??!
1 photo
Sterling Homes

Sterling Homes (page 2 of 4)

3.1 from 68 reviews

See the Best Home Builders in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(27)
(5)
(3)
(12)
(21)
  • Site Admin
    4.3 (7)
  • Timeliness
    4.4 (7)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    5.0 (6)
  • Flooring
    5.0 (5)
  • Build Stage
    • Post-Construction (9)
    • Mid-Construction (1)
  • Structural Integrity
    5.0 (6)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    4.6 (7)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (7)
  • Transparency
    4.2 (5)

Maddy

MaddyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

SLOW SLOW SLOW!

published
Construction End DateJan 2018

  • Verified customer

Downsizing for empty nesters

published
Construction End DateJul 2017
Justin H

Justin HAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Very slow!

published
Construction End DateApr 2018
Steph

StephMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Enjoyable Experience

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2019
See all answers

Downsizers Tanunda

Downsizers TanundaCentral, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Downsizing with Sterling Homes a Wonderful Experience

published
Construction End DateOct 2016

AJK

AJKNuriootpa

  • Verified customer

Incredibly disappointing - and it's not even finished

published
Construction End DateMay 2017

  • Verified customer

4 weeks and counting just to do bricks.

published

Currently building through Sterlings and currently regretting it. Bricks have taken 4 weeks to be completed and still counting. Whenever you follow them up they aren't very informative. They won't contact you once they are at the next stage of the build either. Won't contact you about anything unless you contact them. Originally got told in April 2016 when we contacted them that house would be done by October 2016 and now being told by July 17.

Construction End DateJul 2017

  • Verified customer

Our forever home built with skill, pride and cratsmanship-

published

We moved into our forever home three months ago and we wake up every morning in awe of how wonderful it looks. From first contact to last, any issues that arose were treated with importance and respect. It took ages to start build through no fault of Sterlings, but once council approvals were met they were onto it and did not stop until completion 5 months later. There were faults, mistakes, mishaps, damage. People built our home, not robots! But they were addressed, rectified and acknowledged. When we moved in we were beside ourselves, they have done an incredible job and we are so so grateful. Our forever home is our castle! Thank you.

  • Verified customer

Large, modern family home built efficiently and at a great price

published

We've been in our home for 6 months now and couldn't be happier. The whole process, from the ongoing support we received from our sales consultant, to the help we received during our selections process right up to the hand over was excellent. The finished home was beyond our expectations and we would be more than happy to recommend them as a builder.

  • Verified customer

Extremely happy!!

published

Craig

Craig

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified customer

Worse than in 2010

published

Lack of informative information, lots of extra charges work not finished off to standard the list goes on.
Supervisor lieing to you. Two days of builders working on house in 6 weeks. Jobs u ask not to be done getting done and when u ask why your told bad luck and pay up
Do yourself a favour and avoid this builder at all cost there worse than they were in 2010


Allyoop

AllyoopAngle Vale

  • Verified customer

Over it

published
1 comment
Allyoop
Allyoop

danny

dannyMt Barker

  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

No after care to the clients

published

Shimmy

ShimmyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Not a good Sterling Impression

published
1 comment
Shimmy
Shimmy
Granny

Granny

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Never again with these cowboys!

published

Lack of communication was one problem. We had a deadline to be out of rental accommodation but through simple errors you would think an experienced would be able to avoid we only just made it but had to pay extra for basics like electrical connection. Poor quality finishes throughout and difficulty getting them to make good on any complaints meant their after sales service leaves a lot to be desired.
Love the look of the house and that we're finally in.
Poor quality finish on the plasterwork and several locks didn't work.

1 comment
Granny
Granny
A dream or a nightmare

A dream or a nightmareAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Disorganised, poor quality building, do not use them!!

published

_Anthony_

_Anthony_Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

False advertising and prices keep increasing

published

Not the worst, definitely not the best!

published

Got a top quality home with all the extras at a reasonable price

published

They just can't be bothered and don't care

published
1 comment
Flabbergasted
Flabbergasted

Romeojuliet rule 77 - your comments aren't valid, you obviously work for sterling. Your low life insults support this. Disgusted65 - what can I say? I'm sorry you have had to suffer the same repugnant arrogance.


Page 2 of 4

See all Sterling Homes reviews

Questions & Answers

Shay O

Shay Oasked

Hi guys, we built with Sterling 3 years ago, moved in 2 years ago. The water pressure in our ensuite shower is virtually nothing but pressure in the main bathroom shower is great. Im guessing its a head or handle flow problem. Would Sterling cover this issue since the house is only 3 years old or do i have to call a plumber and cover the cost of the fix myself?

1 answer
David and Chris
David and Chris

Sorry, I don’t really know. Maybe try Sterling and see what they say?


Worry1

Worry1asked

Hi did anyone built a home with Stirling homes in Gympie? , and what was your experience?

4 answers
Kate Mawson
Kate Mawson

Did you end up building with them? We are considering them for our build too.

Worry1
Worry1

Hi we end up building with them biggest regret in our life . They under quote you and also sweet talk you to hide their lies, they told us between 6 &8 weeks before they start building it been 12 weeks since we settled our land and they stil say waiting on council approval to me that is a lot off poo
I wil never build with them again even if they pay me to and neither recommend them

Nothaapyeither
Nothaapyeither

I'm sorry to say we engaged Stirling Homes Queensland to build our home and it has also been a nightmare. They promote that it's Stirling with an "I" as obviously the other Sterling Homes in Adelaide seems to get a lot of bad reviews but they both sound about the same. Sweet talk and cheap price at the front end and nothing but lies and incompetence once you are signed up and they have a hefty deposit and you have nothing much to show for it. I wish we had never heard of them. How they continue to do business is because people like me didn't look into them properly. A mistake I will never make again and probably the best advice I can give a potential owner is do your research- check the QBCC website, google them, ask for referrals which are not by staff members with an alternate surname, and go on to sites like this and ask others about their experience. If I'd done those things I would have run a mile! I think product review needs to create a seperate listing for Stirling with an 'I' (for Incompetence) - so people can share their experience and not get caught out like I did.


Big G

Big Gasked

What can be done about the apparent fraud being committed by sterling homes. There appears a lot of the same type of complaints appearing on a regular basis.
...... Finding rock on site despite no indication on soil reports, this is interesting given that in many cases they have established the blocks and filled the block?
...... Need for more cable to meter box and hole, This is an obvious rort when they set the block and house position on block and why does it seem the same lengths are appearing in all cases?

Does anyone else find these types of variances odd?

5 answers
Craig
Craig

Yes that sounds like sterling homes to me and glad I am not alone.
I believe that is how they make their money.
At first the house and land build price is good better than other builders but I feel when all the extras are added to your account it brings the build price up on par with other builders and maybe even slightly higher.
After all my estate was completely developed by sterling yes they brought the fill they planned the house positions they planned it all.
They will tell you Actium developments isn't part of sterling homes but if you ring the developers office who would believe the receptionist at Sterling homes answered your call.

Big G
Big G

Just an update, Sterling where asking for extra cable above their 10 m allowance, measured from pit to house, 4.8m ground to box 2m , allow .5 m down and .5m up for below ground component. That totals 7.8m well less than the 10m allowance, could this be classed as an attempt to obtain extra money by false pretences?

touchstone64
touchstone64

Hello Everyone, I applied to work for Sterling Homes as a sales consultant. Whilst I have not heard back from them yet, I did have concerns about most of the comments here that were all similar to each other, as in the negative comments about people's experiences. Whilst I can understand the frustration of most of the comments on this site and can relate to all of them as I have built myself (not with Sterling Homes though). On the flip side of most of these comments, I did realize there are only 43 comments/complaints about Sterling Homes in this forum. Most of them were over a 4-5 year period. I feel terrible for all the people that had a bad experience Sterling Homes as it should not be this way when building a home. But you have to ask yourself as I have done after reading all the comments, this is a company that builds 800 plus homes per year. Maybe I will not hear back from them as most of you have said LOL (said with tongue in cheek). However, if I do, I hope I can turn things around for the better. One thing is true though, a building company can be let down or even destroyed if it is only as good as it's tradesmen. Cheers


Get an answer from our members and Sterling Homes representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.