??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,747 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.1

16 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (15)
  • Transparency
    1.3 (11)
  • Customer Service
    1.3 (13)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (1), 1-2 weeks (3), 2-4 weeks (2), 1-2 months (4) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (16)
Previous
Next
Vgm

VgmSydney, NSW

Never use them again

published

we found ourselves having to pay for flights back to Australia due to Covid-19. Nothing back at all. Had to get AFCA to negotiate refund on unused Policy portion. The wording is so tight that everything got blamed on the pandemic. I’ve used them for the last 15 years. NEVER AGAIN.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi, I'm sorry you're not happy with cover related to COVID-19. If you have any further questions, please call our team for help on 1800 196 484, or email us at info@scti.com.au. All the best, Deb@SCTI

  • Verified customer

No Help, or remunerations, it stinks

published

Took out a policy with SCTI last September before anyone in the world knew about Covid-19, took out extra cover to cover cost of Trip which was 20K, claimed for accommodation in India and subsequent Flight home having being asked to leave India because all Tourists were being expelled, in the small print on an obscure page apparently it states that if a Pandemic is declared your insurance policy is voided, that's all well and good but at least we should receive a refund of the cost of the policy having taken out our policy as I said above in September everything is weighted in favour of your company and I for one will never use you company again, and I will inform anyone who will listen about how bad you have treated us

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
John From Mandurah
John From Mandurah

Policy number
12662691

take1ststep

take1ststepSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible SCTI to deal with, Never again will buy insurance with SCTI

published

Bought Travel insurance before Pandemic was declared, travelled oversease. Had to return back to Oz due to Pandemic bought new tickets, etc.
SCTI refused to pay new expenses due to Pandemic. That's it. Ni one could predict a pandemic would be declared so quickly. Don't want to take any responsibility but they are happy to take your money when you pay the premium. Appealed through their internal processes to no avail.

DON'T ever bother to buy insurance with this company, waste of money and time trying to get my money back.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
climber2205

climber2205

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I knew they would find a way to avoid paying

published

I really don't know why I bother with insurance. the excuse they came up with was the Government enforced a lockdown due to covid. so that is a general exclusion.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Waste of money

published

Booked flights in May 2019 before anyone knew anything about a pandemic (and bought travel insurance around the same time) only to now be informed they won’t even refund ONE of our flights. What is the point in buying insurance?! I understand this is a difficult time but now is the time you should be supporting customers not creating new documents so that you don’t have to assist them. Will definitely reconsider ever buying travel insurance with southern cross travel again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia, East Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea), Europe and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

No point of getting Southern Cross Travel Insurance

published

Spent $800 on this insurance for 4 months travel. They did not cover anything related to COVID-19 as they stated “We do appreciate that this was an unknown event for you, however, the policy does not cover such governmental restrictions” as QLD we’re closing their borders

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Sir Gyle

Sir GyleSouth Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Once is enough

published

Will never get an insurance from SCTI again. It was my first time to try SCTI but wont be using them again. I initially purchased from them upon seeing good reviews but alas, I was wrong. The airline canceled my flight and there's no point in going as threat of covid19 is increasing. They will not cover the cost or even half of the cost even though I purchased my insurance before the covid19 became a pandemic.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Koda Macca

Koda MaccaSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

scammers / cheats

published

will never use this company again. travell cancelled by government. encourages you to make a claim then denies claim. then wont refund unused policy . excuse , you made a claim.... disgusting way of taking peoples money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Avoid this company at all cost!

published

Do NOT I repeat Do Not use this company for travel insurance...they will happily take your money & find every reason possible not to cover your travel claim. There are many other better travel insurance companies out there.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lencox49

lencox49AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified customer

When trip is cancelled there is no refund on premium.

published

We purchased a policy form Scti to cover a cruise. We cancelled the insurance when we did not sail on the ship and would have expected a partial refund of the premium given that there was no risk of a claim from the date of cancellation.
SCTI is very difficult to contact and do not answer e-mails. They have denied a partial refund without any explanation. We have used SCTI for the past ten years as our insurer and had recommended them. We can no longer recommend them as they are too difficult to communicate with and there explanations don't pass the pub test.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
lencox49
lencox49

Southern cross has got back to us and have now fully refunded our insurance Premium. Once the right communiction channels opened up they were much easier to deal with.

Karen

KarenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointed

published

We had a ski trip booked to Japan in February. Given that Japan was a high risk region for the Coronavirus, we decided to cancel our holiday. SCTI have denied our claim for reimbursement even though we bought the policy last year. I have used SCTI in the past but will NOT be using them in the future given their response.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
amc1234

amc1234South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed with Claims Proccess

published

Have used SCTI before but never had to claim until booking replacement flights 3 weeks ago. After claim message saying they needed 9 business days, it's now 3 weeks later and they haven't even assigned someone to the claim and keep saying call back next week and blaming glitches. Out of pocket $4,000 and have had no help from SCTI.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi amc1234, I'm very sorry about the delay in processing your claim. Can you please send us an email at info@scti.com.au with your claim number or policy number, and we'll have a look into this for you. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

amc1234
amc1234

Every time I email I get a notice saying it will take 3 business days for a reply, so would rather not add more waiting time to this again.

NannaCinta

NannaCintaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Woeful Service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi NannaCinta, I'm very sorry you have not heard from us regarding your claim. Could you please email us an with your claim number and we will investigate this for you. We look forward to hearing from you, Pepper@SCTI

NannaCinta
NannaCinta

I have emailed a number of times already

Cheryl

CherylPerth, WA

Great experience until you try to make a claim

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
AngryCruiser

AngryCruiserSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 13 likes

Won't pay for cruise that turned into a bus ride

published

During the large floods in Europe of 2013, we were supposed to be on a River Cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. The cruise company (Scenic Tours) -knowing of this in advance- forced us to go by bus for over 50% of the trip. Also refused passengers to cancel.
During this time I was in touch with Southern Cross insurance and kept them informed.
When we returned to Australia and we placed a claim, they refused it, based on a technicality the we did do the "trip" -even though it was mostly by bus! So this cost us around AUD$20,000 for a bus ride!
Never have and never will use SC again!

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateJuly 2013
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
AngryCruiser
AngryCruiser
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauris de Clifford

Lauris de CliffordRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • Verified customer

Great policy. Unfortunately too much stress and false promises when you need to claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
See all Southern Cross Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

ringing for 3days holding for hours need some reassurance leaving on 11-03-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have a policy with you would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland ring 02 49283156

Bent O.
Bent O.

I am having a similar problem with a different company (I want to apply for insurance but their site is crashing). Obviously they are being hit by people panicking.
As you can already see they don’t now reply in this Review site but I did notice they have website updates. Suggest you check for alternate contact.

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

barry sutherland

Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
UnderwriterSouthern Cross
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Unlimited
Accidental Death$15,000
Emergency Dental$750
Pregnancy (max weeks) 20 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimited
Loss of Income$6,500
Permanent Disability$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $500 (as part of Travel Document cover)
Delayed Luggage $1,000 per person, $5,000 per journey
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $3,000 (Laptop, Tablet, or Camera)
Luggage & Personal Effects $25,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability A$1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorbikes up to 200cc
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseIncluded
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiOptional Extra
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.