??!
4 photos
Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

FS 45, FS 45 C-E, FS 45R
2.7 from 67 reviews

Reviews

2.5

11 reviews
5
(3)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Previous
Next

Useless.

published

This thing is a pain in butt
Has been back for repairs twice because it wouldn't start.
And the head is the most annoying whipper snipper head iv ever used. Doesn't feed properly, will spit the hole line out. Just doing a backyard you to stop like 10 times to fiddle with the head to get line to come out.
Spent the extra coin on this because I had a cheap on before, this one is worse then the cheap Chinese one I had..

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Alan Coles

Alan ColesTimaru

  • 2 reviews

It is good

published

Easy to start if you follow instuctions, choke and prime, make sure primer bubble is completly full of fuel. My one starts after 2-3 pulls on starter One fault is the line needs to be heavier. As to line not feeding out, make sure you hit line feed button with full revs, I was told by dealer to do it at idle, would not work, service agent said use high revs, no more problems Meets my needs.

Purchased for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst Stihl product i ever had, hard to start keeps stalling, line wont feed, been no good since day 1. Stihl supplier at 239a beach st frankston wont do anything except to blame the user when they know it has problems keep away.

Purchased in June 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ana P.

Ana P.Sydney, NSW

Could be perfect

published

Takes s 3 to 4 strokes to start off but once it starts its great till you need to change the line. It doesnt self feed alwais and you have to take the whole thing out to feed manually.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't give it away

published

Runs well. Starts with 3 or 4 pulls. However the line feed is the biggest piece of junk anyone has put on this earth. It will NOT self feed and you have to pull head apart every time. It went back to,dealer and he can't figure it out either. Don't waist your money buy another brand. If I could I would give a negitve rating of -5.

Purchased in October 2019 at Gympie for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
Justchill

JustchillSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Sthil trying to start

published

Its a little short
Lound
Have had to take to the shop 3 times in 2 year
Would not start fixed under warranty
Cord snaped payed for
Carbie went out of blue runing fine then would not start 120 buck
Sthil have a good name buy a honda 4 stroke disapointed in sthil carbie are poor

Purchased in April 2018 for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
Love to fish

Love to fishGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable

published

I have had my FS45 easy start for about 13 years and its never given me any problems. Its mainly used around the house every week and it starts fine all the time same as my shrill blower. Would definitely by another one

Purchased in June 2006 at Sthill shop Thomastown .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
c. ranky

c. rankyIllawarra, NSW

Stihl junk

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Ray40

Ray40Hobart, TAS

  • 10 reviews

Battery powered trimmer is perfect for my needs

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute piece of junk

published

Only had this for under 6 months, started well the first couple times, now you break a sweat trying to get it started...10 minutes later your heading for the fridge to crack the top of one. Goes through a ton of line an you gotta give it the berries to get through minimal grass.. Never again will I buy a stihl product.

Purchased in September 2018.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
Richard Neville

Richard NevillePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Disappointed

published

This whipper snipper is high revving and is very temperamental to start. It was purchased to replace my previous Stihl wipper snipper which I had had for many years but this one doesn't stack up to it's predecessor. It is used for my residential front and back garden and just meets my needs. I would hate to be using it in a large area.

Purchased in November 2017 at Beechboro Mowers for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E reviews

Questions & Answers

Diana R.

Diana R.asked

FS 45 C-E

What is the difference of the fs45 and the fs45c?

1 answer
Alan Coles
Alan Coles

Easy start system on fs45c, no need to pull heaps of cord, just short pulls on starting cord, more gentle recoil on spring in recoil starter. If you follow instructions on starting it is very easy

Guluzar Egilmez

Guluzar Egilmezasked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

How much is the delivery and do you Harvey Norman gift card and can we pay remainder with credit card? regards Mrs Guluzar Egilmez my email address is guluzar_egilmez@yahoo.com.au

No answers
Blaze Tomeski

Blaze Tomeskiasked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

How to started and mixing the full.

2 answers
Ana P.
Ana P.

Do you mean how to start and mix the fuel?

Ana P.
Ana P.

You'll need STIHL 2 Stroke oil, an empty and clean fuel can & fresh unleaded fuel from a reputable petrol station. Mix at 50:1 (20mls oil per 1 litre fuel) when you're using STIHL 2-Stroke oil.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.