Pad. Just plug in and 4approx 2 minutes set up and away you go. I have also go the Sub woffer and Sonos Play 1, Play 3 and Play 5. Great in the theater room, Excellect sound effects, I.e. Top Gun when the fighter plan takes off the Aircaft carrier !!

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Margarita

MargaritaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified

Excellent Sound

published

Bought the Sonos Playbar for Xmas. Sound is amazing, can't believe how we were listening to TV speakers for years. We already had 2 Sonos Play 1 in the house and we bought their Playbar as well so that everything works together smoothly.
From design perspective I probably like Bose Playbar more, but the Sonos one is nice too.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
honkas

honkasSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 7 likes

great quality sound without all the hassles of wires

published

Never have to listen to the tv speakers again..

this device is slim and space saving.. wife appeal is high as it replaces my existing floorstanding/central speakers..

produces great sound.. simple setup.. just plug n play (will need Ethernet connection to setup) but once setup can use wifi..

pair with play 1 and sonos sub to enhance the audio to a surround sound setup..

doesn't have the new craze of google assistant, alexa or the like.. so can't be controlled via voice yet :P

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Soundbars

Find out how Sonos Playbar compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4
See all Sonos Playbar reviews

Questions & Answers

Trent D

Trent Dasked

Currently I have 5.1 running in the lounge. It’s big and bulky. I have no doubt the quality for theatre will be good. Music wise, I use a Bose sound dock in the loungeroom, which I would like to get rid of. How’s the sound quality on this? I won’t be heading out to buy the sub super quickly due to initial costs. Many thanks!

2 answers
Murray G
Murray G

The sound from the sonos system is awesome we have the sound bar in front of the TV a sub woofer and two surrounds. The sound bar connects to the TV with a optic cable and the whole sydney runs on WiFi and you can add lots of apps like Spotify, iTunes and your favourite radio stations from any where in the world. I do however get very frustrated with the system when the Internet goes out as you can't do anything with it then other than user it with the TV

Trent D
Trent D

Great. Thanks for the info

Diane

Dianeasked

Can I use my iPod with the Sonos playbar?

2 answers
Lee W
Lee W

Yes if both are connected to the same wifi network. Sonos doesn’t have Bluetooth. It’s plays over WiFi.

Diane
Diane

Thank you.

kck

kckasked

I have the sound bar downstairs with a mini speaker at opposite end of room, sound is great very full. The speaker upstairs in bedroom sounds like 1/2 of a stereo system...getting predominatley background music and faint lyrics. Will adding another mini speaker in the bedroom give me fuller sound? At times I cannot even hear he lyrics....

2 answers
gasp
gasp

I suspect there is interference between the mini speaker and the music source. Wiring or insulation material perhaps? Have you tried moving the equipment around? SONOS are very supportive so you could call them for advice.

Rizzle
Rizzle

You are comparing a commodore Hsv SSV supercharged to a base model 6 cylinder in this case.

The playbar has more speakers,lower Hz and better response rate plus you have another speaker for the rear.
So of course you will think the speaker sound in the bedroom is less than it should,because it is!
You are best to tune the smaller speaker to your room.

Or a stereo pair of play1 will most probably suit your needs in the bedroom.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySoundbars
Price (RRP) $999.00
FeaturesWall Mountable
Connectivity OptionsEthernet, Optical Port and Wi-Fi
Soundbar Dimensions140 x 900 x 85 mm
Weight5.4 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
Speaker Configuration
Subwoofer TypeNone
Satellite Speakers0
Up-Firing Speakers0
Channels3.0
Release dateMay 2013
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00180501002847
  • GTIN13: 8717755771674
  • MPN: PBAR1AU1BLK and S-PBARSB

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.