4 photos
Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

3.0 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Stihl? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Safety
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Karl
KarlSydney, NSW

Easy to start and powerful

published

Purchased in August 2021 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Luke02
Luke02Mid North Coast, NSW

No complaints here

published

No complaints from me. I cant fault it. Been using it now for over a year and extremely satisfied with it. I was originally put off by other reviews but believe if you look after it, it will look after you .

Purchased in May 2020 for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sunshine happy
Sunshine happyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Excellent so far

published

Bought second hand to replace a 034, not because the 034 gave up, because the anti vibe is better for my hands. Starts within 4 pulls every time from cold and one pull when warm,cuts on par if not a little better than the 034, same bar and chain. Love the anti vibe over the old rubber type. A little heavy for what it is but i don't log with it. A bit more work to get to the filter for cleaning and i love the new fuel and oil caps.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Brodz
BrodzDarling Downs, QLD

Awesome saw.

published

Easy to start, usually kicks over third pull. Great weight with plenty of power to cut through Australian Iron bark, which I cut on regular basis for firewood. Really can't believe reviews on here... look after your gear and it will stay in good Nick for years to come.

Purchased in May 2016 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris
ChrisCoffs harbour
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great all rounder

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Amazing saw!

published

I have owned husy's,jonsonreds,and several other top dollar saws this saw is amazing my grandfather bought it from a friend and its quite old but i love it.i cut wood burls and they are really hard.This stihl runs through it. I use air compressor to blow it out after and its perfect.for these people that wrote bad reveiws buy a poulan and a box of kleenex. Cause you obviously do not know what your doing. If the saw dis run you would probably hurt yourselfs.lol amazing saw wouldnt trade it for anything else.

Date PurchasedAug 2000
Jack
JackMelbourne

Fantasic saw

published

Recently upgraded from a ms170 (owned for 5 years without an issue) to a ms 311. So far a fantasic saw, had it out on a few occasions, it starts easy even without using the decomp button, reliable and has plenty of power. Would recommend as a good all rounder.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Excellent chain saw!

published

It is very easy to start once you figure it out,pops off every time like clock work and once warm....one pull every time. It has very good power and I'm running a 20" bar. Love It! quite baffeled with some of the negative responses???? ripped into some old very hard red oak last year, outdid my buddies comparable Husky. Again couldn't be happier. I run none oxy 91 and Steels top of line oil, never even changed plug yet.

Date PurchasedJuly 2011

stilh 311

published

i have a311 as well runs like a dream, would not be without it. works all day long. like l said , if you look after them ,they do the jod really well, for a average saw i reckon they are the best in they range bye a stilh any dayRon

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ron
RonGeelong
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

311 is perfect chainsaw for the average wood cutter

published
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Ron
Ron

Absolutely fantastic chainsaw! Cannot fault it.

published

I am staggered at some of the negative comments here. I wonder how much is operator error?? The 311 is a fantastic mid-range chainsaw. If you learn to operate it properly, use a good quality 2-stroke oil, and do a little basic maintenance on it to keep it (and the air filter) clean, it will give you years of powerful trouble-free operation. I've had mine for over 5 years and have never had it back at a dealer. I have never had a problem starting it - just follow the same basic procedure every time. I have other Stihl products and I would rate them all as good.

Date PurchasedAug 2011
Nick
NickVictoria, 3691
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great saw.

published
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ron B
Ron BWillis Mi

Awesome Saw

published

125 face cords so far, No problems, Has worked perfectly not even a sparkplug change!! High power, Low fuel consumption,

jay2828
jay2828perth

Absolutely Fantastic!

published

This is my first saw and I cant stop using it! have 5 acres and used it on a 2ft diameter dry, dead tuart and it cut through like butter. it has the 20" bar so i can cut good sized logs in one pass. starts very easily when choke and decomp valve are used correctly, i have had no issues with reliability whatsoever. if i had read the previous revis prior to purchase i would not have gotten one but so glad i did, it is freakin awesome!! :-D
Good power and weight, easy start, cuts toughest woods like butter

richgemhunter
richgemhunter

will leave you spending hours of (fun) ....working out why it won't start .. :(

jay2828
jay2828

haven't had that problem and its started about 30 times so far. each time it starts within a few pulls. sorry to hear of your experience but it certainly hasn't been mine.

Questions & Answers

frank
frankasked

we just bought the ms311 and they started it at the store but when we brought it home it won't start. Any help?

1 answer

Take it back and try to get your cash back. It is a really poorly built chain for Stihl standards and has been plauged with issues including catastrophic engine failure (cylinder and cylinder head burning out). Stihl have attempted to cover this up by encouraging their dealerships to say a poor mix was used. If you can get your money back or change for a different model, I would do so.

Ray H.
Ray H.asked

I have what year were they first bought out

1 answer
Poorbuildquality
Poorbuildquality

2009 I believe, it has been plagued with issues. Really poor build just read thread.

Danny Dawson
Danny Dawsonasked

can you go from 20 inch to 24 inch bar?

No answers
See all Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $1,199.00
Use Pruning and Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cutting
Bar Length50 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication and Quick / Easy Start
Weight6.2 kg
Power (kW)3.1 kW
Power (HP)4.2 HP
Engine Displacement59 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity600 mL
Release dateMar 2010
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.