??!
1 photo
Southern Phone ADSL

Southern Phone ADSL

1.5 from 276 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.2

30 reviews
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (30)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (24)
  • Customer Service
    2.2 (30)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (30) · No
Previous
Next
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Awful Service!!

published

They have been double charging me for months, took $700 out of my account in 1 hit, and are unreachable to fix this issue via email. I've called and been promised a fix, to date this has been going on for 3 months!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2015
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Christian
Christian

ACC120073

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Time waiting

published

Only problem was waiting on phone for an answer I was number37 so I hung up next day I was number 15 so I stayed and it took 15minutes to get through

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
JAN P.

JAN P.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good response in answering questions

published

I have 2 contracts with you and I love the quality of service for the cost is services. I am also thinking of a mobile wifi service. Thanks for the great work.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidSydney, NSW

ADSL2 from mynetfone

published

They were unable to resolve voip installation issue following port from mynetfone. After escalation to ombudsman complaints office was unable to resolve matter. Some 12 months after leaving I got an email closing my cases. Also wear unable to contact by telephone and account in limbo between mynetfone and southern phone after compulsory transfer of plan.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateDecember 2017
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Jefferson D.

Jefferson D.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good Service

published

I automatically transferred to Southern Phone from AusBBS. I honestly have no complaints. I was on ADSL+ plan and speeds were expected as advertised. Paying bills over the phone was a breeze, & the customer service is good. The wait times could be better. I would suggest for a better customer experience to improve the call wait times, otherwise, great work.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateNovember 2018
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Woeful customer service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
bushmedicinewoman

bushmedicinewomanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

They're OK.

published

Like I said they're OK. Internet gets a bottled up n slow sometimes on the weekend. Perhaps they need more bandwidth. I was migrated to them by Mynetfone who I had been with for a decade or so. Southern Phone were/are more expensive :-(
Their Accounts Dept needs whipping into place - and I suspect they are using non compliant practices as they have their 'fingers on the boot button' without justification. I think their accounts system is in a mess as they have accidentally booted me off without warnings about 3 times in the last year due to their accounts database not updating automatically.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi there,
Thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback. Are you able to respond to my private message with your account details so we may discuss this further?*Shelby

Nauro64

Nauro64Central West, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Technical and Customer Support virtually Non Existent

published

With VOIP and ADSL services I have found when there is a fault it is almost impossible to contact them. When you call you will be placed on a lengthy hold unless you select the newConnections option, in which case the call is answered within seconds! They have a chat function on their website but clicking on it simply brings up a list of hyperlinks to issues followed by a link to email them!! Phone and internet out for days now. Several emails and calls and either unable to contact or no response!!! I cannot wait until my contract is over when I will be going somewhere with decent customer support.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2015
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Clearing dissatisfaction with Southern accounts.

published

Never had a problem with your service, but your accounting has been terrrrrrible. Better,deeper, wider staff-training seems necessary. Get them up to match Darians level. Without his attention I would have departed Southern. Jim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsYes
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louie

LouieLaunceston, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Connectivity/speed is reasonable - price is not super competitive...!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2016
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Louie
Louie

Thanks Ruby - have sent PM now.

Valentin H.

Valentin H.Sydney, NSW

Please stay away from Southern Phone - 100% irresponsive - 100% frustrating - Need to be reported

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
2 comments
Valentin H.
Valentin H.
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Very disappointing

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Wedge

WedgeALEXANDRA, VIC

  • 3 reviews

You can't contact them

published

I was a customer of My Net Fone. Apparently SP took over the telephony side of MNF. I did not know until problems started to arise, with my telephony and internet.
To try & make contact with them is a joke; you are kept in a Q for 30 minutes, if you hang on. They need more CSO to answer phones. I have been without a landline for 3 days (that's how long it took to make contact with them). I'll give them credit that when you do make contact it is with an Australian in Australia, not someone in Madras, Bangladesh or the Philippines. They did sort out the problem once I was able to speak to someone!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Awful.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Chapstick

Chapstick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If you’re thinking about joining - just stop right there!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
masynjadecampbll

masynjadecampbllNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Great Service

published

Had a small problem which was my own fault,with Payment,but was fixed to my satisfaction,without any fuss.When we phoned up the Company the young lass we talked to was great very helpfull.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2013
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi,
Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to know that our customers are loving our services. Please do not hesitate to send us a private message if you have any questions about your account. *Darian

Sallie B.

Sallie B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

WORST! Terrible customer service

published

Southern Phone took over MyNetFone - I received no correspondence about the changeover whatsoever - no letter, no email, no nothing. Then I received a text message from Southern Phone threatening to cut off my internet because I hadn't paid an invoice. I was on direct debit with MyNetFone. Then when I tried logging into my new account my login/account details were incorrect. I have since spent hours on hold to their team trying to sort this out. The only way I received a response was by publicly complaining on Facebook. Avoid at all costs.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Sue1604

Sue1604Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Service is lacking

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Sue,
I am so sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your service and while trying to contact us. I have sent you a private message requesting your account details so I can help you further. *Darian

MalcolmB

MalcolmBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Great AU call centre but rubbish wait times

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Ok speed. No customer service!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Page 1 of 2
See all Southern Phone Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Southern Phone ADSL but you can read 129 questions about Southern Phone Broadband.

Get an answer from our members and Southern Phone representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband
CategoryInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price $80.00
Service TypeADSL
Packages AvailableBundle and Standalone
ContractMonthly
Data AllowanceUnlimited
Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband

Visit official website

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(586)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(437)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,533)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,306)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(59)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.6
(67)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(399)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(61)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.