??!
1 photo
Sony BDP-S6700

Sony BDP-S6700

MPN: SNY-BDPS6700
3.4 from 10 reviews

See the Best Blu-Ray & DVD Players in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1

Alex

AlexDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excelent value for money

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $230.00.


Mulloes

MulloesSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Ok, but not much else...

published

... this will do being wifi connected. If you want an app to access Prime TV through it, forget it. It's not supported. It streams other apps well eg netflix, catch up tv etc. But just get annoyed I can't get the apps that I want.
If these manufacturers have deals with only one subscription service eg Netflix, they are going to bomb out big time.

Purchased in November 2017.

Phil

PhilEbor nsw

  • 21 reviews
  • 20 likes

Fabulous quality streaming and great audio

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Harvey Wilson

Harvey WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 97 reviews
  • 78 likes

Almost perfect

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Don't waste your money

published

This DVD is the most useless system and I have always been a Sony fan but never again. I always have to unplug and perform a factory reset before the machine will respond to the remote control and although it does connect to your wireless network so you can watch Netflix after the a few days the connection fails and nothing you do will reconnect it. A day or two later and it reconnects itself without any issues. This is very annoying when you are wanting to watch something but it won't respond.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

johnearth

johnearthAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy and great unit.

published

After many years my old one die. Always had sony and this unit plays all disc with great picture and sound quality.
It's doesn't have optical out which is a shame. Very little remote.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Nifty

NiftySt Ives 2075

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good product, however I was wrongly led to believe it was a multi region player.

published

Whilst the player works satisfactorily on Region 4 DVD discs, it will not play DVD discs from the UK, of which I have many.
Contrast this with Panasonic, who will unlock Region 4 locked players free of charge. Sony will not do this.
This policy has everything to do with maximising profits for the studios.
Consumers would seem to be of little concern to Sony. This really should be unlawful corporate conduct.
I have resolved to never buy another Sony product again.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Craig30

Craig30

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Won't play sound on fast n furious 7 blu ray disc

published

Bout this from applianceonline was not clearly noted that it only plays blu rays and not uhd blu rays.
Won't play sound on fast n furious 7 blu ray disc, I also tried a second copy still the same, but works ok with other blu ray disc.
Over all works ok but not the best player as I found the software little glitchy.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bruce

BruceSydney

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Product

published

Great features and great value for money - from JB Hi-Fi.

Love the size and simplicity of this bluRay DVD player. We had an issue with the disc drawer opening on the product but the retailer swapped it over without any problems.

I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a value priced bluRay DVD player.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Timeless Traveler

Timeless TravelerAdelaide, South Australia

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent Player

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Questions & Answers

Michael Simmonds

Michael Simmondsasked

How do I remove the current region restriction.?

1 answer
Phil
Phil

I don't believe you can

I use a cheap bluray brand player as well to play the few other region blurays I have


Diane

Dianeasked

How can you add 7plus to your apps??

No answers

gazzman44

gazzman44asked

Is there anyway to remove the DVD Region restrictions?
I have been able to do it on 2 previous Sony models but not this one. Lived in the UK for sometime so have a library of DVDs I can't watch on this new player.

2 answers
Craig30
Craig30

I'm not sure as I have no reason to do so.
Sorry I can't help

Nifty
Nifty

My enquiries indicate that Sony will NOT unlock these from Region 4. Buy a Panasonic or Lazer.


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

Details

CategoryBlu-Ray & DVD Players
Price (RRP) $229
TypeBlu-ray Player
Internet ConnectivityEthernet and Wi-Fi
3D CapableNo
USB Ports1
Height39mm
Width255mm
Depth192mm
4K UpscalingYes

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4548736013506
  • MPN: SNY-BDPS6700

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.