??!
10 photos
Sony WH-1000XM3
4.3 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (61)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (61)
  • Sound Quality
    5.0 (61)
  • Bass
    4.7 (59)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (61)
  • Battery Life
    4.9 (61)
  • Bluetooth
    4.7 (60)
  • Noise Cancellation
    5.0 (57)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

trompfy

trompfyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 198 reviews
  • 60 likes

The best headphones for your home

published

On Friday 4th September 2020 I bought this is for when I move into my own unit in September 2020 so I will be able to listen to my favourite music before I go to bed every night without disturbing the neighbours by using these headphones.

Purchased in September 2020 at Catch for A$105.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
audio eater

audio eaterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sony does it again

published

Sooooo comfy! The sound quality of these headphones is the best I could have hoped for, if not better. The noise cancelling is amazing, the best I have ever used. Because of the 30 hour battery life these headphones have, they are very good for city travel ie train or bus, can be used for Bluetooth or as active headphones since they come with an aux cord. Probably best not to use them for any outdoor activities since they could fall off your head (this has happened to me, luckily I caught them). Overall these headphones are fantastic for the money they cost nowadays, but with the new WH1000XM4 coming out, you may want to save up to get those since they are the better version of these headphones.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Richard W

Richard WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic product

published

I use these when travelling and actually find them useful in the recording studio as passive monitors. They have a rounded sound and are comfortable to wear, although I would not recommend them for use when running. The sound quality when used with iPhone or iPad via Bluetooth is detailed and pleasing. When used with a DAC such as a Soundkey or a Dragonfly, the sound becomes expansive and engaging. Altogether, they are absolutely worth the money.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sepi

SepiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect

published

Its a great headphone , the sound quality is perfect , the noise cancelling is the best and its very east to use while Running or cycling. It fits perfectly and is very comfortable to use. I use it every day for my work and while exercising.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$486.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
RTF

RTFGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

My best friend

published

Exceptional! Best noise cancelling to date. The sound is crisp with enough base. The app is just brilliant and easy to navigate. Google assistant is great and voice assistant is clear.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ingrid D

Ingrid DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

My walking pal

published

In order to ramp up my walking, I used headphones in listening to self-help training materials. Easy to use convenient volume and forward/backward adjustments. Light, elegant and handy! Perfect sound!

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco VIC, Epping.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Glen O.

Glen O.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sony WH1000XM3B (Black) vs Bose QuietComfort 35

published

Previously using the Bose QuietComfort 35 (now with my teenage daughter) and the ANC is comparable to the QC35 (the QC 35 is slightly better with no ambient sound playing). Features are great and I bought 2 (one for me and one for the wifey). Very comfortable around the ears and build is solid. Overall, happy with the purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Sony Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Stacie C.

Stacie C.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Bloody Awesome sound!!!!

published

Great, real, solid base with the right amount of percussion, totally immersive and noice cancelling. Best purchase, seriously impressed with the immersive sound into the music and noise cancelling and ease of managing interruptions (phonically) Best purchase in a long time :)

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for A$380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Joffalab

JoffalabGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Better the Bose

published

Have had several pairs of the Bose qc35’s. also awesome. However the soundstage of the Sony’s feels more immersive and the noise cancelling even better. There is also some clever buttonless tech with the Sony’s. I’m surprised ... and delighted. You can’t go wrong with the qc35sbut if you want to hear/see what (slightly) better is like .... try these

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angelica C.

Angelica C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic noise cancelling headphone.

published

I listen to music and audiobooks with this headphone. Due to the size of this headphone, it is not quite suitable for intense activities. But it has the best noise-cancelling function. Good sound volume. I love the blue tooth function.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Christy

ChristySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Noise Cancelling Headphones I have ever had! Good for glasses too!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at eBay for A$317.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mika N.

Mika N.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Amazing headphones!

published

My partner bought these headphones to listen to music with hearing aids in. Fantastic sound quality couldn't believe how noise cancelling. Very comfortable, amazing quality, use them daily and would never go back.
Great connectivity and amazing options touch options.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
RatelSlang

RatelSlangSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lives up to the hype

published

Very comfortable to wear for long periods, the battery life is astounding. Easy to flick between NC/Ambient and off, and the active noise cancelling is great. I'm no audiophile and can't fault the sound quality. Recommended

Purchased in April 2020 at Addicted to Audio Online store for A$354.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Meli

MeliSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Amazing sound

published

These headphones are absolutely amazing, they have noise control and with the Sony headphones app you can adjust the bass et. I love how comfortably they fit. My partner has beats but they really are no way near as good as these Sony in my opinion.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

jezza

jezzaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Peace and quiet at home

published

WIth the current distance learning situation, I needed something to allow me to continue with online studies at home with my kids. I didn't want to experiment with others so I chose these top-of-the- range ones. They are perfect in every way, and well-worth the cost.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jo Jo T

Jo Jo TSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Great headphones

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Coles Group & Myer Gift Card.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great sound and bass

published

Love this headphones , after tossing up between Bose and these I finanly bit the bullet and choose the Sony .

They have a rich bass and great mids
These arent high end headphones but they are perfect for everyday listening

Noise cancelling can be a bit uncomfortable as they are quite firm on the head

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Cornelius L.

Cornelius L.

  • 2 reviews

My Daily Drivers

published

Great sound quality, good connection distance, great build quality and great noise cancelling (barely able to hear a plane taking off). No regrets of purchase at all, if you're in the market for Bluetooth headphones, definitely recommend these

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
James_Burton

James_BurtonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great noise cancelling

published

The best!

I bought these before some overseas travel recently and they work perfectly on a plane.

They sound great and are very comfortable to wear.

It does sometimes get annoying when pairing between multiple devices, but I can live with it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nev

NevSydney, NSW

12 months on...5 days a week public transport...Great headphones

published

I done a lot of research into My first pair of noise cancelling headphones ..was going to buy the bose but at the last moment bought the Sony's... I'm so so happy with them..as people have said your ears do get hot wearing them as they fit so close but the advantage is you don't hear back ground noise.. I ride the Sydney trains to work every day and it's like your at home listening to music...One key thing I would say is...don't use the preset equalizer.. go online and see what other people recommend....it makes a huge difference .
I'm hearing things in songs I have been listening to for over 40 years I have NEVER heard before with these headphones ... Yes really..
Nev..in Australia

Purchased in April 2019 for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 4
See all Sony WH-1000XM3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Paul

Paulasked

WH1000XM3B (Black)

If two people want to watch the same TV program, can one person use the headphones while another can listen to the external volume of the TV at the same time?

No answers
Pranav Y.

Pranav Y.asked

WH-1000XM3

is the call quality any good?

1 answer
Meli
Meli

I personally think the call quality is great. I use my headphones a lot for work and take heaps of calls a day and I’ve had absolutely no issues at all

Mary

Maryasked

WH-1000XM3

After owning them for 2 days, I tried mine for the first time on a plane. I am getting static as the plane takes off, very annoying. Landing is OK. Should I take them back or is this normal? Thanks everyone, Mary.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Sony WH-1000XM3
CategoryWireless HeadphonesWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) A$399.00A$399.00
TypeOver-EarOver-Ear
FeaturesMicrophone Included and Noise CancellingMicrophone Included and Noise Cancelling
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Frequency Response4 Hz - 40 kHz4 Hz - 40 kHz
Weight255 g255 g
Battery Life30 hours30 hours
Connections3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth
Charging Time3 hours3 hours
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced bySony WH-1000XM4Sony WH-1000XM4
Compare both Sony WH-1000XM3

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04548736081192
  • GTIN13: 4548736081192 and 4548736081253
  • MPN: SON00056, SON00057 and WH1000XM3S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.