??!
2 photos
Speed Queen AWNA62 (1st Gen)

Speed Queen AWNA62 (1st Gen)

4.6 from 125 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(98)
(13)
(8)
(3)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (12)


Speed Queen

published

This washing machine is mis-named. It should be called Speed King! Top of the wash in every respect! And I really mean it -- top of the wash in every respect!

1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi John,
Thanks for your flattering words, we are glad you like it.


Love my new washer

published

Our clothes are often covered in dirt and dust that comes from being on a farm dealing with drought, fire and if we're lucky mud. Speed Queen makes easy work of getting the dirt out. I only wish there was a sud save feature so that water from clothes not so dirty could be recycled back into machine. At present I do this with a bucket from the laundry sink. Water is a precious resource and we should be smarter about how we use it.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Jillie,
Thanks for the wonderful review, yes all washers should have a suds save cycle however some years ago the regulatory boffins decided that is was not hygienic.
Thanks for doing your part to conserve water.

Jillie
Jillie

My pleasure thank you.
Time to bring the sud save back.

Love this washing machine, It outperforms any other machine I have every owned. Just wish I purchased one years ago :)

published

I wash really dirty mens work clothes Truck / Farm workers.
Love the easy basic controls settings.
Clean wash every time even the delicates.
Excellent cycle time - Love it has the extra long cycle for clothes that need to be soaked.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Dolly girl

Dolly girlSydney, NSW

A good machine for everyday washing needs

published

Hi
I had a Maytag machine for many years and it served us well with 3 sons with sporting gear etc as well as our normal washing. But when I couldn’t get another Maytag I purchased my first Speed queen machine many years ago. It did serve us well but after many years I needed to replace it and of course I purchased another. I’m sure this machine will out see just my husband and I for many years too. The only thing I find a bit strange is the noise when you use the delicate cycle, my other machine was not so noisy but it does the job well.


NHutch

NHutchSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Everything I Dreamed of and More

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Winning Appliances NSW, Brookvale for $2,725.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Missing left sock

Missing left sockGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Commercial grade quality heavy duty washer.

published

Simple to operate, designed to last for many years, this machine is solid and weighs almost 100kg, baked enamel wash tub (not plastic) with a non magnetic grade stainless steel spin basket. I did my research on what I wanted and this fits the bill perfectly, no annoying electronic controls or beeping speakers. Just a commercial grade quality built machine that does a great job of what it is made to do, simply wash things clean and it does it quickly without ever going out of balance. A little on the expensive side but well worth the price considering the life expectancy, parts availability and reputation of the company. It's now over 12 months since purchase and we are very happy with it.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

wannabeepro

wannabeeproSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic product-works like a dream

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $2,725.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Beau Cornerstone

Beau CornerstonePERTH, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Off to a bad start, but working okay now

published

Purchased in April 2019 at RetraVision for $2,295.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeSimpson SDV Series
See all answers
Leah

LeahSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So happy!!

published

Have had our Speed Queen for 3 years now and I don't regret spending the extra $$. Easy to use and wash cycle times are great. A very strong and sturdy machine and I can see it lasting a good 20 plus years

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Rob

RobSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Honestly best washing machine on the market.

published

Wow - Couldn't be happier with this machine, easy to use,quite running and does a GREAT job of washing all our household clothes/items. This is the second Speed Queen washer we have purchased and LOVE it.
The first one has given us twenty eight years of trouble free service and still runs fine with a couple of creeks and groans occasionally ( like me LOL ) and will be put in our garage to do dog beds and car covers which this machine handles with ease. Whilst the purchase price is not the cheapest on the market, its definately value for money long term and does a awesome job for years and years. Strongly recommend this washer to family and friends.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeKleenmaid KED301
See all answers

Tony Pike

Tony PikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Top quality product

published

Washed through a 210 degree agitator stroke action The most gentle top loader I have dealt with Very reliable gearbox and a powerful 1/3 hp motor makes this the main top loader of choice for the discerning user I have sold many of these to customers and NEVER had a complaint

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Liz Taylor

Liz TaylorSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

The best quality washer I have ever had

published

This machine washes all types of clothes perfectly. I wash everything from delicates to oiled and soiled work clothes. The wash cycles fit the type of wash I do without causing pilling which is a bonus. Its nice to know that which ever cycle I choose the clothes come out clean and are washed with care. Easy to use with no fuss instructions just set and forget.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Ronitto

RonittoPerth, WA

Very Happy

published

My last Speed Queen washer lasted for 33 years. Finally it developed a leak and was showing a few rust spots so I decided to look for another one. Over the time that I had it I only had to do a few minor repairs. A hose, fan belt and a solenoid. Most of this in the later years. It was very easy to maintain and parts were easy to get.

I was surprised to note that not much has changed. The new one looks similar, is exactly the same size and has simple controls. They are more expensive and bit noisier than some others but if this one lasts as well as the first one then I will have no complaints.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $2,169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Mitch s

Mitch sCentral Queensland, QLD

Didn't meet my expectations

published

To start with was a great machine and washes cloths well. Reason for the expensive purchase was the 20yo parents in law lasting 20+ years, so I thought I'm sold. First year no dramas then the hot water solenoid stopped working after this fine for another twelve months then the cycle selector played up and wouldn't go through cycles have been through another since then. Now on my second leaking water pump and is again not draining and finishing cycle (also smelt something electrical burning) unsure what to do it's about 7yo so out of warrenty. thinking of tossing it out and going with a cheaper brand.

Purchased in April 2012 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen
Yvonne B.

Yvonne B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Speed Queen AWNA62

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Simona

SimonaDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

... What a sigh of relief ...

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Betta Home Living for $2,268.00.


Chiko

ChikoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Brilliant Machine

published

So simple to use absolutely no trouble, quiet and easily set and go with quick cycles. The clothes come out extra clean, bright and spun to a damp finish, just superb. Well worth the money and I would highly recommend this machine to anyone wanting dependability, durability and ease of use.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Carlos

CarlosSydney

Words cannot give sufficient justice!

published

I used to be an unemployed movie theater usher but that all changed when I bought the Speed Queen AWNA62. Now I’m an unemployed movie theater usher with a Speed Queen! Before purchasing this beautiful piece of engineering i just floated through life like I was never whole, part of, uncomfortable in my own skin but since taking ownership of the Speed Queen AWNA62 I have a life beyond my wildest dreams!!! Thank you Speed Queen!

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Tezza

TezzaYarrawonga

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good price washing machine that works well

published

Have been very pleased owning the speed queen top loader after having in the past three years front loaders this top loader is easy to put cloths in and out without having to get down on your hands or knees to pull out cloths. It also has been the best top loader I've used as its cleaned dirty cloths very well.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Glen

GlenKanwal

  • 7 reviews

Just what we wanted

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Page 1 of 7

See all Speed Queen AWNA62 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Speed Queen AWNA62 (1st Gen) but you can read 86 questions about Speed Queen AWNA62.


Get an answer from our members and Speed Queen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.