??!

4K Ultra HD TVs Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of 4k ultra hd tv would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.7

22 reviews
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (15)
  • Picture Quality
    3.8 (15)
  • Software
    3.0 (16)
  • Sound Quality
    3.4 (16)
Previous
Next
Dan Mac

Dan MacGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing TV set

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
John M

John M

  • 2 reviews

The worst TV I have ever owned. Sony should be ashamed.

published

Nothing works properly, everything is incredibly slow, wifi drops out constantly then can't reconnect and the TV must be rebooted. There isn't a single redeeming feature about this TV and I've been a big fan of Sony TV's for years.

Purchased in October 2015 at Sony Physical store for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Kirsten

KirstenGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Extremely disappointed

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman Online for A$1,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500F Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not worth it

published

This particular model has big time contrast and brightness problems coupled with very low depth on blacks...How on earth could sony make this product...very dissappointed with picture and audio quality..audio has low base...Dark scenes are a total washout....one needs to pray to God to brighten up the screen while watching dark scenes , Sony needs to update the software and sort this out..bought this tv two weeks back...regreting it

Purchased in October 2019 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
invento

invento

  • 4 reviews

Screen bleeding issues

published

This particular model has really bad screen bleeding problems. I would never buy a edge lid lcd again. Neither the retailer or Sony make you aware of that problem. Sony is not what they used to be.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Jacqi

JacqiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

sony tv

published

75 inch Bravia Smart TV.Has all the features of a Smart TV. Bluetooth and Wireless works seamlessly on start up and use of the optical audio connection with my surround sound system enhances the experience.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for A$3,500.00.

Performance
Software
Sound Quality
Pierre

Pierre

  • 7 reviews

Great for movies and Netflix HD

published

Did not regret buying the Sony KD55X8500 for my movie nights, the hd picture quality is exceptional, you could even see the skin hair on HD movies on Netflix! With the hdmi option I could connect my soundbar and enhance more of the audio. The Bluetooth connection is a breeze as well, connected my headset if I want to watch my tv series at nights. Overall this smart tv is the best I bought so far!

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Natasha W.

Natasha W.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Tv! Picture quality is quite good for the price

published

Great range of apps to use.
Picture quality is great and 4K content plays wonderfully.
Have been impressed with tv since purchase, easy to use menus and 4 hdmi ports makes it handy for external devices.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

edc

edcGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Good smart tv

published

Not your top of the range but picture quality is excellent. Great Apps pre loaded on to tv so very good smart tv. Although there has been times where it was a bit slow but it is a older tv.

Purchased in October 2016 at Bing Lee Online store for A$2,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500F Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jay C

Jay CMelbourne

  • 14 reviews

Bought is and had issues with the screen but Sony is now replacing the unit. Apart from that, Worked really well

published

Looks good. We had an issue with the Tv and contacted Sony who since then is replacing the whole unit. Apart from that, picture and sound is really good. Easy to use.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$6,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Jon B

Jon BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Terrific TV - better than I expected

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
JessieF

JessieFSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

TV Junkie

published

Really love my Sony 85”. The picture clean and sharp and the apps are great. I would love if it had the foxtel go app but seems it’s not available on this or any other however casting is easy on the Sony so I am very happy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Georgie Goddard

Georgie GoddardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Colour

published

I bought this TV just to update, the picture is great the colour is very vibrant, do have to ready the help section to setup my new smart TV though.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for A$998.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Darren Gabbe

Darren GabbeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a POS

published

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Zstorm

ZstormNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Crystal Clear

published

Stunning clear image! We are bowled over at how clear the image and sound is with our new tv! We got this for a good deal as well so we have ended up with a stunning tv at a good price

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$2,086.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500F Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
M Holden

M HoldenHobart, TAS

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Another bad one.

published

This television was a warranty replacement for an earlier Sony tv and this one has issues as well. This model number has software issues especially when trying to play movies from another source. Trying different apps to play them and still trouble. The help at Harvey Norman in store was good but their follow up was nil. Sony is hard to get help from as well. We're off to buy a new television tomorrow and it definitely wont be a Sony. Sony is being downgraded to our playroom!

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Kris

KrisPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

TV is good when watching HD channels

published

I haven’t used this tv much since purchase but it was easy to set up and is slim and not too bulky.

I find the picture on normal channels more blurry compared to our 65” LG tv. Understand the bigger the tv the worse the picture so not sure if it’s good or bad though as I don’t have another tv the same size to compare it to. That’s just my first impression - there is a noticeable difference in picture quality.

When watching HD channels the picture is much better.

Sound quality is good without needing to buy a sound bar or anything.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
3basS

3basSGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Immersive and clear, When size matters...

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Joshua Michael

Joshua MichaelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Great for 4K gaming

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Taufiq

TaufiqSydney

This stuff is exceptional

published

The picture is always perfect for Sony. This Android TV is above my expectation, it gives me new experience on how to watch movie, news, and documentary. Even my kids enjoy their cartoon moment with this stuff.
With this model i believe Sony keep the their position as the most innovative technology.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jay C

Jay Casked

KD85X8500F (85")

Has anyone else noticed slight discolouration or dark patches on all 4 corners of the screen? If yes then please answer as I believe it is a common defect and Sony should do a recall. The tech who attended told me that it is a common issue in 85 inch Sony Tvs.

No answers
Debbie N Garry D.

Debbie N Garry D.asked

KD55X8500F (55")

The audio is shocking. What are the settings people use

No answers
shekhar b.

shekhar b.asked

KD55X8500F (55")

Is it worth to buy this product in the sense of picture quality?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.