??!
1 photo
Southern Phone ADSL

Southern Phone ADSL

1.5 from 275 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.1

52 reviews
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (47)
  • Transparency
    1.3 (46)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (49)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes · No (52)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

Comedy of Errors

published

Dealing with Southern Phone was the absolute worst I have ever experienced. Like @mckgnao who posted on 21/11/2020, I am still being billed for an ADSL service that was canceled in August 2020. They even dredged up ridiculously bogus charges that I refused to pay - the last time that occurred I demanded that the CEO send an apology to me but, of course, that was never going to happen. It's such a shame because the previous owners of the company (MyNetFone) were excellent in all respects. All I can say is that I am glad that I never agreed to allow direct debit when Southern Phone took over, otherwise I would be having to spend countless more hours waiting on hold and sending email messages to get my money back.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Pete
Pete

ACC116201

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Hobbit25

Hobbit25South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

No Customer Service

published

Dreadful Customer Service. It took weeks to get a reply. Finally, the excuse was she was on long service leave, so I assume only one person in the office. Then they followed that up with a feedback form "Your feedback is very important to us", which I rated as bad, to which they replied with another feedback form. And they keep doing this, at the moment I'm up to form number 10.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
2 comments
Hobbit25
Hobbit25

I got to 16 email forms before they stopped

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

I am so sorry to hear that you have had this continual loop of contact. I can definitely understand how frustrating this must have been for you. Can you please respond with your account number so I can review this contact further for you. *Darian

Terrible service

published

Absolutely terrible service. I cancelled my account mid July and have been charged 3 times since then, even after being told that there was an accidental charge and that I would be credited for this. Instead of the credit, I have been charged again, along with a "late fee". I have emailed multiple times with no response, and have been on hold for over an hour with them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2017
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave B.

Dave B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don’t go near Southern Phone!!

published

Had a lot of problems with speed/disconnections so moved to another provider. Have been charged for the last three months since leaving despite calling them 4 times about it. They don’t answer emails and can’t help over the phone. Going to have to dispute the charges on my credit card and go via the ombudsman to get my money back - a lot of trouble that they could have prevented!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Dave B.
Dave B.

Hi Darian, ACC120042

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Tom G

Tom GGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst Telco ever!

published

Since my ISP sold their business to Southern Phone, it's been nothing but pain. Technical support is non existent, no one answers emails or online form, take hours to get hold of them on the phone, just to learn later that billing issues repeat. Called 3 times to disconnect, and they continued to charge me, after customer service ensuring me that it was not going to happen again...
If you choose them for some weird reason, be warned - they are hard to get rid of. You'd spend hours of frustration. It's still not over for me...

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
4 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Tom G
Tom G
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
lynn

lynnSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Avoid at all cost

published

I don't usually leave reviews, but this experience has been so bad I just need to warn other people. Avoid at all costs. After the buy-over from MyNetFone the internet became gradually worse. Since a year now I have constant dropouts all day every day, dropping out and reconnecting. At night the internet is so slow it becomes useless. I have tried many times to get in touch with them to fix it. Nothing has been done. Now I have been trying to cancel for the last 3 months but they're not even answering emails. Avoid avoid avoid!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
12 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
lynn
lynn

Yes tried several times. As mentioned have been in touch many times but nothing has been done for a final fix. I’m cancelling. Only when I leave a negative review you decided you want to help

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
QKi

QKiNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

WORST COMPANY

published

bad systems in place, bad customer service, slow internet, cant say anything good about this company. Their system disconnected our adsl because IT thought we didnt pay our monthly bills but we did. So had to waste hours to call customer service and then they said they have reconnected but somehow the internet wont work. so we decided to cancel it altogether. i still received the next bill even after disconnection and month later i still havent received a refund for the unused days. WHAT A JOKE!!!!!!!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
12 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
QKi
QKi
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
FEED UP

FEED UPMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Worst company to deal with

published

Bad service very hard to get problems resolved have had to go through the TIO multiple times & still bad & getting worse have screen shots of speeds paying for ADSL2 + ¬ getting what I pay for am changing providers & would not recommend to my worse enemy

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateFebruary 2013
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
FEED UP
FEED UP
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Nicole

NicoleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The WORST. Off and on connection for months. I’ll be lucky if it works for a whole 10 mins at a time

published

My internet connection and satisfaction of it had went downhill ever since MyNetfone was bought over by Southern Phone. I’ve been having on and off connections for months. Not one time I’ve ever gotten the fastest and smoothest connection. It’s frustrating even more so as we have to be at home at all times because of the pandemic. A house with 4 people living in it fighting for a decent internet connection. After this month, I’m out! Customer service was so far average, but doesn’t change the connection rate. Honestly, I’m missing the service of the previous company (also not the best but better) before unwillingly pushed into this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Save yourself the frustration

published

I was forced to migrate to this company and whilst the people answering the calls are pleasant, It takes me on average an hour to speak to anyone. The actual internet data is sooooo sloooooww. i have been sent 2 different modems and "had the firmware updated" over the phone only to then lose all connection and have to call back and be out on hold for another hour. Have wasted so much time and become so frustrated and now totally over this incompetent service currently waiting to switch companies

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Marcus,
I am really sorry to hear that you have been experiencing these issues with your service. Are you able to respond to my private message with your account details so I may assist you further?

Almost a month of no internet and over charged when terminating

published

My service was migrated to this terrible company without any choice. I had almost a month of no internet and was not refunded for the lack of internet, despite my house hold not being able to use the internet and needing to hotspot off our mobiles. I then ended the service, but it was a few days after the monthly payment for the next month was debited. They did not refund for the additional days that they were not providing service. Do not go with this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Sarina,
I am really sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience with us recently. Are you able to respond to my private message with your account details so I may assist?

Rob

RobHunter Region, NSW

Shoddy

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Rob,
Thank you for your response. Can you please respond to the private message I have sent you with your account details so I may look into this further? *Shelby

Kalin Eade

Kalin EadeSydney, NSW

Worst experience of my life

published

I don’t think I’ve ever had to deal with a company like this before. I’ve been trying to get my internet to work properly since 2019, it’s not even funny. They just hung up on me after waiting 40 minutes to speak to someone (not the first time). That’s just disrespectful. I’m trying again, but this time is to cancel the service for good. Lucky I have time today.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Wish I could give 0 stars for 0 service

published

It's going to be hard not to be aggressive in this review. Southern Phone have charged be several hundreds of dollars for a service that has not worked ONCE for 10 MONTHS. No joke at all. I'm trying to disconnect form their service but they hang up on me. The worst company I have ever dealt with in my entire life. Do not get connected with them. Made my life absolute hell, and even now that I've moved over to Telstra (who are AMAZING), I still can't disconnect from them. I'm disgusted and appalled. Gotten the TIO involved months and months ago and still nothing. Disgraceful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Worst experience/service ever

published

After MANY back and forths with this company I am STILL without internet service and no answers. They keep telling me it's been fixed for me to find that it still isn't. I have asked multiple times to be let go from my contract because I am not getting internet service and they just ignore me and tell me that my internet has been fixed when it hasn't. Beyond frustrating.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The worst customer service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Southern phone, leaving us high and dry over Xmas. Nearly 3 weeks of no internet. Bad customer service.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
oz.sutton

oz.suttonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

5 months since "onboarding" from Mtnetfone - NO usage info or ANYTHING useful on my account portal

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Very poor customer service

published

It has been a very long time since I have seen such poor customer service. Conflicting information provided from each customer service representative. Long wait times. Rude when on phone. Would not recommend.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate SpeedsNo
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Herbie

Herbiecomservmaint@gmail.com

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Woeful service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Page 1 of 3
See all Southern Phone Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Southern Phone ADSL but you can read 129 questions about Southern Phone Broadband.

Get an answer from our members and Southern Phone representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband
CategoryInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price $80.00
Service TypeADSL
Packages AvailableBundle and Standalone
ContractMonthly
Data AllowanceUnlimited
Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband

Visit official website

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(584)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(433)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,532)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,297)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(59)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.6
(67)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(397)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.