??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,747 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

5.0

113 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (108)
  • Transparency
    4.9 (87)
  • Customer Service
    4.9 (108)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (12), 1-2 weeks (51), 2-4 weeks (33) and 1-2 months (11)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (113) · No
Previous
Next
Tina K.

Tina K.Perth, WA

Great service in time of need

published

We travelled a lot over the years and for the last few years have used SCTI. In March 2020 we had to cancel a trip to the US for non-COVID related reasons. The process to have our airfares refunded was easy and quick. All up it was a painless experience, done online and by email instead of sitting on a phone for hours. For an insurance company, I was hugely impressed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Millsy

MillsyRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Not your average insurance company!!

published

Have been a customer for many years, our claim was kept open until all our refunds came back from tour, air and cruise companies.
We were emailed monthly, to see how we were going with our refunds, our last refund was 0n 19/7/20, after emailing SCTI today, 21/7/20 we received our balance or shortfall this afternoon, same day !! For me, this is extraordinary for any insurance company, well done SCTI.
PS. thank you Sarah from claims !!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Millsy, thank you so much for your feedback. We're really happy that we were able to make your claiming experience such a good one. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

GFP

GFPPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Don't travel without it.

published

Easy to set up. Easy to claim online when we supplied all the details required. Easy to clarify any questions we had over the phone. We rented a car for two months in New Zealand and unfortunately scraped one wheel against the curb. The rental company charged us and we made a claim on our travel insurance which was dealt with very efficiently to our satisfaction.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi GFP, thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dazza

DazzaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Jemma is a valuable GEM!!!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Daria, thanks so much for your review. I will pass your lovely comments on to Jemma. We're pleased we were able to help. All the best, Deb@SCTI

JulesH

JulesHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Quick easy claim process

published

Used Southern Cross travel insurance for our Bali trip. My daughter required medical assistance whilst we were away. Came home, claimed online which was a very easy process. Received an email today saying the claim was approved and all medical expenses were refunded. It appears they chose to waive the $100 excess too. Thank you, I will definitely use Southern across for all future travel insurance (when the world goes back to normal!)

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jules. Thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Briana

BrianaSouthern and Hills, SA

Terrific service

published

First time we have used this inurance provider and found them excellent to deal with. Prompt replies to our queries. Would recommend them to anyone. Above our expectations. Great service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Briana, thanks so much for your review. We're pleased you had such a good experience. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Saints

SaintsRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Wonderful Company

published

I highly recommend SCTI. I disembarked early from a cruise ship because of the coronavirus fears and changing ports, put in a claim 3 weeks ago, and this morning was advised that they have covered all my costs. Sarah, the Claims Assessor, was excellent. Will only use SCTI for future travel insurance. Thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Saints, thank you for your review. We're pleased you got home safely. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

chez

chezSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Highly recommended

published

I highly recommend this company, prompt claims process, good value for money, even with existing medical conditions,great choice of coverage especially for cruisingextra cost very reasonable for two extra medical conditions.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Chez, thanks for your review. We're pleased you had such a good experience. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Gladys Ling

Gladys LingIllawarra, NSW

No one should leave Australia without travel insurance.

published

my policy was accepted on line, and was great value for money. I paid for twelve months not expecting to claim as I'm a reasonably healthy person, but with the current virus I couldn't travel overseas as planned in October. My claim has been viewed and settled within a few weeks. I'm so pleased.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Gladys, Thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry

BarryVictoria

  • 2 reviews

This is why you take out travel insurance

published

Due to unforeseen circumstances it was necessary for us to lodge a claim. Because we took out our policy the moment we booked our trip our policy covered us fully.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Barry, thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Christine

ChristineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic service and amazing helpful people

published

Had to cancel on 27th February at start of Coronavirus outbreak
Only took three weeks to resolve which
regarding the timing just fantastic Had one call for confirmation purposes
Have used before and will again when travel resumes and easy to set up

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christine, Thanks for the lovely feedback, it's great to hear that we were able to help you out. I hope you'll be able to take your trip soon! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Christian

Christian

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service and customer support

published

I was a bit scared as never heard about SCTI before. But thanks to the people for the reviews helping me to decide. I am glad that we choose SCTI. Did lodged claim, which was approved within 1-2 weeks. Great customer service. Well recommended.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christian, thanks for the lovely review! We appreciate your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Poor service

published

Sick of sending emails and not getting a reply for my very simple claim, I’ve tried ringing but after waiting 40 mins I got sick of the wait. Policy was good value and they had good reviews, the the reality is far different

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Cat D.

Cat D.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great product, good price, good claims service

published

I have used SCTI a few times. I used to work for an insurance company and i can tell you that it isn't the premium that matters, it is whether they pay when you need to claim. SCTI were fantastic when my passport was stolen in Cuba a few years ago. No quibbles, just paid up. I find their premiums are good value and it is also simple to insure most pre existing medical stuff. I would highly recommend them. I have since travelled to europe and also to Japan taking out separate policies. This review is for my end to end experience and i am also noting the claim i had in 2017.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea), Europe and South America
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim DateMay 2017
Claim ApprovedYes

Extremely efficient and always available to talk

published

I have claimed twice over the years I have booked with SCTI and I cannot fault them. They are efficient and their call centre is easy to reach from overseas. Best prices around too. Will always book with SCTI for my trips

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess, Lost/Stolen Property and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Value for money

published

I have taken out travel insurance with SCTI a few times and always found their policies to be good value with easy to understand coverage details. My most recent trip is the first time in over 20 years of traveling that I have ever made a travel insurance claim, albeit a minor one. SCTI was easy to detail with - the process was straightforward and they paid the claim in line with their policy. Will definitely continue to use them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

More than financial reimbursement

published

We booked SCTI based on friend’s recommendations and they delivered. Insurance is something you never want to use but was very glad I selected SCTI when one of my children had to undergo emergency surgery in Fiji. It was great to get all associated costs back but customer service team really assisted my entire family during the process (accommodation, flights, medical opinions, dealing with hospital commercial team) Thank you Southern Cross

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
Chaz

ChazGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Easy to make a claim

published

I had a straightforward claim: My flight to NZ was delayed 3 hours then cancelled. Since I was only going to NZ for the weekend, I didn't get on the replacement flight they offered us (which would get me there ate 4PM the following day).

Jetstar refunded my flight, and I claimed the rest (accommodation, car hire, transport to/from airport) with SCTI. I lodged all receipts with them and received my money back about 4 weeks later.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Smooth Claim

published

Long time customer. Unfortunately, I injured my finger in Bali and all costs incurred were reimbursed by SCTI following the claim with supporting documents. Affordable prices. Will recommend this insurance company. Headache-free claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimPersonal Liability
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Rick

RickHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Exemplary Service

published

I didn't think I would write such a review for an insurance company, but my experience in both taking out a policy and in making a claim (the test of a good policy and company) could not be faulted. Various members of my family have used SCTI over the last couple of years and I hope that their reasonable prices stay competitive as I plan to use them for a major overseas trip this year.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 1 of 6
See all Southern Cross Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

ringing for 3days holding for hours need some reassurance leaving on 11-03-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have a policy with you would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland ring 02 49283156

Bent O.
Bent O.

I am having a similar problem with a different company (I want to apply for insurance but their site is crashing). Obviously they are being hit by people panicking.
As you can already see they don’t now reply in this Review site but I did notice they have website updates. Suggest you check for alternate contact.

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

barry sutherland

Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
UnderwriterSouthern Cross
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Unlimited
Accidental Death$15,000
Emergency Dental$750
Pregnancy (max weeks) 20 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimited
Loss of Income$6,500
Permanent Disability$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $500 (as part of Travel Document cover)
Delayed Luggage $1,000 per person, $5,000 per journey
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $3,000 (Laptop, Tablet, or Camera)
Luggage & Personal Effects $25,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability A$1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorbikes up to 200cc
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseIncluded
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiOptional Extra
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.