3 photos
Stihl BG 56

Stihl BG 56

3.8 from 63 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Blower Vacuums in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Stihl? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
GrillaBBQ
GrillaBBQBrisbane
  • 32 reviews
  • 31 likes

Less than 12 months and on my third repair!

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Do Not Buy

published

That starter spring is extremely weak be prepared to spend $35.00 for repairs or learn how to replace the $2.00 starter spring on a regular basis, you must barely pull the starter or it will bend every time, just kicked mine to the curb. This unit is NOT Stihl quality.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Peeved
Peeved
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Build fault

published

Have had two of these one to blow the leaves and the others to vacuum and mulch. Works okay but both have developed fault that causes the engine to die when revved up. The fault is almost as expensive as a new one to fix. I will look at alternative brands.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
george
georgeSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 153 likes

Sh*t

published

bought what i thought was a good blower, Brand new from Stihl Dealer took it home started it, used it for approx 10mins put it in the shed went to use it about 3 weeks later & it refused to start. Followed starting instructions as per the manual. It just refused to start. I have tried about 6 times since to start it, it kicks, idles for about 3 seconds then cuts out. Took it back to the dealer who said it was my fault that it wouldnt start,(typical) the dealer tried starting it & it refused to start. Bull shi*ted to me & Wanted to charge me to fix it biggest piece of sh*t i have bought, Threw it in the shed & went & bought a cheap Ryobi from Bunnings. that has not let me down.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bigted
Bigted
  • 26 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not as good as they say they are

published

I must admit u use it every day but after about 3 years of faultless use its just let go today. Running WOT and then bang....clunk, clunk , clunk. I think the piston broke or something. Engine wont even turn over now. Problem is Stihl wont even consider a warrany claim unless its within the 2 years from purchase and you can prove you have used Stihl oil at 50:1.
So i went out and bought an Echo. Same price with an unlimited 5 year warrany with any oil, no questions.

Date PurchasedApr 2013

Disappointed

published

Usage; one/twice a week. Homeowner use only.
Year one; Hard to pull and start as the compression is so tight. A female would find it impossible.
Year two; Lose of power, carburator issue's that cleaning does not solve. I use ethanol free fuel with stabil added.
Ordering a new carb now, hope to get one more year out of it. I will never buy another Stihl product.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Tim
TimHobart
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

underpowered rubbish

published

Bought one today, would be lucky blow the froth off a beer, underpowered rubbish, have a fs 85 brushcutter which is an excellent machine, extremely disappointed with the blower. Having had echo blowers in the past the Bg 56 does not have anywhere near the amount of blowing force. Will be returning it to the Stihl dealer on Monday.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Jpa
JpaSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lacks power

published

Purchased Stihl bg56 blower
Disappointed in the power of the unit compared to my old GMC from Bunnings.
I have a lot of leaves on my drive, it doesn't seem to clean like the old machine.
I expected better productivity , I even purchased the extra slim nozzle attachment.
Thanks

Tim Robinson
Tim RobinsonGilbertsville, Pennsylvania

Junk

published

Bg56 huge waist of money! Took it in for repair twice under warranty, in the last year it's been in five times once they tried to rebuild the carb. Still doesn't work! Actually got it started about four to five times to use , rest of the time is in the shop !

Tim Robinson
Tim Robinson

Called Stihl and told them my problem,they called shop where I live and payed for repairs under their supervision! Blower works great now

Tim Robinson
Tim Robinson

Had it now over a year and still working great

Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Never again

published

Ignition module failed after 2 months and they replaced it and it still didn't work properly. So now just after a year its done it again. Absolutely shocking treatment at morayfield stihl dealer. Im disgusted in how they treat customers. Also ill add i use it once a day for 10 minutes and it cant even handle that.... what a joke.

Stihl doesn't work

published

i listened to my dealer and did everything they said regarding fuel type, methods to start up etc and the machine still does not start easily. When it does, and I with it off temporarily for leaf clearance it won't restart. the product is rubbish.

Tim Pearson
Tim PearsonPerth, WA
  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Not the quality you'd expect to see in a stihl product

published

My bg56 blower packed up after 2 months. The ignition module failed. Its tools like these that give stihl a bad name. Their intention to sell tools for home use - the mums and dads has resulted in a slight loss of quality through their desire to market domestic tools competitively. Shonky ignition modules, inferior carbies, mufflers that clog up, weak alloys and tools that don't stay running. Many of their flagship tools arn't made in germany anymore, let alone their Walmart style replica range.

Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rubbish

published

Purchased still blower as supposed to be quality, has never run correctly from day one always had a flat spot servicing could not ever get it to run correctly.
Now it will not rev at all and stalls complete rubbish at least my pope blower for half the price still runs great. I will never buy s Stihl product again!
Nothing
Never has run correctly

Load of crap

published

Used once blew fine.
Took it out to use a second time did not start. Took it back to Stihl dealer only to be told 2 weeks until they can look at it.
Never again. Much better success with cheaper alternatives.
I bought a Stihl for the quality it aint there , go elsewhere.

Total garbage, never agian buy a Stihl.

stihlshop1
stihlshop1

I am glad it died

published

Questions & Answers

Philo
Philoasked

Unusual situation. The blower has worked well for 12 years. Today , for an unknown reason the blower shaft literally blew off. Trying to reattach it did not work, unless I held it in place. Any explanations or suggestions? Thanks

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

Hi Take it to your nearest Stihl dealer, Im sure they will reinsert it for no charge.

Glenn C.
Glenn C.asked

Approximate price

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

$400AU

andrew
andrewasked

how do you atatch vacuum,please

1 answer
GrillaBBQ
GrillaBBQ

Hi Andrew you need a flat screwdriver, turn the sthil on it's side white air intake upwards. Locate the slot that you can insert the screw driver to release the cover. Pull cover back and look for the imprinted arrows on the side of the intake and the large tube which will suck up the leaves, line them up and twist the sleeve to lock the two together. Repeat the same for the bag collector. There might be a video on youtube?

See all Stihl BG 56 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Blower Vacuums
Price (RRP)249
TypePetrol
Maximum Air Velocity230
Weight4.2
Vacuum FunctionNo
Release dateFeb 2010
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.