??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,747 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.4 (26)
  • Transparency
    1.2 (23)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (25)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (1), 1-2 weeks (2), 2-4 weeks (3), 1-2 months (3) and 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (1) · No (14)
Previous
Next
Vgm

VgmSydney, NSW

Never use them again

published

we found ourselves having to pay for flights back to Australia due to Covid-19. Nothing back at all. Had to get AFCA to negotiate refund on unused Policy portion. The wording is so tight that everything got blamed on the pandemic. I’ve used them for the last 15 years. NEVER AGAIN.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi, I'm sorry you're not happy with cover related to COVID-19. If you have any further questions, please call our team for help on 1800 196 484, or email us at info@scti.com.au. All the best, Deb@SCTI

take1ststep

take1ststepSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible SCTI to deal with, Never again will buy insurance with SCTI

published

Bought Travel insurance before Pandemic was declared, travelled oversease. Had to return back to Oz due to Pandemic bought new tickets, etc.
SCTI refused to pay new expenses due to Pandemic. That's it. Ni one could predict a pandemic would be declared so quickly. Don't want to take any responsibility but they are happy to take your money when you pay the premium. Appealed through their internal processes to no avail.

DON'T ever bother to buy insurance with this company, waste of money and time trying to get my money back.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
climber2205

climber2205

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I knew they would find a way to avoid paying

published

I really don't know why I bother with insurance. the excuse they came up with was the Government enforced a lockdown due to covid. so that is a general exclusion.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very poor policy - waste of money

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi, I'm sorry you're unhappy with the service you received. Please contact us on 1800 196 484, or email us at info@scti.com.au so we can look into this further. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Waste of money

published

Booked flights in May 2019 before anyone knew anything about a pandemic (and bought travel insurance around the same time) only to now be informed they won’t even refund ONE of our flights. What is the point in buying insurance?! I understand this is a difficult time but now is the time you should be supporting customers not creating new documents so that you don’t have to assist them. Will definitely reconsider ever buying travel insurance with southern cross travel again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia, East Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea), Europe and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

No point of getting Southern Cross Travel Insurance

published

Spent $800 on this insurance for 4 months travel. They did not cover anything related to COVID-19 as they stated “We do appreciate that this was an unknown event for you, however, the policy does not cover such governmental restrictions” as QLD we’re closing their borders

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Sir Gyle

Sir GyleSouth Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Once is enough

published

Will never get an insurance from SCTI again. It was my first time to try SCTI but wont be using them again. I initially purchased from them upon seeing good reviews but alas, I was wrong. The airline canceled my flight and there's no point in going as threat of covid19 is increasing. They will not cover the cost or even half of the cost even though I purchased my insurance before the covid19 became a pandemic.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Koda Macca

Koda MaccaSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

scammers / cheats

published

will never use this company again. travell cancelled by government. encourages you to make a claim then denies claim. then wont refund unused policy . excuse , you made a claim.... disgusting way of taking peoples money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Avoid this company at all cost!

published

Do NOT I repeat Do Not use this company for travel insurance...they will happily take your money & find every reason possible not to cover your travel claim. There are many other better travel insurance companies out there.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Old codger

Old codgerKendenup

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Refused to refund

published

Took policy out in early Jan many emails to them requesting refund no reply only a notification that due to pandemic no refunds given absolutely disgusting company do not use this lot

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Old codger, I'm sorry to hear you we're unable to get a refund on your policy. Could you please give us a call on 1800 196 484, so we can investigate this for you. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Old codger
Old codger
petrol95

petrol95Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified customer

Lack of service, policy (PDS) not clear and contradicted by bulk mailout from company

published
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
productreviewiscrap

productreviewiscrapSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Try another company...

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Robbie

RobbieFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

SCTI doesn't cover pandemic

published

I have used SCTI before, but now regret buying travel insurance from SCTI for my upcoming trip to Europe as I find that they don't cover cancellation due to pandemic. I would suggest people considering travel insurance have a good look at the list of travel insurers compared in an article on the Choice website. https://www.choice.com.au
I will not use SCTI again. There are better products on the market.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Poor service

published

Sick of sending emails and not getting a reply for my very simple claim, I’ve tried ringing but after waiting 40 mins I got sick of the wait. Policy was good value and they had good reviews, the the reality is far different

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Karen

KarenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointed

published

We had a ski trip booked to Japan in February. Given that Japan was a high risk region for the Coronavirus, we decided to cancel our holiday. SCTI have denied our claim for reimbursement even though we bought the policy last year. I have used SCTI in the past but will NOT be using them in the future given their response.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor Services

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Julia_129

Julia_129Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrible! On hold for 1.5hrs!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Strider

StriderMid North Coast, NSW

Read the fine print about "cancelling" your trip or "pandemics". This policy doesn't cover half of the better policies.

published

Though the quote page allows for cancellation of a trip prior to departure, when I went to cancel I am not able to because of the exclusions built into this allowance. Its not a real cancellation allowance that a normal person would expect, be careful.

Also you are not covered for pandemics or quarantines even if you had the insurance before these events occured, I mean what is the point of travel insurance if not for those big 2 which are out of the travellers control?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Ross

RossTasmania

Very disappointing

published

First time I have used this firm. Took out cover over 6 months ago and leave in 4 weeks. Should this corona virus be declared as pandemic, then I am not covered for any type of disruption to travel. Should I want to cancel so as to avoid this, I am not covered, because that would be my choice. So left high and dry it seems.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Matt

MattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst Ever Experience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Page 1 of 7
See all Southern Cross Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

ringing for 3days holding for hours need some reassurance leaving on 11-03-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have a policy with you would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland ring 02 49283156

Bent O.
Bent O.

I am having a similar problem with a different company (I want to apply for insurance but their site is crashing). Obviously they are being hit by people panicking.
As you can already see they don’t now reply in this Review site but I did notice they have website updates. Suggest you check for alternate contact.

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

barry sutherland

Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
UnderwriterSouthern Cross
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Unlimited
Accidental Death$15,000
Emergency Dental$750
Pregnancy (max weeks) 20 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimited
Loss of Income$6,500
Permanent Disability$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $500 (as part of Travel Document cover)
Delayed Luggage $1,000 per person, $5,000 per journey
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $3,000 (Laptop, Tablet, or Camera)
Luggage & Personal Effects $25,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability A$1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorbikes up to 200cc
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseIncluded
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiOptional Extra
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.