??!
4 photos
SsangYong Stavic

SsangYong Stavic

2013-Present and 2005-2013
4.4 from 46 reviews

Mr

My mechanic said that they have disc brake problems after 100000ks .We have 50000 KS no problem I have had problems with the rear tyres seperating (kumo solas) the only thing I can complain about. My stavic gets good economy and drives great very happy to. I had a ssangyong for actrong sports 120000ks no problems

BadgeXxxxxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
DriveRWD

Completley Amazed. Unexpectedly good.

I'm in the motor trade (as a dealer) and got this car as a trade in and expected it to be complete garbage. I drove it and then kept it for my own family use and have been completely amazed at how good a family car this is. Seems to get quite good fuel economy heaps of room, and is the only 7 seater I can name that actually has useable luggage space with all 7 seats in use. It almost has as much space as a Pajero with 5 seats in use.

So its good, real good. To my complete surprise.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveRWD

Exceptional

We were looking for a new 7 seater when we had our 4th child. Stumbled across Stavic by luck.. didn't even know these were in Australia. Purchased it in Jan 2016 ours is a 2015 updated version. Could bot be happier. Have had no issues yet. Have done 32000 in 3 years with the usual school runs and occasional day trips. The car averages 7L to 100km on freeway empty to 7.8-8L on freeway loaded. Does 8.5L around town. Excellent for a 2.2t car. The turbo has a slight lag and hesitation, however you only feel this from a standstill. However once the turbo speeds up which takes 1 second fells like you can pull an entire house out of a swamp and still accelerate uphill. No kidding. The gine has plenty of grunt. But remember this is not a race car. Rather one built for a family cruising. The bood is huge never mind the baggage lights.. just turn them on manually.. no big deal. The car comes with a full size spare. Not too difficult to get out.. all good. Plenty of room. I like it. Would definitely buy another, but i don't think i ll need to at any rate soon. The verdict? 9.5/10.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveFWD

Looking for a used car - less than 150,000km, Seven Seater under $15,000.

With 3 children turning into young adults and with my wife driving around 900 kms a week for work the old 2003 Magna Wagon as not going to last much longer. We had a budget of $15,000 for a used seven seater car/van. This money would get us into 10 year old Mazda CX9, Mitsuibishi Outlander, Honda Odyssey etc and a 2011 Kia Grand Carnival. All the cars we looked at had at least 120000 km on them and other than the KIA where 5 seats plus 2. Presently surprised when walking back to the car at the end of marathon sessions of talking to a variety of dealers at Car City, we stumbled across a 2013 Black Stavic that fitted our criteria 7 seats, turbo diesel, great boot space, tow bar, nice ride height with around 73,000kms for a drive away price of $14k. Picked it up and the wife has put on 3,000km in the past 2 weeks. Fuel economy is around 7 litres to the 100 and had to spend a little bit of money to get the rear camera to work as well as an plug and play wiring harness to get the media steering controls to work with the after market Sony Blue Tooth stereo.

Overall a great solution as the Stavic provides a roomy 7 seater, heating and air conditioning great, drives well and the most important thing is that the wife is happy. We got a good price on the car and around $200 dollars got the steering controls and the rear camera to work. You will need a rear camera as the car is 5.2m long which makes it fun reversing. I don't have the issue of discrepancy of speed mentioned in the previous review and need to take back under warranty as the indicator for the airbags came on. (will be fixed under warranty). Recommend that if you have a growing family this car does fit the bill and half the price of comparable cars from Toyota, Mazda and the like.

Price to get things working not covered by Used Car Warranty.
Rear Camera around $100. Blue Tooth Touch Screen Stereo for camera display and handsfree phone. Example sony xav-68bt around $300 second hand. Aerpro Harness have phone and steering controls work with after market unit around $140. Labour around $150 to install.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
4 comments
6 weeks later and 8000ks. No issiues, kids love it. They sit in the bsck seat and use the folded down captains chairs as a foot rest. First service was the 75k was $382 for air filter engine, transmission oil and rear diff oil. Economy hovers between just under 7litres per 100 for rural and 8 for city driving. Excellent buy car like features with van space. The rear cammera is a mustupdate just had the 90000ks service. No issues with the car over the past 2 months with travelling from the Yarra Valley right around Victoria. Longest single trip was up and back to Mildura without a hitch. Car sits on the road comfortably with minimal road noise and the space in the back of the car kept the 3 adult size kids seperated. Power point in the back seat meant that the ipad did not go flat and downloaded netflix kept them occupied. Difference between the 75K service and 90K Service was the fuel filter. Needs 6 litres of engine oil and 1.5 litres of diff oil each service. Uses 5W/30 so half the cost of the service is high quality oil. Used Ryco Filters and get the local mechanic to stamp the log book. Budget on 370 for the 75k service and around $450 to 500 for the 90K service. Our mechanic did replace the wipers with mega wipers which made a difference when driving. Overall after 18,000k of driving no major faults. Average around 7 litres to the 100 with an overall saving of $30 a 1000km on fuel cost compared to the old magna. So looking at $1200 a year fuel cost saving with regular servicing overall saving is around $900.thought to add another note. installed the sony xav-ax100. has android auto and apple car play so perfect for directions and music. Used the aerpro wiring harness for that head unit and car. youtube shows directions to remove the dashboard. Overall a good addition to the car and deal from Frankies autos had a camera packaged with the deal of $450. Also replaced one of the power outlets in the front with a dual usb charging port at the same time. If you are replacing the factory radio you will need a double din faceplate as well.

Awesome car

Great car for the price. Minus a little trouble from the diff, needing a replacement under warranty, it's smooth to drive. A little slow on the uptake compared to the Triton, but hey fill it with kids and there's no rush. A maroon interior would be nice, but the grey is sufficient. I am having issues with the airbag light, due to get fixed for the third time under warranty, however. Heaps of boot space. Bluetooth works great. Maybe one day they will bring in the 9 seated version. 4wd too??.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Exceeded my expectations

I did a lot of research prior to purchasing my Stavic last month. I was in the market to buy a good value diesel 7 seaters and considered a number of diesel options including Holden Captiva, Isuzu MU-X, Hyundai iMax, Kia Carnival and Mitsubishi Outlander. After considering equipment levels, performance and pricing, eventually Narrowed down the choice to the Stavic, Isuzu & Captiva. Test driven the cars and though I was initially skeptical of the Korean brand, the Stavic pleasantly surprised me with a nice drive feel. The engine is quite punchy and VERY quiet for a diesel, I have friend who thought the Stavic had a petrol engine (from inside the car). Considering the overall value, the Stavic test-drive convinced me that's the right car for my family (second choice was Isuzu then Captiva).

As I have not owned the car for long, I can't comment on the long term reliability nor the servicing costs, etc. But I can't find too many people on the net complaining on their Ssangyongs or Isuzus (unlike the Captivas).However, throwing an objective point of views, Holden would have sold a lot more Captivas compared to Isuzu and Ssangyong's, so this may be a contributing factor to the number of ownership complaints.

For all it's worth, so far the car is really pleasant and comfortable to drive. The auto gear changes smoothly, steering and built quality feels OK, no rattles so far and less plasticky than many other Japanese/Korean offerings. Just about a few negatives I can think of was the unavailability of the trip computer and reverse camera, even as an option.(on the standard model). The internal"room" lights must be manually switched off (other than the front "door" lights) and do not go off automatically when the car doors are closed (which could drain the battery). The seats are a bit too soft for my liking but this is an individual preference.

However, these minor issues should not stop anyone from buying the Stavic, as it is still a great value proposition given the sub-$30k pricing (I was not even charged extra for metallic colour) and the equipment levels included in the overall package.

If you are considering a Stavic, I recommend you test-drive it. I am sure you will be as pleasantly surprised as I was when I test-driven one.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Now at 13 mths ownership, the Stavic is still running strong, no issues, first service (at 12mths) done and the price at Dealership servicing was reasonable too at just over $400 mark for the annual service. Happy with the car so far. My only minor issue was the seats do not have lumbar support, which makes it uncomfortable for long drives.

Early days but good so far

Quiet and comfortable on highway for 7-8 lts/100 kms. Surprisingly powerful. So far reliable (purchased with 33k, now 47k). As per other posts, has great interior room and tows well. Some cheap items such as rear wiper switch on dash rather than stalk, and aircon/ventilation system is confusing, but overall fantastic value for money. Bigger test will be reliability over long term. Also the local dealer is awful so have had to service elsewhere. But i agree with others, with better marketing, these would sell in far greater numbers. Best thing is to test drive and see for yourself. You too will be pleasantly surprised as it will exceed your expectations given its price.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Jan 19, car now has 75k but is stuck at the dealer awaiting a part which i have been told will take 1 month. So a good car but beware parts availability and quality of dealer service.

Towing

I have just had a requirement to tow a 6 x 4 trailer loaded with chipboard completely filling the trailer. The Stavic never even noticed the load.This vehicle continues to impress. I have just past 6000 kms. Still early days but I definitely recommend this 7 seat vehicle fuel economy has been 12 Kls. per lt. in a city 100/200 country drive.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Affordable practicality!

I did much research prior to buying the Stavic.
Coming out of a Mitsubishi Delica, we needed at least as much space. Safety features were of high priority as the Delica had none.
Looked at vehicles by Kia, Honda, Mitsubishi, Benz, LDV, Hyundai and more.
Eventually narrowed the choice to the Stavic and the Kia Carnival. While in some ways i think the Kia is probably a better overall package, the price difference of more than twenty thousand dollars brought things into perspective.
We've had our Stavic for some time now and struggle to fault it.... engine is quiet and powerful and returns about 9.5l/100klm. Interior is extremely spacious and comfortable.
Heating, cooling, audio etc more than satisfactory. Ride is cushiony and smooth.
Suspension feel and light steering took some getting used to but love it now.
Best value people mover in Australia and if it displayed a better known badge it would be a big seller but no doubt carry a higher price tag.
Only complaints are: cup holders in front are pretty ordinary and the storage tray beneath the pull-out cup holders can't be accessed when the cup holders are in use. They are also unable to accommodate larger drinks/coffee cups etc.
The lack of a reversing camera was disappointing but not such an issue as to not buy the car.... an aftermarket option will suffice.
Also, the lack of SsangYong service departments in my area is an issue to some degree.
Just hope I don't need any warranty work done as my nearest service agent is two hours away.
Nevertheless, I am extremely satisfied with the vehicle and have recommended the SsangYong Stavic to others.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Love it.

Uncharacteriscally quiet for a diesel. Merc-sourced transmission is smooth.
Fuel consumption around 7L/100km-ish on the highway and about 9 mixed highway/urban.
Massive boot space. With the third row of seats removed, double that space.
Folding mirrors and reversing sensors handy in tight parking spaces.
Climate control works well, front and rear. Bluetooth handsfree just works.
Seats a bit firm but comfortable. When you realize what your getting for how comparatively little you're paying, you won't mind the relatively basic interiors.

Used in picky Singapore as a large cab. That's a vote of confidence.

Unfortunately, Ssangyong isn't a well-known brand in this part of the world. Had it been from a better known company heaps will be sold.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Underrated vehicle

A brilliant people mover, l purchased a 2016 Stavic and cannot fualt it admittedly I have only travelled 3000 kilometres . It's quiet for a diesel with plenty of power. I only wish that it had a reversing camera built in. Seating 7 adults with real leg room and a boot, it still keeps surprising me a real pleasure to drive.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Ssangyong Stavic

Used for touring in my photography business. Used on tour in National Parks on dirt, on long runs through the mountains and along the coast. Great vehicle, hasn't missed a beat. 30 thousand on the clock. So impressed my wife is looking at a Korando. Lots of space, large cargo area, removable back seat. Fuel around 9 L/100km. Easy access for all. Comfortable on 1000 km tours.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Great Value For Your Money

My car have done 71k on the clock in just over 2 years.....Running as new.Its very smooth and quite..we love our car..we even have a lexus rx450h but still we use our ssangyong for all the longer trips because it has so much room and kids love it.. In my personal opinion its an excellent family car for the price and surely its an under rated car.. so if you really after a good family car then go for it you will be pleased with your decision.. Because this car offers a lot more than what we pay it..We love our car.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

About to take ownership of #2

We bought a 2006 model in 2013, low kms, and it was a very tidy car, unfortunately Stavros was T-Boned, by what we suspect to be a speeding (cant be proven) driver, he ploughed his pulsar into the driver door. The door though caved in on the outside, had the safety bar in the door that was still straight and solid, the door still opened and closed, it protected my wife perfectly... unfortunately the hit was so big though that the motor sheared off its mounts and the car was written off, so after a few months of waiting, next week we pick up our new Stavic! these things can take a BIG hit and keep you safe! (p.s. there was nothing left of the pulsar)

BadgeSports
TransmissionManual

Amazing vehicle best value for your money

We were looking at 7 seater for our growing family. We look at the Honda Odyssey, Toyota Tarago and the Kia Carnival but they all cost over 45K. I then ask owner of Ssangyong Stavic on Product Review website. Went down to the Ssangyong dealership took the vehicle for a test drive I was happy and amazed with its performance. I then deposit and got a brand new Ssangyong Stavic SPR range which is the luxury for 35k including extra like Sat Navigation, Reverse Camera, Side Step, Slim Whethershield. I'm so glad that I bought this vehicle, I manage to get 700km plus on the normal day drive and over 1000km on long distance. We took it to Mt Buller for family road trip and I can tell you this vehicle got potential it was so smooth on long distance drive. My family love it and now my friend also want one as well. If you ever need a 7 seaters with roomy space you should checkout this vehicle.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Could you imagine how many of these you could sell if it had a different badge.

These are a great value for money vehicle. Very roomy, great economy for a vehicle this size, very comfortable. Our kids (x5) are now getting older (hey 2 are now adults), and we needed a new car after our 1995 Tarago finally wore out. Looked around at all of the 7/8 seater vans around, and only stumbled onto the Stavic by accident. We didn't even know they existed. Ended up with the vehicle that meets our needs for nearly 1/2 the price. If this thing had a badge from a better known company in Australia, they would not be able to keep up with demand.
I would recommend to anyone to go and have a look, if your anything like us you will drive it away.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Fantastic vehicle

I have had my Stavic for almost two years now and covered over 48000kms. Apart from sliding a road map under the front passenger seat which caused a minor electrical problem (computer wiring is under seat)fixed by dealer the car has been really great. I have been getting mid 8s Ltr/100kms which is good for a car of this size, it is quiet, comfortable and solid. The doors close with a nice clunk, the dash plastics are padded as are the top door trims. It is so easy to slide out the rear seat and when in place there is still heaps of luggage room. Little touches like rear air con vent in the roof just make life more comfortable for everyone. The only criticisms I have are the steering feel I would like a bit more and less understeer and better quality speakers. Would I buy another? Most definitely. This is the best value 7 seater people mover on the market by far. My 95 year old dad loves it too as it is so easy for him to get in and out of and he loves the big internal door pulls. Also great service from Bergman's my local dealer.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
8 comments
Now completed 61000 Just had 60000 k service. Had a small problem with the engine light coming on intermittently. A camshaft sensor was replaced. Due for a set of break pads soon and the tyres will also need replacing in the not too distant future. Still runs very well and no other probsNow 66800 kms Brake light switch failed and has been repaired under warranty. Problem is that the car would not go into gear because the circuit for the solonoid that allows the gear lever to move from park to reverse is through the brake light switch. So car would not move. The emergency 1800 number contacted had a tilt tray truck with me within 45 mins and the car was taken directly to the dealer who fixed the problem on the next working day. Brake have been done how new pads all round. Two tyres have been ordered and will go on in the next couple of days. Decided on Bridgestones as the Khumo Solus are no longer available. They are bit more expensive but after doing some research I definitely am not going for the cheap Chinese tyres, That would be false economy as their life expectancy is very short.Recently had the 75000 km service and the car will be out of warrantee soon. I am having a couple of minor things done. The drivers internal door handle and the gear lever chrome is lifting and the passenger door mirror is clicking when closing the mirrors after parking the car. Apart from these minor items the service was all good and the vehicle is running very well. Also ordered another new pair of tyres.

Very good people mover for the price of sedan

Done 7000Km. No problem. Accidentally drove over kerbs over parking space, car jumped about without any damage. Fuel efficiency like a big sedan with enough power to overtake easily. Window glasses a bit loose but nothing otherwise wrong. Bought 2013 made 2014 compliant SPR with 31500 last year. Initially steering a bit too sensitive and needs time to get used to. Our old cars are nearly 20 yrs old that stavic steering needs a bit of getting used to for us. Leather seats are a bit firm. Climate control excellent. CD player and blue tooth average. Installed GPS with reverse camera. 4 star ANCAP rating is same as Hyundai imax. It is a steal price wise. Very happy. Kids are very happy too. Will buy another. Hopefully price will not go up. Cruise control, park sensors, auto lights, rain sensing wipers. Park sensors can even sense high kerbs. I will be stuck to this people mover for a long time.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic

Great car - I love it, family loves it, why pay $20000+ more

I wanted a 7-seater and in the end decided I wanted a real 7-seater (i.e. one where an adult would be happy riding in any of the 7 seats), not one where the extra seats were an after-thought (hey, we have a bit of space, let's stick some seats in there).

As much as I wanted auto-parking (Honda Odyssey, or Citroen Grand Picasso - which adults would not be happy riding in the back of), I decided I was not prepared to pay the extra over the Stavic. A test drive of the Stavic convinced me that it is what I need.

It drives well, super-smooth auto gearbox (Mercedes Benz 5-speed). Steering is a bit bus-like, but that's expected from a vehicle this size. Fuel economy is just like a decent sized sedan. Even doing short trips around town I have never got to 10L/100km.

The seats are comfortable, there's heaps of space (I bought a dishwasher, just moved the seats forward a bit and put it in the back, and what's more, we can fit suitcases in the back without even moving the back seats forward).

Service costs are reasonable. I paid a bit over $200, providing my own oil, for the 1st 15000km service.

The engine is powerful, ample power for overtaking, ample power for heading to the snowfields or any hilly terrain. Don't be put off by a 2L engine. You don't need anything bigger.

The Stavic is big, so I had a reversing cam/GPS/audiovisual system installed. It's very useful, as you may need to choose a parking space wisely otherwise you'll have fun getting out.

Overall, I'm very happy with it. The only negative (minor issue): a few squeaks from the seat sliding/folding mechanisms, but a keen ear and some WD-40 sort that out. Also, the cruise control is playing up but the dealer is fixing it under warranty (awaiting a part). Otherwise, extremely happy. If you want a 7-seater, look no further. You do not need to pay the extra $10-20K+ for the iMax, Odyssey, VW Multivan etc.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

great people mover

Was not sure about this car but I am so happy with it. It's quiet, spacious. Can fit 7 adults and still has a large boot. It feels modern and while not overly luxurious it doesn't feel like a budget car. I have the sports model. ( that's right - a sporty 7 seater ☺) it's ok with fuel. It's got power. Its damn good looking in black. I've had the car for over a year and it hasn't given me any problems. The only annoying thing about this car is the light in the boot area is manual so it doesn't go on and off with the rest of the car lights and I have forgotten to turn it off many times when getting the groceries.

BadgeSports
Transmission0

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

hi have a 2013 ssangyong stavic blows blue smoke randomly weather hot or just after start up seems to do with the particulate filter does not do it on over run or down hill vehicle has done 300k Kms has a fault code with oxy sensor pops up all the time have another one ordered
No answers

How to turn up the idel on my sangyoung action very please?
No answers

Any problem with engine?
1 answer
None to mention.

Similar listings