??!
6 photos
Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

4.7 from 201 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Excellent suction

  • Can help boost milk supply

  • Comfortable breast shields

Cons

  • Device is rather bulky

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (8)
  • Portability
    2.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (8)
  • Suction
    3.1 (8)
  • Comfort
    3.3 (8)
Previous
Next
EY_adl

EY_adlMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Portable and easy to use!

published

Got Spectra S1 breast pump second hand and It worked beautifully for my first baby. Portability was the key because I needed to pump at work and sometimes on the go in the car. The machine is bulky but I didn’t mind as it worked well, though I did find the suction was more powerful when I used it only as a single pump rather than a double pump. Different settings of speed and suction as well as a “let down” mode was super handy as well. Really great product!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding MethodsBreastfeeding
See all answers
Kiri

KiriSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Absolutely disgusting service and horrible product

published

Purchased in April 2020 at birth partner for $372.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
Steven K.

Steven K.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Horrible customer service: blocked me

published

Terrible company: avoid this company at all costs. pump became very weak and The battery life decreased under the guaranteed battery life. We were well within our consumer rights to get a warranty claim however this company ignored my messages and then blocked me. I have never dealt with a company like this my entire life. How desperate can they be for more. I will be taking my claim to NCAT. Disgusting people and I will be ensuring the word spreads. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Victoria K.

Victoria K.Illawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Horrible customer service!! Constant same issue with their pumps!

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding MethodsBaby Formula
See all answers

Worst customer service

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Karla
Karla

I also published reviews on their website and they do not publish them.

Sofia C.

Sofia C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful pump

published

Love this pump. Easy to clean, effective i.e can pump $150 ml in 15-18 mins. My breast no longer hurt and am happy to pump three times per day. Previous pumps were taking over sn hour to get the same amount of milk and my breasts hurt and had more moving parts to clean. This machine is also super quiet. Worth the price tag. Only complaint is not being able to choose flang size upon purchase of unit, they all come with a standard 24mm flange and I need 32mm. So when I bought the pump online I also ordered a 32mm set-set means one flange, so need to order another one at $29.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding MethodsBaby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Jason

JasonSydney

  • 2 reviews

Highly impractical: Must air dry parts. Impossible when pumping every 2-3hrs! And $672+ in replacement parts every year!

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding MethodsBaby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Emma S

Emma SSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I don’t understand what all the fuss is about...

published

Ordered this after reading all the great reviews. Item arrived faulty! The fault didn’t affect the function of the pump (as I was told by spectra customer service) and I was encouraged to use it. I tried to use it for a little while, but the suction was horrible. My Medela swing worked so much better. Contacted customer service and they organised a refund. Customer service was great! For the price, I was expecting a much better quality pump and annoyed they sent out a faulty one. Only great thing was the built in light!

Purchased in November 2018 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding MethodsBaby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Renemk

RenemkSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

A great pump

published

Pros: Easy to use, looks nice, a lot of different functions, portable.
Cons: Expensive, quite weighty.
I bought this pump before bub arrived after reading everyones reviews online. It is seriously a wonderful pump, double pump is great, however I haven't used it too often as have exclusively BF with no bottles... for some reason I can't let-down milk without the baby feeding. I wish I had waited to buy a pump for this exact reason, however if you are 100% certain you will be expressing, then this is definitely a great pump and I will keep it for the next pregnancy in case I need a pump. I have recommended to others.

Purchased in April 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
darkfaery7

darkfaery7Perth, WA

  • 45 reviews
  • 26 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great pump. Probably the best on the market but not without flaws.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Spectra Baby for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage FrequencyLong-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding MethodsBreastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
MCMC

MCMCSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works really well! Battery last long & easy to clean!

published

This is the only breast pump that I have used so far. It works well, parts are not overly complicated, therefore easy to clean. The flange that it comes with is a standard 24cm, it didn't fit me, hence I have to purchase a 20cm flange separately. It would be great if there is an option to choose which flange when you purchase the machine.

Machine is a bit heavy though which makes this not easy to travel with. If you are using it predominantly at home, this is a good machine. If you are thinking of getting back to work or use it while travelling, better explore a more portable machine.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Rowie

RowieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Pump broken after 8 weeks

published

I purchased the Spectra pump 8 weeks ago and have used it around 10 times to build up a supply to go back to work.
Today I noticed the power was really weak and not charging properly. When I re-inserted the power plug it sparked!
The machine when plugged in is now making a loud ticking sound.
I really thought Spectra was supposed to be top quality.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Lani

Lani

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product but can be better

published
5 comments
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Lani
Lani
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
  • Verified purchase

Affordable hospital grade breast bump

published

Very pleased with my purchase! I used another brand which took me 40 mins each time to express at work. With all the positive reviews I purchased the S1 and I wish I could had it sooner! It is such a powerful yet quiet breast bump. I managed to get more milk in 20 mins. I like the let down mode as it imitates the way baby latches on. Overall I'm very happy with the S1 and I would recommend to any new mom who's returning to work. The only cons is that my nipples can be easily pulled into the neck of the flanges, maybe I could choose a wider flange.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Jon Pratt

Jon PrattGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

Good Product

published
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Juniper_Sprinkles

Juniper_SprinklesBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good. But far from perfect.

published
2 comments

I forgot to mention, one of the other aspects which is a little annoying is that the components of the tubing and outlets come loose quite frequently, and when they do it splashes milk everywhere or forces you to have to put together again.

Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Dominique

DominiqueCentral Coast

Pretty satisfied with this product - would recommend

published
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Great pump - fast and gentle!

published

After using two other pumps through three pregnancies I was disappointed with their performance so I bought the S1 based on great anecdotal feedback. In terms of performance it has definitely lived up to expectations. Superior to others I have used.
The fittings are inferior than some other bands and feel quite cheap. Would be great if other brand valves could be used with the S1. It is easy to lose some of that precious milk due to the design of the breast shield, duck valve etc. Not easy to clean. Very gentle though and you have more control over the strength of the pump.

Liz

LizSydney

A great product

published

I've used the S1 for 4 months now and it has been great. I have often pumped in the car on long trips to in-laws and it has helped my production as I don't have much. I've just had to get new shields as the valve keeps falling off (after 3 times a day use) and the supplied bottles are pretty useless but that isn't too much of an issue for me. I can highly recommend this product for the quiet operation, varying controls and rechargability.
Rechargeable, quiet
Bottles

See all Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric reviews

Questions & Answers

K.lummie

K.lummieasked

Help my spectra pump has turned on but now none of the buttons will work to switch between modes, increase suction or even turn it off.

1 answer
Tommy J.
Tommy J.

Just had the same problem! Did you find any resolution?

Sam

Samasked

I was pumping and all of a sudden the Spectra turns off! I tried to turn it back on and the screen turns in but there’s no suction or pumping sounds from the pump. After a few seconds, it shuts off.

The battery is fully charged! Can someone help?!

5 answers
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Sam, oh no!

Could you please send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can do some troubleshooting with you to see what is happening?

I will keep an eye out for your message and go from there.

The Spectra team

Sarah L.
Sarah L.

This is the exact problem I just started having, did you get any answers?

Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hey Sarah, so sorry to hear you're having this issue too :-( If you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we can help you :-)
Spectra Team

Jenn F

Jenn Fasked

Hi it’s my first time to charge my spectra s1 and it takes forever to charge. It’s been drained and currenty charging 1-2 bats for 24 hours! please help?

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Jen, oh no! It sounds like your adaptor is not assembled together correctly! :(

This is an easy for for you, but if you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we will help you with this. :)

The Spectra team

Get an answer from our members and Spectra representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Spectra S1+ Hospital Grade Double Electric Breast Pump has an inbuilt rechargeable battery, making it more portable and able to be used anywhere, anytime.
  • It has a motor life of 1,500 hours.
  • It comes with a double kit for double pumping, letting you save time by expressing milk from both breasts simultaneously.
  • The breast pump has powerful and adjustable suction ranging between 0-320mmHg, letting you easily choose the setting which is most comfortable for you and produces the desired amount of milk.
  • It’s a closed system device, making for a hygienic pumping experience.
  • A night light and a timer are both features on this Spectra breast pump, making it easy for you to pump in low-light settings and keep track of how long you’ve been expressing.
  • It has a cycle length of 38-54rpm and weighs 2kg.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that this Spectra breast pump had excellent suction, and they also enjoyed how customisable the cycle and suction preferences were.
  • According to many reviewers, this breast pump helped boost their milk supply.
  • They also said that the breast shields as well as the overall expressing experience were comfortable.

Pain point:

  • One pain point noted by reviewers was that this breast pump was quite bulky and thus not very portable. However, this is to be expected of hospital-grade breast pumps.
CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)379

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.