??!
4 photos
SsangYong Stavic A100.II

SsangYong Stavic A100.II (2009-2015)

SPR (2009-2015) and (No Badge) (2009-2015)
4.5 from 33 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
1

Aah K.

Aah K.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Not enough Os in Smooooth or Ooomph to describe this car

published

I bought this 2014 Stavic as a personnel transporter with heavy use each weekend in free flowing city traffic with lots of steep hills and roundabouts.

It had 70,000 km on it and I have put 30,000 km on in 6 months.

The stand outs for me are that is such a smooth car... to accelerate, to brake and drive around town, the fuel economy is great at 9.5 L per 100km (lots of steep hills) in town and on the highway it drops as low as 7 L per 100km, the people I transport LOVE the interior arrangement AND the service people always comment on how little wear it exhibits.

I have lots of big hills to traverse and it takes the hills with the same (apparent) ease whether there are 7 people together with luggage and a trailer attached, or just me.

Purchased at Private for $11,000.00.

Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Mr

published

My mechanic said that they have disc brake problems after 100000ks .We have 50000 KS no problem I have had problems with the rear tyres seperating (kumo solas) the only thing I can complain about. My stavic gets good economy and drives great very happy to. I had a ssangyong for actrong sports 120000ks no problems

BadgeXxxxxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
DriveRWD
Had

HadSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Completley Amazed. Unexpectedly good.

published

I'm in the motor trade (as a dealer) and got this car as a trade in and expected it to be complete garbage. I drove it and then kept it for my own family use and have been completely amazed at how good a family car this is. Seems to get quite good fuel economy heaps of room, and is the only 7 seater I can name that actually has useable luggage space with all 7 seats in use. It almost has as much space as a Pajero with 5 seats in use.

So its good, real good. To my complete surprise.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveRWD
taxane

taxaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Exceptional

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveFWD

Simon in 't Hout.

Simon in 't Hout.Lovely banks. 3213

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A Real Surprise Purchase.

published
BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Paul

PaulMelbourne

Looking for a used car - less than 150,000km, Seven Seater under $15,000.

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
6 comments
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul

Amod B

Amod BSydney

A very nice, dutiful and economical car

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Good Car

published

Have owned my stavic since new(2013), best value for my money. I love this car. Good space and my big family travels in comfort ( not squished) whilst there is respectable boot space. Very good car to run.

Ssangyong should keep improving the interior (plastics) ,incl the sound system (more powerful speakers)

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Sparky

SparkyAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome car

published

Great car for the price. Minus a little trouble from the diff, needing a replacement under warranty, it's smooth to drive. A little slow on the uptake compared to the Triton, but hey fill it with kids and there's no rush. A maroon interior would be nice, but the grey is sufficient. I am having issues with the airbag light, due to get fixed for the third time under warranty, however. Heaps of boot space. Bluetooth works great. Maybe one day they will bring in the 9 seated version. 4wd too??.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Ed of Parra

Ed of ParraSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Exceeded my expectations

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Ed of Parra
Ed of Parra

Nice car but the warranty sucks!

published

I like the Stavic, the service costs are very high, and the warranty is terrible. The minivan has a decent engine, lots of room, but feels very cheap. Two plastic parts inside the centre console broke during normal use. ParramattaAutoCentre refused to fix under their warranty or ACL. $345 Unhappy!

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Carless

CarlessAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

I loved this car ...... Until

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

adisa

adisa

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent car

published

The car is excellent and runs well. It is also quite economical on fuel - does Canberra to Melbourne (650km) with three-quarter tank. And for sub 30K price, you can't go wrong.
Got to be careful with dealers though. The one in Canberra quoted more than twice the normal price to replace brake pad and rotor during service at odometer reading of 55000. Protested and called Ssangyong directly and was told to seek a second opinion. I ended up paying less than half the dealer's price.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013

Early days but good so far

published

Quiet and comfortable on highway for 7-8 lts/100 kms. Surprisingly powerful. So far reliable (purchased with 33k, now 47k). As per other posts, has great interior room and tows well. Some cheap items such as rear wiper switch on dash rather than stalk, and aircon/ventilation system is confusing, but overall fantastic value for money. Bigger test will be reliability over long term. Also the local dealer is awful so have had to service elsewhere. But i agree with others, with better marketing, these would sell in far greater numbers. Best thing is to test drive and see for yourself. You too will be pleasantly surprised as it will exceed your expectations given its price.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Francis
Francis

Jan 19, car now has 75k but is stuck at the dealer awaiting a part which i have been told will take 1 month. So a good car but beware parts availability and quality of dealer service.

Jmc

JmcPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Towing

published

I have just had a requirement to tow a 6 x 4 trailer loaded with chipboard completely filling the trailer. The Stavic never even noticed the load.This vehicle continues to impress. I have just past 6000 kms. Still early days but I definitely recommend this 7 seat vehicle fuel economy has been 12 Kls. per lt. in a city 100/200 country drive.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Michael_Duggan

Michael_DugganWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Affordable practicality!

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

StavicOwner

StavicOwnerToowoomba

Love it.

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Ssangyong Stavic

published

Performance great for 2.0L engine.
Handling comfortable on long trips, minimal engine noise.
Interior practical, can remove rear bench seat for more space.
Climate control air con works well for heating and cooling.
Plenty of legroom but wife finds the leather seats too firm.
Reliability excellent, servicing expensive, fuel 9.0-9.5l/100kms.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Jmc

JmcPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Underrated vehicle

published

A brilliant people mover, l purchased a 2016 Stavic and cannot fualt it admittedly I have only travelled 3000 kilometres . It's quiet for a diesel with plenty of power. I only wish that it had a reversing camera built in. Seating 7 adults with real leg room and a boot, it still keeps surprising me a real pleasure to drive.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Gwondana Photography Pty

Gwondana Photography PtySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Ssangyong Stavic

published

Used for touring in my photography business. Used on tour in National Parks on dirt, on long runs through the mountains and along the coast. Great vehicle, hasn't missed a beat. 30 thousand on the clock. So impressed my wife is looking at a Korando. Lots of space, large cargo area, removable back seat. Fuel around 9 L/100km. Easy access for all. Comfortable on 1000 km tours.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 2

See all SsangYong Stavic reviews

Questions & Answers

Ismayatim

Ismayatimasked

How to remove the fourth row seat

1 answer
Ismayatim
Ismayatim

I am using ssangyong stavic 11 seater. How to remove the fourth row seat?


john

johnasked

Any problem with engine?

1 answer
Had
Had

None to mention.


Marc C

Marc Casked

Hi all, I have returned to my 2013 Stavic and have found that my car battery is completely flat. The issue is though that I was able to unlock the car (using the key pad) turned the key and no lights on dash etc. I popped the hood and "jiggled" the terminals - I remembered my Dad doing this years ago and it seemed to work for him lol. Anyway still nothing.. I then thought perhaps if i lock the car again (using the key pad) It may reset the immobilizer or something. No Luck with that also. Now this is where the question is I noticed that I cant even manually use my key to open or unlock the drivers door as the car needs battery (obviously) to work the internal door locks. Not a great system as now i cant open the car nor the bonnet to get access to the battery to replace it or jump start it. Can anyone help please?
Marc

1 answer
Marc C
Marc C

ok so I worked out (embarrassingly) that you can open the drivers side door with the key if the battery is dead...You just gotta turn the key anticlockwise in the door lock.... Yep that's the kinda day I had anyway.


Get an answer from our members and SsangYong representatives

Details

SsangYong Stavic A100.II SPR
  • Discontinued

SsangYong Stavic A100.II SPR (2009-2015)

4.5
(11)
SssangYong Stavic A100.II (No Badge)
  • Discontinued

SssangYong Stavic A100.II (No Badge) (2009-2015)

4.7
(15)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Release dateJan 2009Jan 2009
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2015
Compare all SsangYong Stavic

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.