Property for rental.
Spent one week at a property booked through Stayz in Victoria Park. It was not as advertised, many issues with it, not good value for $$. Would not book with Stayz again.
Won't post negative reviews
The property we booked through Stayz was in really poor condition - unclean, stove not working, lights not working, bad local management firm. We wrote a fair but 2-star review with positives and negatives, it was not posted on the site. Interestingly no reviews have been posted for the month prior to our stay (summer holidays).
In addition to this, Stayz did not keep our credit card details private. Do not want to use this service again.
No support from Stayz
Stayz don't seem to have any post-booking support. In the event you have an issue with your booking, there seems to be no surveillance of correspondence by the Stayz team. I have left four messages for my host and have had no reply. The Stayz site provides no option for me speak with one of their team, or indeed anyone. I'm envious of the support my friends are having while dealing with Air B&B at this difficult time.
DAMAGE DEPOSIT why are they taking ages to refund that?
The property and owners I had no issue with. Our problem and booking is not related to covid-19 , I booked and stayed as soon as we were legally allowed to travel in our state again, so there was no cancellation issue. My issue is this : 2 nights accommodation $700 damage deposit $800 - it has been weeks since we stayed and everything went great , owners were happy and refunded deposit STAYZ HAS NOT PROCESSED IT why??? The money shouldve been on temporary hold only. Its a lot of money to be paying credit card interest on. I was a Stayz property...owner for 5 years, this was my first time using them as a customer as I wanted to support our local property owners - not a happy customer, it should be much more straightforward to get a damage deposit back !
81 Bay St patonga
We stayed at this property and after cleaning and vacating the property we were charged a additional charge to clean the BBQ which would be ok had we used it which we did not
After raising our concerns with The letting agent
We were not refunded nor did the agent contact us
I could not recommend this property or this agent
After paying $1,700 aud you would think the agent would at least reply to our complaint but no we were just ignored
Before booking this property ask yourself would you be happy to receive this treatment
Refunds for coronavirus situation not helpful
Booked stayz in deer valley.coronavirus became a major issue with international and local flights.i received total refunds for cancelled flights tours tickets etc-BUT NOt from my booking with StAYZ -where the risk is high to travel
very unfair !
Ok so on the website dealt with a Brent not sure if that was the owner or property manager. Everything was ok until after I submitted a review on the website 4 stars. My husband forgot his phone charger at the house and I asked Brent to mail them out to which he initially agreed. A couple days later no response from him,and then I see a 1 star rating for my stay,With no justification and not much support from stayz.com to address the issue at 1 seamist ct. Maybe he was in need of the charger...not sure. But this is not a way to deal with a clie...nt.very unprofessional. Steer clear of this website for booking your holiday and if you do book through them make sure you don't leave a review until after the owner/manager has reviewed you. Very deceiving people
False advertising. Photos not showing huge house being built on same land meters away.
Property at 393 Elizabeth Drive, Vincentia, NSW. Photos show beautiful views of green paddock from verandah and dining room down into the park. Aerial photos show an empty block in front. However, a huge house is being built there and the view is now obstructed by an ugly construction with scaffolding and privacy compromised.
Tumby Bay. The Loft
We booked through Stayz. Linen fee $10 per person - 2 adults stayed. Charged $30 for linen - this was the first weekend in October. Still no outcome despite contacting property manager. As for the property- owners forgot to leave the key and we had to access through a shed roller door anytime we wanted to go outside. Property not clean, bins overflowing in both kitchen and bathroom. Fridge not functioning properly, we had to use our esky for 24 hours until a bar fridge could be sourced for us to use. No dishwashing liquid and dirty coffee mugs and sticky cutlery - NOT happy with the speed of NO response or any refund offered.
Won't book with them again
We also posted a factual review regarding property at Quiet Dog Friendly Golden Beach Home. Unlike your review ours was.. posted only to recieve a curt, non factual reply from owner who maintained her fences were 5 foot high (maybe on 1 side but actually a 800mm weldmesh fence on the other which in fact our poms could jump over) and property not as in their photo's. Can't believe Homeaway does not investigate before allowing owner to reply with deception. Not to mention we were out of pocket purchasing materials to keep our fur babies in and safe and she got all uppity because we left it there attached by small zippy ties which only needed snipping to dismantle.
We booked the Surfing Seal at Seal Rocks. A 3 bed house that cost over $500 p/n. Expected the advertised inclusions....but no washing machine, no internet connectivity at all the whole time, air con (was a portable air con that you to fit yourself but the hose attachment didn’t fit!), peeling paint, cracks on the glass slide doors, 3 kids bunked in on the floors in our part of the main house so the extra 2 bedrooms we paid for were a waste of money as the wire doors don’t lock, and the smell from septic system...STAYZ needs to verify properties and ensure it up to standard. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Review not posted
I also posted a review of a property in January. I was quite positive but made some recommendations that I thought were pertinent especially for a property that you paid 4,500 for a week, This review has also not been posted. I have used stayz for many years but this is the first time I have used them since they changed to homeaway/stayz. I also had to wait over a week for my bond to be refunded. I think I will look at using airbnb in the future.
Poor site filters
When searching for properties I set the price fiter to the maximum amount I was looking to pay. However, the site jusy pumps out properties of any price it feels like. Most of them were double to treble the amount I had entered. So frustrating and time wasting. Bad Luck Stayz, I used another booking site instead!!!
Sea Stone Cottage, Kangaroo Island
We stayed 5 nights in this property at Emu Bay. The cottage, or more like a house, is situated in bushland, with wildlife close. Unfortunately, some things were disappointing. The wood fire was good, but there was no paper or kindling & the fire had not been cleaned out. The promo mentioned a DVD player & a selection of cds....the controllers had no batteries or were flat. We could not watch our DVDs we took, & there were no CDs in sight! Perhaps they were in a locked cupboard. There was no anti-slip mat or soap holder in the bath/shower....da...ngerous, especially for the elderly. The toaster was useless...so small it would not toast crumpets without destroying them. Cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The water pump was starting up about every 30 mins at night, did not sleep well at all first night. I had to go outside last thing at night to switch it off & first thing in the morning to switch it back on!. I even checked for a water leak, but could not find one. Our stay was compromised by problems which could be easily rectified. I would not recommend this property, & Stayz should make sure the properties advertised are up to scratch.
Be aware of how hard it is to cancel ....! Do your due diligence and read the reviews
So I booked a home to stay while my house was under renovation. The booking process, though tedious and awkward (why can't you put the location in straight away?) I had to spend a lot of time trying to work out how to narrow down my search. I eventually found and booked the perfect place, then one week before I had to cancel. Now I have no problem with the concept of losing a deposit and the payment I'd made but at this point Stayz just wanted nothing to do with this and it had to be with the property owner. In theory this is ok however the...practice is simply ... stupid. this is their system and if they had cancelled at the beginning I wouldn't have been writing this. The property owner was lovely and we managed a few alternate dates (which cost more but if in the meantime she had received the booking she would have credited those days). the owner is not the expert, Stayz is and therefore I 'thought' the booking was cancelled. Nope I looked again and it was still showing as dates not available. Really Stayz .... this was pretty poor, you knew I would not be in for the period but offered no support. The idea is good the execution ....not great. My regret is not having read the reviews first ....
Apollo bay, property beautiful when you eventually find it! Wrong directions given, phone number(landline) not connected, main living area in the house and master bedroom plagued with centipedes, windows covered in cobwebs and spiders present in the house. When eventually got onto property manager they were not interested.Would not recommend.
Was unable to post a review on property on stayz, wonder why!!
It wasnt broke so why change it?
For the life of me I cannot understand the mentality behind changing what was a successful platform and well known easy brand/name to something ridiculous like Homeaway - it sounds like one of those common house swap sites..
The transition has been a complete failure and I for one am looking to other options. You cannot access Stayz at all now and the new site has my Stayz photos which I am trying to change. I changed them in the new site but when you do a search the old ones in Stayz show up grrr! If they are done with the old site then ge...
What have they done?
We have our accommodation property listed with Stayz for several years. Over this time we have enjoyed very good occupancy with 80 percent or more of our bookings coming through them. Since the transfer to Homeaway, we had two bookings come through in perhaps the first couple of weeks. Since then it has been dormant. I can only imagine that is the additional booking fees that Homeaway are adding on that is driving potential guests away. Our accommodation is a budget property but with these extra fees added on it drives the price up too high for guests looking at budget properties.
Angry with being forced to migrate to Home away from Stayz and now no inquiries
I absolutely agree with your comments. We were forced to migrate to Home Away. I had 5 properties listed with Stayz and it worked quite well. I have sold 3 of them and still have 2 exclusive properties booked with Stayz, or should I say HOME AWAY. What an experience it has been. The website is so complicated and takes ages to complete, however that is not the worst problem NO INQUIRIES is by far worse. I rang Stayz today and they say that there a lot of people complaining and also not receiving any inquiries. This is also my livlihood and I dont know who to go to, to resolve it. I asked to go back through Stayz and that is not possible.
Home Away..BAD NEWS
As a property owner in the central Victorian region I have been extremely disappointed, to say the least at the, at the clunky and unprofessional manner in which Stayz / Home Away has handled the changeover from one to the other. My listing is now at the end of page 6 after working hard to build my ranking over the past 2 and a half years and listed under a little known hamlet by name only known to locals. I am sure I will get very few bookings from this listing.
BEWARE HOME AWAY.
Questions & Answers
What is the time frame before details are given on address and entry into a property.
You do not receive the detail until after you have paid. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH STAYZ they do not take any responsibility for accessing that the details of their advertisements are true.
Hello, the accomodation I booked says sleeps 12 and maximum guests are 12 so we book. Later on we read in the fine print maximum 8 guests... why can they do this? What are my rights will I get my money back? They’ve taken the service fee
My question is not as big a loss as others, however, if staying in a house that offers a bbq facility, should I be out of pocket $40 filling up the gas bottle after one use and subsequently only one after that refill? I have the receipt and have asked the owner directly if they will credit me back and I have not heard from her. We paid top dollar for the house compared to others in the area.
I would keep on asking. That gas refill should surely be covered in the cost of the stay seeing as they advertise it has a bbq! The amount of money isn't the issue here, it wouldn't matter if it were only $5:00 it should be covered. I would have thought that two cylinders minimum would be kept at the property so one is always full. All the best with your claim. I'm like a ferret on a rat with things like this, keep badgering them. Good luck.
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.