??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance (page 2 of 133)

4.7 from 2,653 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2,270
4 star
231
3 star
35
2 star
18
1 star
99

Great company

published

Very easy and no hassles policy this is second time I've used these guys and I've got no drama they also let me add to my policy as well
Thanks

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Man, thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Wayne

WayneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

didnt have to claim so you never know but service was great......

published

Policy easy to set up on line. Heard about SCTI via advertising. They were about the best priced Travel cover on offer. Appreciated the follow up before I left home plus the follow up on return , this was possibly just wanting a review ! but just the same other insurers generally just take your money and you never hear another word. Will use SCTI again.

DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Wayne, thanks for the five star review! It's great to hear you were happy to receive our emails. We look forward to covering your next adventure, Pepper@SCTI

Jenny

JennySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent service leads to confidence when travelling

published

We recently returned from six weeks overseas and while we had no reason to make a claim, our previous experience in being supported by SCTI means that arranging our cover is the first item on our travel itinerary.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jenny, thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. It’s good to hear your experience with us was a positive one. We look forward to covering your future travels, Pepper@SCTI

WAO

WAOGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Professional and caring.

published

I have recently made a claim with SCTI and found them reasonable, professional and prompt in all dealings. I was most impressed with the communication provided keeping us informed through all stages of the claim process. this is the first time I have needed to claim and was expecting the worst and was so pleased to have the process made so easy by their assessor.
I would highly recommend insuring through SCTI.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Senior
DestinationNew Zealand
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi WAO, thanks for taking the time to share your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Great to deal with.

published

I would highly recommend SCTI, I found the whole process very easy. Before leaving I had a bit of a problem and after talking to SCTI it was easily sorted out and we could travel without worry. We were contacted before we left to make sure we had all the contacts and what to do if we had a problem, thankfully we didn't have a problem and since returning home SCTI have been in contact again to make sure everything was OK and if we had any claims. Great service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAfrica
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Ken, thanks for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. I'm happy you could travel with peace of mind, knowing you were covered by SCTI. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Camo

CamoDarwin, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Flights delayed

published

When travel back to Australia from Ireland our flight was delayed before we even left, as a result we missed every connection flight. We had to book more flight to get home costing us thousands of dollars. We are very thank full for the quick turn around it was under 4 weeks from claim lodgement to claim settlement. We would recommend southern cross to anyone travel if and we will be using them again for our next trip. Thank you to our claims assessor Nikita.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Gabe

GabeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best Insurance Provider

published

I have gone with Southern Cross my last 5 trips, and have had to claim in my last 2. They were unbelievably helpful when I hurt myself overseas, they genuinely cared about the situation.

Both claims I’ve made have been seamless, I almost feel bad having to claim so much because of how great they’ve been.

Could not recommend any more!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Other
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Gabe, I'm pleased we could offer our support during this stressful time. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Cathy J

Cathy J

  • 2 reviews

Easy to book

published

Southern Cross Travel Insurance has been my go to for travel insurance for some time now. I find the website easy to use, just fill in the travelers name and ages and you get a price straight away. Everything is explained on one page which is easy to read. Its also even easier to pay. I also like the reminder emails you get before you leave on your trip so you don't have to worry about finding your policy details. Haven't had to claim yet, so unable to comment on that part but will book again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Cathy J, thanks for the five-star review! It's great to hear you were happy to receive our emails. We look forward to covering your future travels, Pepper@SCTI

KB

KBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value

published

This is the 3rd time I have taken out SCTI, the most recent a 1 week trip to Japan at the end of August 2019. It was easy to set up online, very good value and inexpensive to take out the no excess component. I have not needed to claim for any incident on any of these trips, however I was impressed by the positive reviews other reviewers have made when having to make a claim. I will definitely use SCTI again.

Value for Money
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi KB, Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Thomas

ThomasGippsland, VIC

Great value, simple process and responsive to claims

published

Have been using SCTI regularly over past 10 years, initially based on price for comprehensive cover. Have made two claims in past 3 years, one simple medical and one for travel disruption/change. Both claims settled quickly and no fuss. Highly recommend SCTI to friends and family and they have had similar experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Thomas, thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Milan V

Milan VSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Exceptional service

published

I travel 4 times per year roughly and had to claim twice in two years.
Once it was for a theft (Electronic Items and medical equipment) and the second time for a small accident which I had with a rental vehicle.
Both times Southern Cross Travel insurance paid without major hassle.
Both claims took roughly 2-3 weeks from the date of lodgement to be completed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess and Lost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Milan V, I'm sorry to hear about the circumstances leading to your claims, but I'm pleased we were able to help you out! We hope to hear from you when you're planning your next trip, Pepper@SCTI


Great outcome

published

My policy was easy to setup. I had to lodge a claim because I was sick during my last holidays (USA - Colombia - Canada). Since I started the claim it was reasonable quick to get resolved. I have been using SCTI in the last three holidays.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii) and South America
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Betty, I'm sorry to hear that you were unwell on your last holiday, I hope you're recovering well. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. Thanks for choosing us, Pepper@SCTI


Great cover

published

Although we didnt use it this trip, my son has made a significant claim previously and that was honored with no hassle. We felt confident we would be treated similar if the need arose.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth America
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Steve, thanks for sharing your experience, it's great to hear that your claiming experience was a positive one. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


TerraTerrano

TerraTerranoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Simply awesome!

published

Southern Cross offered a great price, the policy was quick to set up online, and after having had to make a claim previously with no drama, we surely wouldn't go anywhere else!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAfrica
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi TerraTerrano, thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Babs Jacobs

Babs JacobsDarling Downs, QLD

Trip to the Uk in July/August.

published

You were efficient right from the word go - we appreciated all your emails just before we left for the UK and on our return - we had a wonderful holiday and will most certainly use your services again - we are going on a cruise to Tasmania in January and will contact you once we have paid the final amount.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Barbs, thanks for the lovely feedback, I'm happy to hear you had a great time in the UK! We look forward to covering your future adventures, Pepper@SCTI

William Scammell

William ScammellMurray Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Claim for China Holiday

published

We are very pleased with both the setting up and lodging a claim for our holiday to China. Our claim was settled within a fortnight with very specific explanations of payment. This is the third time we have used this company and are more than pleased

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi William, thank you for your feedback. It's good to hear that your claiming experience was a positive one. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Couldn’t rate Southern Cross travel insurance high enough!

published

I found that SCTI was a very good value travel insurance which I have used a few times in the past years. I have had to make a claim from my recent travel and the claim process was very straight forward and the claims processor Marielle was super helpful. I would without question insure SCTI again. 5 star rating!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Ashleigh, it's great to hear that you found the claiming process straight forward! Your feedback is much appreciated and I'll pass it onto Marielle. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Craig

CraigSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great insurance at a fair price

published

Set up online. Good comparison tool. Fair price. Full cover.

Used Southern Cross in the past and had great service, so it was a no-brainer to use them again. I will do so again in future as well

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Craig, thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Helen

HelenSydney Surrounds, NSW

Such a relief to deal with credible insurance company

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

best travel insurance

published

I have used this company 8 times and have only made 1 claim, which was settled immediately.I have complete faith that they will always do the right thing and have been singing their praises to all my friends and family

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia, Europe, North America (inc. Hawaii), Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi NolaB, thanks for the five-star review! It's great to hear that your claiming experience with us was a positive one. We hope to hear from you when your planning your next adventure, Pepper@SCTI

NolaB
NolaB

you will


Page 2 of 133

Questions & Answers

skp115

skp115asked

Hi, do you cover any additional costs where an airline decides for some reason to cancel a flight on a particular day we are to travel just citing operational reasons and I have to scramble and buy another ticket with an alternative airline last minute to make a connecting flight in 2 days time .

No answers

Jenner Carter

Jenner Carterasked

I am astonished...Just phoned you for a travel ins. Quote and you are closed at 4.16pm est.Notwithstanding that you say you are open until 5pm. Does not augur well. Jenner carter

1 answer
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jenner,

Thanks for your comment.

We operate based in New Zealand and as daylight savings began on the 29/09/2019, we have closed our Australian lines at 4:00pm AEST this week.

However, please be assured, we will be operating from 8:30am to 5:00pm AEST next week once daylight savings has started in this time zone.

If you were overseas and needed emergency assistance, we have a team that is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week ready to help.

We are very sorry for any confusion or inconvenience this has caused.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to give us a call on 1800 196 484 or email us at info@scti.com.au

Thanks,
Terina@SCTI


Welliboots

Wellibootsasked

Hi, we've used SCTI for our previous travels and have always found them helpful. Just have one question.
We're thinking of booking a quad bike tour in Bali. Is there automatic cover for this with SCTI? I understand that we can pay extra for motorbikes / mopeds but does this include QUAD Bikes or are they already a standard inclusion?

1 answer
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Welliboots,

Thanks for your question!

We don’t consider a Quad Bike to be a motorbike/moped, we consider it to be a rental vehicle.

It's important to note, you’ll only be covered to ride a Quad Bike whilst on a paved/formed roadway or car park and there’s no cover for this activity if you’re racing, being timed in a race or participating in a competition for a monetary prize.

There’s also no cover for your personal liability whilst riding a Quad Bike as it is a motor vehicle.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to email us at info@scti.com.au or call us on 1800 196 484.

Thanks,
Terina@SCTI


Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
Contact Number 1800 196 484
Email Address info@scti.com.au
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat No
UnderwriterSouthern Cross
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Unlimited
Accidental Death$15,000
Emergency Dental$750
Pregnancy (max weeks) 20 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimited
Loss of Income$6,500
Permanent Disability$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $500 (as part of Travel Document cover)
Delayed Luggage $1,000 per person, $5,000 per journey
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $3,000 (Laptop, Tablet, or Camera)
Luggage & Personal Effects $25,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability $1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorbikes up to 200cc
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseIncluded
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiOptional Extra

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.