?
? !
2 photos
Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

MS 170, MS 171
3.9 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Long-life air filter system

  • Anti-vibration system

  • Chain brake

Cons

  • Can be difficult to start up

  • Poor build quality

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
John

John

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Little Saw

published

Purchased in July 2015 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good for current price

published

Starts alright if you follow directions and use new fuel and Stihl oil. Full choke (lever to bottom) and few pulls till fires. If fires but not start, click choke lever up a notch. That usually starts after a few pulls and then blip to idle and off you go. Spoke to dealer and he stressed importance of fresh fuel if even 10 hrs old. Is a solid, reliable tool for price. Not meant for large trees but good for re-growth and branch pruning. Not too heavy for older man or fit female.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pig

PigGillett

Oil leaking

published

Peaple when chain oil leak just open cap when done working to relieve pressure and won't leak much. Same with gas cap. Great little saw. Great for limbing but also for falling small trees and bucking up. Would buy another any time also own a 251 and a dolmar 7900.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris U

Chris USouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for home!

published

Very easy to start, even after extended storage. You can double the warranty to 4 years, at the cost of buying a $15 (1L) bottle of oil when first purchased. Can feel a little under powered at times,especially if you haven't sharpened the chain in a while. Otherwise a perfect saw for home use. Pays itself off after 1 year vs a $99 throwaway saw just in its ease of use and reliability.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 26 likes

Bought after reading reviews, owning a Stihl Blower Vac and still having a bad taste in my mouth fro

published

A great little chainsaw, unfortunately I found it a little under powered than what I expected for the job I used it for and the first time I used it, having said that I have only used it once and at this stage have no requirements to trim other trees. At the time of purchase I was given free chain

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colorbond

ColorbondSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does okay processing firewood

published

I bought this chainsaw to process firewood for my fireplace. Only downside is that it can be a little hard to start. I mainly use it to cut gum branches and trunks. I probably should have gotten a model with a bigger motor but for the price, it’s good value.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mika

MikaPatterson Lakes

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

WOW, surprised by what it has done!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TJC

TJCMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pros and cons

published

When I bought my MS170 from Mitre 10 it had a very light weight chain on it. The chain lasted me about a week then bought a new (same) chain which lasted about 2 days and could not be sharpened. I just ordered 3 new chains from Ebay and they are much heavier duty and bigger teeth on them. Just tested it on a log and its like a new chainsaw. The original chain on it from new was pathetic and the teeth were tiny. Much more satisfied now. Was going to sell the saw but happy with it now. Testing it out tomorrow on a full day of cutting down medium size trees so will see how it goes. It starts ok after a bit of choke but revs out pretty high which can take you a bit unaware if your not ready for it!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jasonw1000

jasonw1000Brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Does what it says on the packet and does it well.

published

Over all this is a pretty good saw.

I flooded it first time but once I got the hang of the start up procedure there's been no problems since. Its done the job of cutting branches and small trees without too much difficulty. It sometimes struggles to tackle really hard wood but I'm going to replace the chain and have a feeling that will do the trick. I bought this saw one year ago and am still using the original chain.
Cons: Lots of plastic and feels a little cheap in the hands. Leaks bar oil when stored but not enough for it to be an issue.

No regrets about buying this saw and would recommend it to others.

Date PurchasedSept 2015
1 comment
jasonw1000
jasonw1000
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A decent saw for a decent price,

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
woftam

woftam

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfectly good for trees it was designed for.

published

I've been using this machine for about a month now and can say I'm happy with it's performance. If you read the manual carefully and not jump steps in the operating procedure it will work for you. Starts every time for me when warm or cold. The biggest piece of wood I've cut would be around 25cm in diameter which it went thru no worries. It's not a hard core chainsaw but it perfect enough for the home owner for trimming limbs or cutting firewood. I'm happy with it and would give it an 8 out of 10.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pickett

pickett

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good

published

Good for domestic use although in hindsight I would have gone for a farm boss as it doesn't like the thicker domestic stuff. This is my first chainsaw and it has been a good learning experience. If I had a wood burner and needed it to cut up some dead logs I would not use this saw. It really is purely for home use.
It is a reliable machine that is easy to start from cold.
Doesn't like going through 15cm diameter trees too much but it gets there.

1 comment
Scott
Scott

try sharpening your chain,I have one and it will eats a 12 inch tree with ease if chain is sharp.Had saw for 5 years now and never had problem with it.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss reviews

Questions & Answers

Bill H.

Bill H.asked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Hi bought still 171 mini boss off the wrack at dealer starting problem emeditaly
back on wrack
second one better until out it field dreadfulstart also
seems like fuel not helping when starting up cough and cough later pull trigger to run chain dies completely warranty expired by one month
now have 170 runs ok but quote to deal with other $80 per hour
One does not chuck these units over shoulder every 5 minutes
Any tips
Bill Holleman

1 answer
Dogman
Dogman

Bill, U-tube have some good videos on the best starting procedure. I suggest you take a look. They don't like stale fuel so it's best to drain the tank when not using it. My 170 seized up so I changed brand and paid a bit more for an Echo chainsaw. It's beautifully engineered, starts first pull and runs very smoothly (made in Japan too). I'm not longer a fan of Stihl although I do own a Stihl petrol blower which has been a great machine. It's old and not made in China.

Jack D. W.

Jack D. W.asked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Does the MS170 , MS 171, MS 180 and MS181 all have automatic chain oilers?

No answers
lescam

lescamasked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

what size cutter bar does stihl mini boss come with?

No answers
See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Details

The MiniBoss series by STIHL presents an entry-level petrol-powered chainsaw, ideal for cutting firewood and felling small trees. It’s easy to start with a combi-lever and contains an automatic STIHL Ematic chain lubrication system.

Features

STIHL anti-vibration system: This anti-vibration system dampens the oscillations from the engine which significantly reduces vibrations at the handles, too, ensuring smooth operation of the chainsaw.

Compensator: This controller in the carburetor prevents the fuel-air mixture from getting richer as the air filter becomes clogged which keeps the fuel/air ratio in the combustion mixture constant. This also makes the engine power constant. The filter doesn't need to be cleaned until a significant drop in power occurs.

Single-lever master control: All the important functions such as start, choke, throttle and stop can be operated via a single lever.

STIHL Ematic-System: The Ematic chain lubrication system ensures pinpoint lubrication of the saw chain links and guide bar rails. When used with STIHL OILOMATIC saw chain, it will provide maximum lubrication, longer wear and less oil consumption than conventional methods of chain lubrication. The Ematic system can reduce bar oil consumption by up to 50%.

STIHL ElastoStart: STIHL ElastoStart reduces the shock caused by the compression of the engine during starting. The compression shock is taken away from the user’s joints and muscles through a spring or rubber element in the starter handle.

Pre-separation air filtration system: The innovative long-life air filter system greatly extends the service life of the filter. Air routing removes larger particles of dirt, meaning the actual filter has less to do, and the saw can be used for longer without having to clean the filter.

Advanced combustion technology: Four overflow channels swirl the fuel-air mix before ignition, allowing for optimum combustion and highly efficient performance. The result is lower consumption and high torque across a broad rpm range.

QuickStop Chain Brake: The QuickStop chain brake is a protective mechanism when handling chainsaws. The chain brake is operated via the front hand guard and brings the saw chain to a standstill in fractions of a second. If the kickback is strong enough, the Quick Stop Chain Brake automatically releases.

Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $249.00$399.00
Use PruningPruning
Bar Length35 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System and Automatic Chain Oiling / LubricationAnti-Vibration System, Chain Brake and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight4 kg4.3 kg
Power (kW)1.3 kW
Engine Displacement30.1 cc31.8 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity250 mL270 mL
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.