??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,747 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.9 (208)
  • Transparency
    4.9 (164)
  • Customer Service
    5.0 (198)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (14), 1-2 weeks (55), 2-4 weeks (35) and 1-2 months (11)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (111) · No (0)
Previous
Next
Tina K.

Tina K.Perth, WA

Great service in time of need

published

We travelled a lot over the years and for the last few years have used SCTI. In March 2020 we had to cancel a trip to the US for non-COVID related reasons. The process to have our airfares refunded was easy and quick. All up it was a painless experience, done online and by email instead of sitting on a phone for hours. For an insurance company, I was hugely impressed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Carmel

CarmelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

If only all companies were like this one...

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Great customer care and prompt clear communication

published

I have used SCI on 2 occasions. The big test of any insurer is when you make a claim and fortunately I have not had to do so with either policy but when I had to cancel my policy due to Covid restrictions, the communication was friendly, professional and they refunded my premium promptly and without issue. Their rates are competitive, their online platforms are easy to use and their communications have always been prompt. I will be using them for my next trip without question.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Adrian, we appreciate your review and look forward to covering your next trip. Best wishes, Katie@SCTI

Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Millsy

MillsyRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Not your average insurance company!!

published

Have been a customer for many years, our claim was kept open until all our refunds came back from tour, air and cruise companies.
We were emailed monthly, to see how we were going with our refunds, our last refund was 0n 19/7/20, after emailing SCTI today, 21/7/20 we received our balance or shortfall this afternoon, same day !! For me, this is extraordinary for any insurance company, well done SCTI.
PS. thank you Sarah from claims !!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Millsy, thank you so much for your feedback. We're really happy that we were able to make your claiming experience such a good one. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Easy application and good value

published

Have insured with SCTI over several years now. Applying remains simple and the cover is still great value. I have only ever needed to claim once but the cover is well worth the peace of mind.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope and New Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi MJM, we appreciate your review and hope we can help again soon. Best wishes Deb@SCTI

Leen

LeenSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

Stand-up company. full premium refunded as travel cancelled due to covid

published

Appreciate SCTI to refund our premium paid for as our trip was cancelled. It was refunded quickly as well as waiving the usual $35 admin fee. Appreciate companies that try to assist customers during bad times.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Leen, We're pleased you're happy with your premium refund and appreciate your review. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

GFP

GFPPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Don't travel without it.

published

Easy to set up. Easy to claim online when we supplied all the details required. Easy to clarify any questions we had over the phone. We rented a car for two months in New Zealand and unfortunately scraped one wheel against the curb. The rental company charged us and we made a claim on our travel insurance which was dealt with very efficiently to our satisfaction.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi GFP, thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Dazza

DazzaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Jemma is a valuable GEM!!!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Daria, thanks so much for your review. I will pass your lovely comments on to Jemma. We're pleased we were able to help. All the best, Deb@SCTI

JulesH

JulesHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Quick easy claim process

published

Used Southern Cross travel insurance for our Bali trip. My daughter required medical assistance whilst we were away. Came home, claimed online which was a very easy process. Received an email today saying the claim was approved and all medical expenses were refunded. It appears they chose to waive the $100 excess too. Thank you, I will definitely use Southern across for all future travel insurance (when the world goes back to normal!)

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jules. Thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Travel Insurance

published

Would not use any other insurance company. Luckily did not need to claim on this trip. Unfortunately have claimed in the past and they were excellent to deal with; everytime we spoke with SCTI they were prepared : had liaised with medical teams overseas and had a plan of action in place. Communication was excellent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jane, thanks for your review. We're pleased you had such a good experience. Best wishes Deb@SCTI

Briana

BrianaSouthern and Hills, SA

Terrific service

published

First time we have used this inurance provider and found them excellent to deal with. Prompt replies to our queries. Would recommend them to anyone. Above our expectations. Great service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Briana, thanks so much for your review. We're pleased you had such a good experience. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Wouldn't go with anyone else

published

Ive been using scti for all my previous travels and have never needed to make a claim, until my most recent trip to Vietnam! With the required information provided (receipts and police reports) I was able to have my claim processed within a few weeks and had my funds received within a months time

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Ismail, thanks for the review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes Deb@SCTI

Saints

SaintsRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Wonderful Company

published

I highly recommend SCTI. I disembarked early from a cruise ship because of the coronavirus fears and changing ports, put in a claim 3 weeks ago, and this morning was advised that they have covered all my costs. Sarah, the Claims Assessor, was excellent. Will only use SCTI for future travel insurance. Thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Saints, thank you for your review. We're pleased you got home safely. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

chez

chezSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Highly recommended

published

I highly recommend this company, prompt claims process, good value for money, even with existing medical conditions,great choice of coverage especially for cruisingextra cost very reasonable for two extra medical conditions.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Chez, thanks for your review. We're pleased you had such a good experience. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Gladys Ling

Gladys LingIllawarra, NSW

No one should leave Australia without travel insurance.

published

my policy was accepted on line, and was great value for money. I paid for twelve months not expecting to claim as I'm a reasonably healthy person, but with the current virus I couldn't travel overseas as planned in October. My claim has been viewed and settled within a few weeks. I'm so pleased.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Gladys, Thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry

BarryVictoria

  • 2 reviews

This is why you take out travel insurance

published

Due to unforeseen circumstances it was necessary for us to lodge a claim. Because we took out our policy the moment we booked our trip our policy covered us fully.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Barry, thanks for your review. We're pleased we were able to help. Best wishes, Deb@SCTI

Christine

ChristineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic service and amazing helpful people

published

Had to cancel on 27th February at start of Coronavirus outbreak
Only took three weeks to resolve which
regarding the timing just fantastic Had one call for confirmation purposes
Have used before and will again when travel resumes and easy to set up

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christine, Thanks for the lovely feedback, it's great to hear that we were able to help you out. I hope you'll be able to take your trip soon! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Cancellation of policy

published

Had to cancel my policy with them as we were no longer travelling overseas due to the corona virus. They cancelled the policy with no dramas and even waived the cancellation fee

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Damon, thanks for the five star review! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Christian

Christian

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service and customer support

published

I was a bit scared as never heard about SCTI before. But thanks to the people for the reviews helping me to decide. I am glad that we choose SCTI. Did lodged claim, which was approved within 1-2 weeks. Great customer service. Well recommended.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
SCTISouthern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christian, thanks for the lovely review! We appreciate your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Trent

TrentPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Perfect cover, for a perfect trip.

published

Set my excess amount and was very happy with cost for the 6 days.

I have used SCTI before and have had to make a claim due to a lost phone and they resolved this very quickly for me.

I have used them for around 7 years (maybe 6) and will continue to use them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Page 1 of 117
See all Southern Cross Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

ringing for 3days holding for hours need some reassurance leaving on 11-03-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have a policy with you would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland ring 02 49283156

Bent O.
Bent O.

I am having a similar problem with a different company (I want to apply for insurance but their site is crashing). Obviously they are being hit by people panicking.
As you can already see they don’t now reply in this Review site but I did notice they have website updates. Suggest you check for alternate contact.

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

barry sutherland

Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
UnderwriterSouthern Cross
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Unlimited
Accidental Death$15,000
Emergency Dental$750
Pregnancy (max weeks) 20 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimited
Loss of Income$6,500
Permanent Disability$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $500 (as part of Travel Document cover)
Delayed Luggage $1,000 per person, $5,000 per journey
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $3,000 (Laptop, Tablet, or Camera)
Luggage & Personal Effects $25,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability A$1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorbikes up to 200cc
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseIncluded
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiOptional Extra
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.