??!

Reviews

2.9

2,455 reviews
5
(880)
4
(275)
3
(69)
2
(100)
1
(1,131)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (762)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (622)
  • Customer Service
    3.7 (787)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (72%) · No (28%)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Excellent

published

First day using this connection, haven"t had experience with dropouts yet
But very happy with connection the service straight the next day. I use to have service from Spintel since 2008, can't complain so far. Many thanks

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type6-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Graham

Graham

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

I really like Spintel

published

I'm a pretty technical person, so I get frustrated with the big telcos and the way that they force crippled hardware onto you that you must use, and are impossible to contact when there is a problem.

Fortunately, Spintel is not like that - plans are simple and easy to understand without confusing bells and whistles, plan can also be stripped right back to "service only" so I can use my own much better equipment.

My questions were answered within minutes and my NBN application was processed in days, getting me back online after a big telco cut off my internet when I ported my telephone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Avoid like the plague

published

Regularly drops out for up to 1-2 hours during the day every 2 weeks on average.
4-6 hour wait to get service to reset after drop out. No explanation, no apology.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how SpinTel compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Superb customer service!

published

The technician was patient, competent and efficient in assisting me to set up my voip phone. I couldn't have asked for better support! She got my service up and running much faster than I had anticipated.

Customer Service
Johnny M.

Johnny M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Fraudulent Billing

published

Spintel will bill you incorrectly and when you dispute it, they will send a disconnection notice and late payment fees. I have disputed on multiple occasion providing evidence of my payments for monthly bills, and rather than resolve they "waive" it and then add an additional month the next billing cycle. Fraudulent behavior with intent to mislead. Do not join, you will invite below average service, long waiting times, hidden costs and long periods of time without internet.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Dan B

Dan BGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Fantastic customer service

published

Got NBN 50 connected which unfortunately is not very fast, max 20 mbps but this isn't Spintel's fault, it's because I'm on FTTN and far from the node with poor quality copper wiring etc. I know this as I had problems with it years ago when I had ADSL which is why I switched to Optus cable which I now had to disconnect to join the NBN.

However, there was an additional problem which is that Webex appeared to be blocked on my NBN connection. I assumed it was the wireless router. I submitted a support ticket to Spintel on a Saturday and got a response from a technical person within half an hour and the problems was fixed by the Sunday! Amazing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great cheap service plan

published

Calls, network connection, data speed perfect. No issues experienced. Only downside would be long wait times for call center help, but I didnt need the service for duration of my plan.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Taner Dede

Taner Dede

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute waste of money! Avoid at all costs!

published

Spintel unlimited internet plan can't even stream a simple netflix movie due to the disgraceful internet speeds. Do yourself a favour and dont bother. My dial up connection back in 1995 was faster!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
dave

davePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

LEFT SPINTEL SO MUCH BETTER

published

Had trouble with Spintel from day 1 dropping out up to 10-15 times a day speeds .5 to20 mbps on a 50 plan changed provider and in 6 months no drop outs and speed 48-52mbps Spintel would be the worst provider in Australia for service and connect-ability

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how SpinTel compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent customer service. Love the way she deal the issue

published

Very convenient. Loving use this service. Speed is good and other service from this provider excellent. Price i will say also reasonable. Initially had issue with connection but customer service team looked after very well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type6-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Great customer service!

published

Spintel's connection is quite reliable and they are still one of Australia's cheapest plans. Whenever I have had issues, the team always resolves it completely. Thanks most recently to Hazel!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2009
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Sean M.

Sean M.

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant customer service

published

Our new service works at least as well as our previous provider's but costs substantially less for the same quantity of internet traffic. It's worth noting that SpinTel do not advise the previous provider of the change in provider but leave it to the customer to do. If you're with Telstra this can be a problem as they absolutely no way for a customer to contact them other than submitting a Complaint Form. (True story!) Aside from that, my transition was seamless, helped along by very efficient customer service from Marigold.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateApril 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
KEI

KEISouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great service

published

Spintel have a good mobile service with excellent customer service when you need help. Plans are very reasonable. Their phone or text/email help services are very speedy and responsive. Thanks!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Gordon.

Gordon.South East Queensland, QLD

Good service and great speed.

published

After the initial set up where there were a few hick ups my nbn has worked well with consistent speeds, i had one drop out, but it was corrected without my need to make a call, i just put that down to work somewhere along the nbn network. I recently lost my phone connection which i did have to make a call and was very surprised at how quick i got through to the help centre, the lady that took my call was very clear to understand and was able to fix my issue with a good positive manner. I am very pleased with my choice of nbn provider.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
amm

ammGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great staff

published

My wife & I are in our 70's and we've been with Spintel for over 10 years . Whenever we encounter problems (no fault of Spintel) the service & help we receive from the technicians is friendly , helpful and issues are always resolved .
Alan M

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Standalone or BundledStandalone
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how SpinTel compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ross W.

Ross W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great Service and Communication.

published

After having some initial hesitation going with this company I had not heard of, I'm glad I took the chance as the communications from the company have been A1. This includes from my initial inquiries about the products and all the way through to the completion of the connection. The product itself is offering the stated speeds right from the beginning and all working perfectly. I have no hesitation in recommending Spintel service and product.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type6-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
George Z

George ZGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Spintel try very hard to satisfy customers.

published

Spintel have always tried hard to provide great service. Recently they have been giving me as much help as possible to deal with NBN issues which are beyond Spintel's control.
It's a shame that the $55 billion NBN is such a disaster.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Possible the worst

published

We have used Spintel I our business for a few months now - our internet drops out over 10 times a day and our upload and download speed is 0.37MBS. Tech support offers no help but happily takes our money.
do not use

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Ron

RonDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Sim card activation

published

Tim was very helpful and patient as I have poor knowledge of mobile phones. Tim explained very clearly each step and I thank Tim for making the process very easy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Works good

published

Always very helpful and patient. The speed of the internet is great have been with Spintel for three years now and am happy with their service and I have no complaints

Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 123
See all SpinTel reviews

Questions & Answers

Jeff

Jeffasked

NBN 50 (Plus 50)

rejected

No answers
rick

rickasked

NBN

why do you advertise $49.95 for standard 25 when it shows $59.95

1 answer
SpinTel
Anoop M.SpinTel

Hi Rick,

The Price difference you mentioned is due to that data allowance on the plan.

Below is the different options on our NBN Standard 25 plan.

Plan Name: Standard 25
Contract: Month to Month
Speed: Typical evening speed 21Mbps between 7pm–11pm
Data: 100 GB
Price: $49.95 / Month

Plan Name: Standard 25
Contract: 6 Months
Speed: Typical evening speed 21Mbps between 7pm–11pm
Data: 200 GB
Offer: $15.00 Credit added to first bill
Price: $49.95 / Month

Plan Name: Standard 25
Contract: Month to Month
Speed: Typical evening speed 21Mbps between 7pm–11pm
Data: Unlimited
Price: $59.95 / Month

Plan Name: Standard 25
Contract: 6 Months
Speed: Typical evening speed 21Mbps between 7pm–11pm
Data: Unlimited
Offer: $15.00 Credit added to first bill
Price: $59.95 / Month

For all our plans below is the modem/gateway options:

BYO Modem (NBN compatible) = No cost
Standard NetComm NF10WV = $69.00 Gateway + $20.00 Postage
Advanced NetComm NF18ACV = $110.00 Gateway + $20.00 Postage

https://www.spintel.net.au/home/nbn

Thanks
Anoop

Gary

Garyasked

NBN

My mum signed up for Spintel NBN a few months ago and could not get her account activated. She tried to call and email Spintel but did not receive a response. Now I have also tried to contact them but also cannot seen to get hold of anyone at Spintel. It is almost like Spintel customer support has completely disappeared.

Can somebody at Spintel please at least respond so that I know that I am not going crazy here?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and SpinTel representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(401)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(373)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,258)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,070)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(347)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(56)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.