3 photos
Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric

MPN: SPS200
4.7 from 532 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Breast Pumps in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Spectra

Pros

  • Efficient at expressing milk

  • Makes minimal noise

  • Has a night light

Cons

  • Not very portable

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (48)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (48)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (47)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (48)
  • Portability
    4.1 (42)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (47)
  • Suction
    4.9 (45)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (45)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
kar
karVictoria
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very efficient pump!

published

I have been using it daily for around 6 to 8 times per day and can't fault it. I have been hearing great reviews so bought it for myself. Not the cheapest but it is great value for my buck. Been using it for nearly 5 months now and haven't encountered any issues yet. Although would love to have tried the s1 for portability, but still very happy with my purchase.

Purchased in March 2021 for $299.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sam S.
Sam S.Central West, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Best pump around

published

This pump was amazing. I cut holes in a sports bra so I could pump hands free. Its quite, easy to use and made a massive difference to my supply. The battery life is pretty good but if you're pumping 3 hourly, like I was, it's best to keep it charging all the time. I cannot recommend it enough!!

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Isabel
IsabelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Absolutely Wonderful Breast Pump

published

I hired Medela hospital grade breast pump and used until baby is 4 months old. Then I start using Spectra. Comparing the two, Spectra is far more excellent in expressing milk in my case. I can almost empty my breast in each pumping within 30mins. I highly recommend Spectra to all new mum. It is more effective and worth investing in.

Purchased in February 2021 at Spectra Baby for $299.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Carla
CarlaSydney, NSW

Would definitely recommend!

published

This pump is perfect. I am very comfortable using it. I love the vacuum and let down mode. I use it every third hourly. Spectra s2 is also very high in quality. The noise is very minimal. I love the lamp too. I don't have to open the lights anymore when I pump at midnight. I am also very satisfied with the amount of milk I get with every pump. This is also hospital grade so it is more powerful and effective than many personal-use pumps. This added strength and better mimics my bub's natural stimulation. I love this pump and would definitely recommend it to mum's out there. A great value for money.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020 at Birth Partner for $299.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Huaqian Wu
Huaqian WuSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

Comfortable

published

I've tried two other breast pumps, including Medela Freestyle. However, Spectra is more comfortable and quieter. Although it's bit bulky and heavy, I don't move it around so it's fine.

Purchased in September 2019 at Spectra Baby for $269.10.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
LaurenM
LaurenMSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

An absolute necessity!

published

I had previous used the Medela and rated that brand highly. The Spectra has completely blown me away. My milk supplied has increased massively and made my journey of feeding twins a breeze. The initial cost may make you question the purchase but if you can afford it, I really recommend you buy it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Spectra Baby for $300.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Leah
LeahCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Highly recommended, excellent investment!

published

I had struggle increasing my milk supply since it is my first baby. This pump is really a big help. I am very happy with the amount of milk I am expressing and baby is always satisfied so I’d say my milk production increased. It’s also easy to clean. With the portability, I still have to experience it when I get back to work. Otherwise, very satisfied and very happy I purchased one. Getting it while on sale was a bonus!

Purchased in May 2020 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
The baby product awards for 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a years worth of opinions from over 6,500 Aussie mums and dads to published our Awards for baby products in 2020. See the top-rated prams, car seats, carriers, and breast pumps to spoil yourself and your baby with this summer!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.29 Oct 2019
the-baby-product-awards-for-2020
Next
Tanah
TanahFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great Investment!

published

What a fantastic pump to use. It works so well for me swell, its super comfortable and I like the changeable settings, the fact it has a light is amazing as well. Now I have gone back to work I use it 3-4 times a day and its so handy, relatively quite swell. I have previously had another brand of pump, which was good too, but I now get double the milk in half the time, quite fantastic!!!!

Purchased in April 2020 at Spectra Baby for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Kate M
Kate MCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Excellent investment!

published

I use this pump religiously whether it's at home or away on holiday. I've had it for 3.5 years now and it's still going strong, so it is definitely an excellent investment and worth every penny. Currently with my second Bub I have been expressing 2-3 times a day and have a good freezer stash, easily expressing upto 160ml per boob (sometimes over 200ml on the overacheiving boob). Very quiet and comfortable to use either with single or double option. Highly recommend if you're looking at a good quality and long lasting pump.

Purchased in November 2016 at Spectra Baby for $254.15.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nickeysixx
NickeysixxCentral, SA
  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic pump

published

I've used this pump with my first and now with my newborn. I love it, it's extremely efficient at expressing milk and I used it multiple times a day. I pump anywhere from 50-100mls per side twice per day as well as breastfeeding.
It's super easy to clean and spectras have great resale value and it's safe to resell as it's a hospital grade pump. I highly recommend this pump, especially when the site has the click frenzy special.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cathryn
CathrynCentral West, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent loved it thank you spectra

published

I had trouble B feeding and brought this pump after I left the hospital, I was so happy to use another hospital grade pump as some others did not produce the same amount of milk

Purchased in November 2015 for $150.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Marilin S.
Marilin S.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Absolutely love it!

published

This is so easy to use and I’m able to get 150 ml with 15 min every time. It is so gentle and doesn’t make lout noise like some of the other pumps.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel
MelPerth, WA
  • 13 reviews

Quality Pump

published

This one came highly recommended. When you think of the amount of time you will spend pumping you may as well pay a bit extra to get a great quality pump like the Spectra S2. There's different vacuum suction levels that you can adjust for comfort. Just with 15 minutes pumping both sides I got about 50ml of milk. I think I will need to order a size up for one breast as it's a little small, so I can probably get around 70 - 80ml for 15 minutes of pumping with the right cup size. It's very quiet. Will likely use once a day so I can get more sleep at night and husband can feed with the bottle.

Purchased in May 2020 at Spectra Baby for $299.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Shell
ShellPerth, WA
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Perfect

published

I used this pump everyday and the suction was amazing, I got double the amount of milk compared to my previous pump. Its definately worth the money and it didnt hurt which was a bonus!

Purchased in May 2019 at Spectra Baby for $239.20.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Louise
LouiseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great breast pump! Definitely worth the $

published

Great breast pump, that I use daily, that’s easy to use and looks great. Easy to understand settings, is very quiet and the light is an added bonus-enough to see what I’m doing but dim enough to not disturb anyone when using at night. I found it very comfortable to use and got more milk expressed using this than another brand. Have recommended to many friends.

Purchased in October 2019 at Spectra Baby for $279.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Venessa M.
Venessa M.asked

Dear spectra. I have a spectra- with blue colour and have noticed it is becoming increasingly loud when I pump, compared to when I first started. Is there something i need to do to quiet the pumping process. It is especially loud during the mimicking of suckling.

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Venessa, pump sound alone is not an indicator of fault, but there are things that can influence this for sure. :)

If the pump has been knocked or dropped at all, that will influence it. It is also important to change the shield kit parts regularly as recommended, as this will affect sound too.

Ensure your shield kit is set up properly, and using a softer surface to set the pump on will also help. :)

Hope that helps. :)

Spectra team

Ellie M.
Ellie M.asked

Best for 200$ or less

No answers
Nad R.
Nad R.asked

My pump powers on and immediately powers off, any ideas?

No answers
See all Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric questions

Get an answer from our members and Spectra representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Spectra S2 Hospital Grade Double Electric Breast Pump has 320mmHg of suction, as well as the ability to adjust this suction strength so you can choose what’s most comfortable for you.
  • Double pumping lets you save time by expressing milk from both breasts simultaneously - making it great for time-poor mothers (which is, let's face it, most mothers).
  • It also has a massage mode to promote quick letdown.
  • Spectra advertises this breast pump as being “super quiet”, meaning it could be a good option for those after discreet pumping.
  • The breast pump has an adjustable cycle speed, letting you choose between 5 speed settings between 38 and 54 rpm.
  • It’s a closed system, meaning no milk will leak outside the pump, and nothing will get in the pump, making it more hygienic for both mum and bub.
  • For those who find themselves up at all hours needing to express, this breast pump has a night light and timer to make those sleepy express sessions slightly easier.
  • It’s mains-powered, so it must be plugged into a power outlet in order to operate.
  • The whole device weighs 2kg.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers said that this breast pump was efficient at expressing milk and effectively mimicked a baby’s natural stimulation. It also didn’t lose suction.
  • The night light was appreciated by a lot of reviewers, who said that it provided enough light to see what they were doing during night express sessions but was dim enough to not disturb anyone else.
  • Reviewers said that the device made minimal noise.

Pain point:

  • The main pain point of this breast pump is that it isn’t very portable, as it’s bulkier than most other breast pumps and is mains-powered. Spectra however doesn’t advertise it as being portable, and portability may not be a pain point for women who don’t require a pump they can easily take on the go.
CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)299
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8809108011305
  • MPN: SPS200

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.