?
? !
2 photos
Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

MS 170, MS 171
3.9 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Long-life air filter system

  • Anti-vibration system

  • Chain brake

Cons

  • Can be difficult to start up

  • Poor build quality

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Safety
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Sean K

Sean KMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Solid piece of engineering you won’t regret passing over you hard earned cash for BUT!!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2009 at Gumtreee .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anthony

AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Tree trimmer

published

We purchased this little beauty as it was cheaper than having our 30 year old one repaired after lending it to friend. (it did not take to well being run over by a tractor and slasher)
We use this model to trim back the smaller branches and trees up to about 250 mm in diameter depending on circumstances. It cut very clean and quickly so long as you keep the chain sharp. Light and easy to manage and use. Ideal if you have to be up in a tree to drop limbs. the only negative is that it appears to use more chain oil than the old model. All in all a great little a great little machine and great value for the money.

Purchased in February 2018 at Brisbane Mower Centre.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
aumegm

aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Stihl MS 171.

published

Have used the MS 171 in a commercial setting. Use the correct fuel ratio and follow the startup instructions on the Stihl website, you shouldn't have any issues. Save the cutting of stumps until the end as cutting dirty wood will result in a blunt chain. Generic chains are available on eBay at a cost of $10-15. Keep a few in your kit & change them over as soon as the saw stops pulling into the wood to avoid further damage. At this price, it is hardly worth the time of sharpening.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SimonG

SimonGCliftleigh

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Saw

published

Fantastic Chainsaw.
Have owned it for 2 weeks and have used it for hours cutting up firewood.
The best thing I did was walk out of Bunnings ans givw the Stihl shop a go.
The price was not much more than the rubbish at Bunnings.
Easy to start and look after

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bren

brennsw

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

top little saw

published

got one of these when we built on 5 acres ,a great saw , starts every time,i have cut down 50m trees with this , shouldnt of really ,but it done the job and saved me hiring someone else with a big chainsaw...no complaints about this saw , as a carpenter i also use it a lot on roofing jobs and other projects along with the usual firewood duties....i have had many electric saws that only last a year or 2 but this has been going longer than that and is in great order.....

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

First saw I reach for.

published

I have owned my ms170 for over 10 years now and I never have any issues starting it. I do treat all my saws like my children. It gets used at least twice a week and never lets me down. Keep the chains sharp and the bar oil topped up and i expect to be using it for another 10 years

Date PurchasedApr 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Saw .Be Sure to learn how to start it

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mully

MullyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Little Saw

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig

CraigThurgoona

Great value saw for price.

published

Bought this saw as we had been quoted $1600 to cut down a tree. Wanted a light weight saw. It was a 14m tall claret ash. Wood not too hard. Saw worked hard for a good 8 hours. Pruned the main trunk then trimmed the main branches. Cut a number of branches that exceeded the 14 inch bar length. So happy I vent out and bought a second hand 660 to cut fire wood.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ImalumberjackandimOK

ImalumberjackandimOKMount Dandenong, Vic.

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely top notch

published

I have been using this saw almost daily for two months.
It takes a good few pulls to start it initially but, somehow you know that it will start and, after that, it starts first pull every time.
It is light enough to take up a tree yet it can tackle some really heavy jobs.
This is my favourite and I can highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jeremy.ieraci

jeremy.ieraciDarwin, NT

  • 29 reviews
  • 28 likes

Replaces a Ryobi

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Should have bought 2

published

Hands down best $250 I've spent on a power tool. I have 5 other chainsaws and this gets the most use out of all of them. Pruning, bucking, felling small trees, can't beat it. I often find myself on Tippy toes with this in one hand (gasp!!) and it's so light and easy to use I'm not worried about it kicking. My wife and the kids have all learnt safe technique on this saw. Follow the starting procedure and it starts on the 5th pull every time. Been through nothing but oil, fuel and chain. Why would you buy a Ryobi at Bunnings, honestly? 3 year warranty too.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bretann

bretannMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 42 reviews
  • 67 likes

Great performer

published

I was going to buy the more expensive model but considered the amount of times it would be used, and I’m a cheapskate, it's probably the best $249 with spare chain, I have ever spent. Its lightweight, easy to start provided you closely follow the retailer’s instructions and cut through my 40cm (softwood) tree trunk like butter.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew

AndrewDarling Downs, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic little chainsaw .. tough agile gets the job done

published

Great reliable machine .. couldn't get better value in this size of a quality chainsaw. Going to get a second for extra work we have, important to use fresh fuel and run it out .. we use 95 octane with Stihl 2 stroke and starts first time ..helps keep them clean and don't be afraid to
Rev out .. is a chain saw !

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

Martinyogimoose@aol.com

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

small yet tough

published

Smallest of the range but very useful when you have only smaller limbs etc to cut. The new range of chainsaws seem to rely on revs rather than torque. All the newest models are extremely light compared to the models of a few years ago. As a result they all use finer grade oils so they can rev faster. A consequence of this design direction is that you must keep the revs up. Having said that this little saw is very versatile and light so that it can perform quite a few different tasks. Naturally it's more suited to wood 4-5 inches in diameter. Very good on fuel and the original blade is also long lasting and remains sharp. Hard to find a better saw.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marc

Marc

  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

So good I got a second one

published

I bought this saw for my wife as my larger saw is to heavy/big for her. I ended up using this saw almost all the time with my big saw left on the shelf unless I am cutting large trunks. It is light and easy to use with far more cutting power than I expected. Have had the saw for about 4 years and cut many tons of firewood. I loaned it to a cousin who dropped it and damaged it so I bought a second one while the original was in for repairs (I didn't think it could be fixed, but the Stihl dealer was able to get the parts and the saw is running great).

Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

TomAdelaide

  • 19 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great Saw

published

Paid $299 - Saw, Plastic Carry Case + Blade sheath, spare blade sheath, spare chain and a Stihl cap (joy) + fueled and oiled.

Absolute ripper of a saw. Perfect for smaller jobs around the home and probably medium jobs out and about if you were so inclined. Starts first time everytime.

I reckon you can get the saw for $279 on its own at the moment but the plastic carry case will set you back $80 by itself. Wait for a sale/special event if you can.

Absolutely no complaints from me.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lindsay5710

Lindsay5710Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Got MORE than I paid for

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KarlV

KarlV

  • 4 reviews

Excellent little chainsaw

published

I needed a smaller chainsaw as my MS380 was justt too heavy for the smaller stuff.
The little 170 was on special at the local Stihl dealer so I bought one. Started immediately when I fuelled and oiled it. Is light and easy to handle, perfect for cutting up smaller trees and limbs. Thoroughly recommend this model.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

As good as it can get

published

I have been using chainsaws for over forty years and have used and owned the biggest and the smallest Stihl chainsaws. I have a Ms 170 and what a magic little saw. I have been through ten chains now and it never fails to start. I cut mainly hardwood and it has to cut as big a log as possible. Anyone who has a bad run with one of these is either dead unlicky or don't know what they are doing. I also have a MS251 for bigger logs but the 170 is just a great little saw . Maybe the people who can't start a Stihl should do a course and learn the right way.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss reviews

Questions & Answers

Bill H.

Bill H.asked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Hi bought still 171 mini boss off the wrack at dealer starting problem emeditaly
back on wrack
second one better until out it field dreadfulstart also
seems like fuel not helping when starting up cough and cough later pull trigger to run chain dies completely warranty expired by one month
now have 170 runs ok but quote to deal with other $80 per hour
One does not chuck these units over shoulder every 5 minutes
Any tips
Bill Holleman

1 answer
Dogman
Dogman

Bill, U-tube have some good videos on the best starting procedure. I suggest you take a look. They don't like stale fuel so it's best to drain the tank when not using it. My 170 seized up so I changed brand and paid a bit more for an Echo chainsaw. It's beautifully engineered, starts first pull and runs very smoothly (made in Japan too). I'm not longer a fan of Stihl although I do own a Stihl petrol blower which has been a great machine. It's old and not made in China.

Jack D. W.

Jack D. W.asked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Does the MS170 , MS 171, MS 180 and MS181 all have automatic chain oilers?

No answers
lescam

lescamasked

MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

what size cutter bar does stihl mini boss come with?

No answers
See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Details

The MiniBoss series by STIHL presents an entry-level petrol-powered chainsaw, ideal for cutting firewood and felling small trees. It’s easy to start with a combi-lever and contains an automatic STIHL Ematic chain lubrication system.

Features

STIHL anti-vibration system: This anti-vibration system dampens the oscillations from the engine which significantly reduces vibrations at the handles, too, ensuring smooth operation of the chainsaw.

Compensator: This controller in the carburetor prevents the fuel-air mixture from getting richer as the air filter becomes clogged which keeps the fuel/air ratio in the combustion mixture constant. This also makes the engine power constant. The filter doesn't need to be cleaned until a significant drop in power occurs.

Single-lever master control: All the important functions such as start, choke, throttle and stop can be operated via a single lever.

STIHL Ematic-System: The Ematic chain lubrication system ensures pinpoint lubrication of the saw chain links and guide bar rails. When used with STIHL OILOMATIC saw chain, it will provide maximum lubrication, longer wear and less oil consumption than conventional methods of chain lubrication. The Ematic system can reduce bar oil consumption by up to 50%.

STIHL ElastoStart: STIHL ElastoStart reduces the shock caused by the compression of the engine during starting. The compression shock is taken away from the user’s joints and muscles through a spring or rubber element in the starter handle.

Pre-separation air filtration system: The innovative long-life air filter system greatly extends the service life of the filter. Air routing removes larger particles of dirt, meaning the actual filter has less to do, and the saw can be used for longer without having to clean the filter.

Advanced combustion technology: Four overflow channels swirl the fuel-air mix before ignition, allowing for optimum combustion and highly efficient performance. The result is lower consumption and high torque across a broad rpm range.

QuickStop Chain Brake: The QuickStop chain brake is a protective mechanism when handling chainsaws. The chain brake is operated via the front hand guard and brings the saw chain to a standstill in fractions of a second. If the kickback is strong enough, the Quick Stop Chain Brake automatically releases.

Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $249.00$399.00
Use PruningPruning
Bar Length35 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System and Automatic Chain Oiling / LubricationAnti-Vibration System, Chain Brake and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight4 kg4.3 kg
Power (kW)1.3 kW
Engine Displacement30.1 cc31.8 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity250 mL270 mL
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.