?
? !
2 photos
Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

MS 170, MS 171
3.9 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Long-life air filter system

  • Anti-vibration system

  • Chain brake

Cons

  • Can be difficult to start up

  • Poor build quality

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Safety
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Victoria Jonson

Victoria JonsonFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dreadful

published

I bought this chainsaw based on the reviews. However. I seriously wish I'd never bought it now. It is an absolute nightmare to get going .Everytime I want to use it I have to return to the store to get the staff to get it going. I deeply regret buying it and wished I'd got and electric chain saw.

Purchased in April 2018 at Braschs for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Handle is plastic $70 to replace didn’t last three trees

published

I waited six years to buy a Skihl. Got the warranty. look on the bottom. Plastic handle. It’s held together with a tiny piece of plastic on a spring cracks easy cheap Chinese junk now. You’ve been Warned by if you’re an idiot.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

cheap rubbish

published

was ok to use at the start, used this chainsaw 8 times and nothing but troubles. under powered, no decent tuning ability and now it is not running in the high rpm range. it is unable to be tuned like most decent chainsaws and i have decided to bin it as the cost of repair does not warrant the return to service. i will go buy a decent echo next or a cheap bunnings chainsaw i think.

Purchased in December 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darrell

DarrellGoodyear

Junk worst ever

published

Worked great3 times. Took in to the dealer they said i mixed the fuel too lean. And scored the piston took the spark plug out bought a new one plugged it the coil wire gripped it my hand and got a Very little tingle!! Called Stihl got no reply back from the West coast rep. I only run stihl oil and fuel so much for stihl they are now selling Chinese don't waste your money on this saw!! If you're going to buy a stihl. Find out where it was made!! I own many of their products and love them

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do not waste your money.

published

Worked great the very first time I used it and that was it.been back to the shop twice since and the last time carb.was replaced and it still does not work well at all.has a brand new chain on it and I could cut a log faster with an axe then this thing will cut.been using saws for over 20 yrs. would not recommend this saw to anyone.hard to start, no power and stalls constantly.

Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beffa

BeffaPerth

Waste of Money

published

This is the most unreliable chainsaw I have ever known. The only good thing I can say is that it starts easily. I have owned it for only 2 years and it has been back to the dealers for repairs 3 time now, and the repair total costs are now just over 50% of the purchase price. My previous chainsaw was a husqvarna of similar size but not only was it cheaper to buy but in 10 years it never required any more than routine services. Regret now I was talked into "trading up"

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Absolute rubbish

published

Have had this rubbish Stihl chainsaw for four years and it has always been difficult to start. It has been "serviced" by the dealer twice, and is no easier to start. My previous chainsaw - a Husqvarna - was great and was always very easy to start. I will be tossing this Stihl chainsaw in the garbage.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
cam

camCanberra

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

worst chain saw ive ever owned

published

one of the most pethatic and useless saws ive ever owned bought it 12 months ago and ive been back to the dealer 7 times due to faults on the machine, this saw is just terrible, ive previously owned husqvarna saws and they have worked wonderful for me not a problem, i only bought a stihl on the advise of a mate saying they were alot better, its heavier, its louder, it struggles even on small logs with a sharp chain, this machine is everything that is wrong in the world!
this saw needs to go back to the drawing board cause ive had that many problems with it its not funny,
i would never buy one of this saws again!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeanne

JeanneSomerset, CA

A disgrace to Stihl

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TODDY

TODDYYASS

  • 13 reviews
  • 33 likes

Stihl MS170 [censored word removed]

published

I have owned many stihl saws from, ms 170 to 090, i current have a ms170, 07, 08s,ms660, 090av.
The ms170 is the biggest bit of [censored word removed] i have put fuel into, it wont run properly, wont rev, hard to start, leaks bar oil out of the tank when stored, just a bit of junk.
I know of four other ms170 and they are all the same "junk"
I have been back to stihl for repairs, no luck yet, they cant even fix it. Its now a shed filler.
Dont buy a ms170 bit of [censored word removed] junk.
Size is small enough to take camping.
Leaks all the oil out while being stored, hard to start, wont rev, junk.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not good

published

Only bought it a few months ago. The thing never starts. I use the same fuel in my other equipment and they work perfectly. I've returned it 4 times. I only use it in a domestic situation so it's not like it's getting overworked. I'm looking to buy another brand now as I've given up on Stihl

Almost impossible to start

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss reviews

Questions & Answers

Jack D. W.

Jack D. W.asked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Does the MS170 , MS 171, MS 180 and MS181 all have automatic chain oilers?

No answers
lescam

lescamasked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

what size cutter bar does stihl mini boss come with?

No answers
Mark

Markasked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

So I tried to put a new 16" Stihl chain on my Stihl ms-170...and the bar grooves were too narrow for the new chain. Are there different chain link widths for the standard 16", chain? Thanks!

1 answer
mancuniancom
mancuniancom

I bought a cheap chain from China which claimed to be specifically for this model. Looked OK but, like you, the bar groove was too narrow. So I bought another on Ebay at 1 X TITAN CHAINSAW CHAIN 3/8LP .043 50DL 14” FOR STIHL MS170 MS180 MS171 MS181 SOLD BY carby_doctor. They asked me for info on bar and chain fits.

See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Details

The MiniBoss series by STIHL presents an entry-level petrol-powered chainsaw, ideal for cutting firewood and felling small trees. It’s easy to start with a combi-lever and contains an automatic STIHL Ematic chain lubrication system.

Features

STIHL anti-vibration system: This anti-vibration system dampens the oscillations from the engine which significantly reduces vibrations at the handles, too, ensuring smooth operation of the chainsaw.

Compensator: This controller in the carburetor prevents the fuel-air mixture from getting richer as the air filter becomes clogged which keeps the fuel/air ratio in the combustion mixture constant. This also makes the engine power constant. The filter doesn't need to be cleaned until a significant drop in power occurs.

Single-lever master control: All the important functions such as start, choke, throttle and stop can be operated via a single lever.

STIHL Ematic-System: The Ematic chain lubrication system ensures pinpoint lubrication of the saw chain links and guide bar rails. When used with STIHL OILOMATIC saw chain, it will provide maximum lubrication, longer wear and less oil consumption than conventional methods of chain lubrication. The Ematic system can reduce bar oil consumption by up to 50%.

STIHL ElastoStart: STIHL ElastoStart reduces the shock caused by the compression of the engine during starting. The compression shock is taken away from the user’s joints and muscles through a spring or rubber element in the starter handle.

Pre-separation air filtration system: The innovative long-life air filter system greatly extends the service life of the filter. Air routing removes larger particles of dirt, meaning the actual filter has less to do, and the saw can be used for longer without having to clean the filter.

Advanced combustion technology: Four overflow channels swirl the fuel-air mix before ignition, allowing for optimum combustion and highly efficient performance. The result is lower consumption and high torque across a broad rpm range.

QuickStop Chain Brake: The QuickStop chain brake is a protective mechanism when handling chainsaws. The chain brake is operated via the front hand guard and brings the saw chain to a standstill in fractions of a second. If the kickback is strong enough, the Quick Stop Chain Brake automatically releases.

Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $249.00$399.00
Use PruningPruning
Bar Length35 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System and Automatic Chain Oiling / LubricationAnti-Vibration System, Chain Brake and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight4 kg4.3 kg
Power (kW)1.3 kW
Engine Displacement30.1 cc31.8 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity250 mL270 mL
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.