??!
5 photos
Sony Cyber-shot RX100

Sony Cyber-shot RX100

4.1 from 14 reviews

See the Best Compact Cameras in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3

James A

James AAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The first of a compact using a 1-inch 21 megapixel sensor..

published

I purchased this as a replacement for a Sony DSC T-300 compact. What interested me in the product was the use of Zeiss lenses in them; some many years ago Zeiss manufactured 35mm film SLR cameras, which some of the best family photos were taken by my father 50 years ago with it. For a compact camera, the RX100 'stood out', as it not just delivered very high resolution pictures, using a series of optional adjustments, but also in its 'intelligent picture' mode. Capable of pictures reminiscent of a SLR several times the price..

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Lady Di

Lady DiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Sony Australia EBay Store

published

Bought unit in Dec 2017 because on their website they stated: "Manufacturer refurbished: An item that has been professionally restored to working order by a manufacturer or manufacturer-approved seller or retailer. This means the product has been inspected, cleaned, and repaired to meet manufacturer specifications and is in excellent condition". It came with a fingerprint smudged on the lens and was not noticed until I took over 100 photos on Australia Day. The camera always had a sticky USB connection until it failed six months later. It has gone into repair and has been away 2 weeks and they are still waiting on parts - should have bought a Panasonic/Nikon - they have never given us any problems.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
allenac

allenacBelmont North, 2280

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is my best pocket sized camera

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Robyn

RobynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 28 reviews
  • 15 likes

Absolutely the best point and shoot camera

published

I bought this camera a few years ago after searching the internet for the best point and shoot camera on the market at that time. I have an SLR and rarely use it since buying this camera. I take it everywhere - its been on overseas holidays it gets carried around in my handbag and in the basket of my bike, the photos it takes are fantastic. It looks pretty knocked around now but still keeps working everytime. I am now considering buying the latest version of this camera as I believe its still one of the best point and shoot cameras.

Date PurchasedJun 2014

Bec

BecVIC, 3000

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing for the size

published

My biggest problem about this camera is I didn't have the pleasure of owning one when traveling Europe. It does have a bit of a learning curve but like most things if you put the time in you learn it quick. I love this camera.

I've only ever owned phones with cameras so I wish I had this earlier.

The video quality is amazing as well, nothing bad to say really.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Michael

Michael

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Point and Shoot Ever

published

This is the most amazing point and shoot camera I've ever come across when I purchased this in 2013. The reviews by professional camera websites all give it outstanding results better than any other camera out there.

It is still going strong to this date, the image is virtually indistinguishable from good DSLR cameras. The only difference might be some colour. The best camera is the one that you have on you, this will give you DSLR quality photos everywhere because it fits inside your jean pockets.

Date PurchasedDec 2013

bos

bosbrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never buy a Sony RX100!!!

published

Brett s

Brett sPerth

  • 2 reviews

Sony Digital Camera and their non commitment on warrantees

published
MickfromPerth

MickfromPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The "I can't believe its not a DSLR" compact camera

published
Adrian.s

Adrian.sSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

One of the Best Cameras in its Class

published

Bought this 6 months ago, when we decided to upgrade from a canon Ixus camera to something better, but not a DSLR. Came across this as was recommended by salesperson, after reading up on reviews decided to go with it. Been perfect camera, takes beautiful shots and is very easy to use.

Only thing I dont like about the camera is the flash. Seems fragile but does do the job.

We are looking at upgrading to the M4 version that has just been released.


glenina

glenina

  • 25 reviews
  • 14 likes

Terrific Camera

published

Best camera I have ever had, including my old 35mm SLR OM10. I'm not a huge user so when I take it with me I don't want to have to remember too much to get a great result. 9 times out of 10 this little beauty does all the thinking for you if you select the mode you want before you go out. Unbelieveable in low light. The extra pixels are great if you like to crop. Everyone likes to crop. It is a lot of money but I get the feeling this one will stand the test of time in a market that advances at a mighty pace.


picket23

picket23Darwin

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Pocket Camera

published

gjdaus

gjdausBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great little camera

published
Date PurchasedApr 2014

NeddyS

NeddySSydney NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Takes stunning photos

published

Questions & Answers

Hannah Shania C

Hannah Shania Casked

Has anyone used this camera at a concert ? If so are the pictures high quality? Clear?

2 answers
allenac
allenac

Sony RX100. Was the best low light performer when it was released several years ago. can take quality pictures of objects in motion and many other situations. But the flash has only 3 meters range and beyond that would be too dark for a quality shot. There are many new models now on the market. Hope this help.

James A
James A

I haven't tried it, but think a tripod would be helpful to keep image stability. Phones today are very much the trend, but a lot of concerts prohibit photography.The pictures would be high quality with the camera fitted to a tripod with a fully charged battery. For a compact camera, it offers very much room for experimentation...


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.