??!
5 photos
Stihl FS 85 R

Stihl FS 85 R

4.9 from 11 reviews

Reviews

4.9

11 reviews
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
    Previous
    Next
    A06

    A06Armidale

    • 24 reviews

    Great trimmer for large block

    published

    I replaced a small Hitachi 2-stroke trimmer with this Stihl one after I threw the Hitachi one into the paddock in frustration. It was a horribly underpowered machine attached to a very complicated head and line system. Happy to say the Stihl FS 85 R is neither.

    Plenty of power and a simple auto-dispensing line system. Get yourself some decent trimmer line and this will go all day. I use it to tidy up around garden beds and grass borders in our 1 acre garden, very happy with it.

    Bought the R model with the loop handle as I wanted to be able to turn it over for edging rather than just brush-cutting with the bike handle model.

    Date PurchasedDec 2018
    aumegm

    aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

    • 8 reviews

    Stihl FS 85 R

    published

    Have used the FS 85 R in a commercial setting with no issues. If you use the correct fuel ratio, then you shouldn't have any issues. I recommend buying a Sure Tap 2 head and using it in place of the Stihl Auto Cut head that comes with the unit. It is easier to load, gives you more time between reloading and wastes less line trimmer cable.

    Date PurchasedMar 2018
    The Mugicas

    The MugicasNorth Queensland, QLD

    • 7 reviews
    • 3 likes

    More trustworthy than my cattle dog

    published

    Big names have turned me off lately but after owning my Stihl FS/85 it has changed my faith. It has never stopped and always ready to go. 2 years ago bought an opponents brand and with in days regretted it and just bought cheap throw away brands but was told to and buy sthil. Faith restored and never let me down. Always ready.

    Date PurchasedDec 2017
    Petrol Whipper Snippers

    Find out how Stihl FS 85 R compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    RJK

    RJKMelbourne

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Brilliant, tough, reliable and easy to use

    published

    Fantastic - use it regularly on our acre block. Easy so start, easy to use and very effective. I also have Stihl branded Blower and Chain saw and find both these items also to be excellent. I see negative reviews and cant understand what the difference can be. My local Stihl dealer is also very knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend this product.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    DBB

    DBB

    • 3 reviews

    Very good

    published

    Had for 3 weeks. 7 hrs straight hard work cutting down 6ft tall Johnson grass with 2.7mm Stihl round line. Trimmer is powerful and good compromise between weigh and power. Used on 6 lawns to edge and blend grass with 2.4mm round cord and it loves it. This was an upgrade from my FS45 and am very happy.

    I have always mixed fuel oil ratio at 43:1 just to keep cooler than 50:1 and keep her lubed up nicely. Honestly, maybe the people with negative reviews got lemons? Stihl is good stuff in my experience with 2 whipper snippers and 2 chain saws, I’ve had zero problems.

    Date PurchasedNov 2017
    RenegadeLC

    RenegadeLCAU

    • 4 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Great addition to the Arsenal

    published

    The power in this machine is undoubtedly more than i had expected. From owning a little bent shaft makita to this thing WOW!! It's halved the time on a couple of jobs iv done i recommend this to anyone in the lawn care biz or anyone with a bit of land and long grass to clear. This will not disapoint

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    Kevin.E

    Kevin.EMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

    • 3 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Just bought another one!

    published
    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    Chris

    Chrissydney

    • 3 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Great machine.

    published

    Just bought an 85R to replace the Victa Tornado that I used three times and returned to Bunnings.
    The Stihl is light, powerful, easy to use/start and the auto feed line head is easy to load and economical on line consumption.
    A very very impressive unit that makes edging and rough clearing a breeze.

    Date PurchasedJan 2017
    Nick

    NickVictoria, 3691

    • 4 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Love it!

    published

    This thing could cut down a tree! It starts so easily, packs a punch and is worth every cent. It's the most money I have ever spent on something like this but I am so glad I did. I got the optional blade attachment and it's pretty good too. I have a lot of woody weeds and it blasts through them.

    Petrol Whipper Snippers

    Find out how Stihl FS 85 R compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Bretto

    BrettoSydney

    Excellent

    published

    Have been using this for years, it's still running and never had an issue, even me wife can use it no worries. Its never faulted on us and its cutting abilities are schmick! The yard looks a million bucks after I mow and wiper snipper. I did have one instance where it cut out on me and I had to replace a part but for 12 years running I think it's great. It's still going strong! I would recommend to everyone!

    Garrys

    GarrysGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great brushcutter

    published

    I cant understand these negative reviews - I 've had mine for around 8 years now. I'm not a contractor - just a landowner so it doesn't get a thrashing but it does cut a lot of thick grass for up to a couple of hours at a time. Never had a problem with it - never had it serviced for that matter. She runs perfectly and the line refill is fine - a bit fiddly but nothing much once you get the hang of it.

    See all Stihl FS 85 / FS 85 R reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Don

    Donasked

    FS 85 R

    What power?

    No answers
    Pamper Hamper

    Pamper Hamperasked

    FS 85 R

    Is this item 2 stroke or 4 stroke

    1 answer
    Don
    Don

    2 Stroke

    Get an answer from our members

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.