3 photos
Stihl FSA 65

Stihl FSA 65

3.4 from 8 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.4

8 reviews
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Safety
    3.0 (1)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Max
MaxNortheast, VIC

Not good enough for the money.

published

The battery is too hard to get out and the auto line feed does not work. It is crap. Not worth the money. I cannot believe that it is a Stihl product. I have had other Stihl products and have been very happy with them but when you read the manul, you realise that it must be made in China because the instructions are crap.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Lightweight, powerful, long battery life

published

This trimmer is lightweight for this over 50 woman and it has two lines of trimming power that really take care of the weeds. The battery lasts a long time but I have two batteries since I also use it for my Stihl lawnmower. It was difficult to get the battery released but since I pulled out the prongs at the back a little and used vaseline on the sides it has been much easier. I also had difficulty refilling the spool with trimmer line but now I clean out the spool and make sure that I insert the twine until it is engaged in the spool. This is much better than dragging a heavy cord around my yard or carrying a heavy gas powered trimmer.

Date PurchasedJune 2015

How to do complicated when you can do simple

published

How to do complicated when you can do simple... The system for putting cutting line is RIDICULOUSLY STUPID AND COMPLICATED! GOOD LUCK! I am a landscape pro of 20 plus years and have never seen such a complicated spooling system to replace the cutting line. I PROMISE YOU WILL WANT TO RIP YOUR HAIR OUT!

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FSA 65 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave
DaveMelbourne

Waste of money. Stihl offer poor customer service

published

Five weeks old, Used it twice to have a piece of long grass get caught between the motor and spool head. Ruined motor. Stihl refusing to fix under warranty or refund money. Will cost more than buying a new one to fix. Don't wate your time with stihl, Will have to take the to small claims (vcat) to get my money back.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dave
Dave

After complaining at Mitre 10 who gave us great service Stihl agreed to a refund and I got my money back

Beverly Henderson
Beverly Henderson
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My best ever investment.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Alan Dunn
Alan DunnMAITLAND
  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

In a league of its own

published
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Elmo
ElmoShellharbour
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Expensive but good

published

Lovely silent trimmer with heaps of power and very good battery life. I chose the smaller and cheaper AP-115 battery which has 50% charge left after I'm done trimming the back and front yards of our townhouse. I don't see myself going back to the stinky noisy petrol trimmers ever.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
tmark tas
tmark tasNorth-West & West coast, TAS
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

It works

published

I live on a small acreage and use it to cut back the small patches of weeds that pop up around the place, stick it in ATV in morning and can knock them back during the day. Quick and easy and no herbicides. It's just works, and is not too loud. It holds it's charge well over 6 months in the winter.

See all Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jim W.
Jim W.asked
FSA 65

How to dismantle the cutting head to service

1 answer
Phill
Phill

Just undo the centre nut. The entire head just pulls off. You may need a pair of Multi grip pliers. It's the large round bit about the size of a 50 cent piece in the middle.

See all Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85 questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl FSA 65

Details

Compare both Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85
CategoryBattery Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $265.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraight
Power SourceBattery (Built-In)
Engine TypeLithium-Ion Battery
Cutting Head TypeLine
FeaturesVibration Damping
Cutting Width300 mm
Weight2.7 kg
Noise Level 91 dB
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2012
Compare both Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.