??!
2 photos
ALDI Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

ALDI Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

MPN: GYJ45-68
3.4 from 25 reviews

See the Best Heat Pump Clothes Dryers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
10
3 star
7
2 star
4
1 star
1

Matthew K.

Matthew K.

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

yes drys cloths when ever I'm cant hang cloths or pushed for time.

published

Dries cloths as required is great value for money always handy to dry your washed cloths and fabric items when the weather forecast is storms and rain allso when you come inside out of the rain with wet cloths

Purchased in April 2017 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Jane L

Jane LGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Stopped working

published

Worked well for 18 months before stopping working altogether, for no apparent reason.

Got a refund with 36 month warranty. It was a bit of a task to get it though. It's made me a bit wary of Aldi appliances.

Purchased at ALDI for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Think twice

published

The dryer filter falls off constantly. Really annoying and noisy.
The rotation ties sheets into big knots which means you constantly have to attend to the wound up pieces. It also ties towels into tight bundles so unless you in attendance the towels are wet after 2 hours.
Cheap but I wouldn't buy another!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sunday1

Sunday1Carlton

  • 4 reviews

Very Simple Dryer Dries Alright

published

This spins around and blows heated air over the clothes for a predetermined time set by a manual timer. About as simple and rudimentary as is humanly possible. It does an alright job but it is built light and has lots of super el-cheapo plastic parts including a lint filter that falls out on its own. Wouldn't get the same one again but it has worked ok so far

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Moose

MooseMoorabin

  • 4 reviews

Works ok bit flimsy

published

This is still running after two years and still drying my clothes so I am happy enough with it. Whether I would actually recommend it to others ais debatable as its a very cheaply made product and it shows - the plastic on the link filter is nonsense and it regularly just falls out so I am not sure I would unless you understand this and want the very cheapest product and understand that it probably wont last all that many years

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Diana.C

Diana.C

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great dryer good options

published

Very good dryer has a lot of options which I think is great because sometimes you don't want to over dry the cloths or you just need to air them out ! Sometimes the cloths are damp and you just need to dry it not the full cycle because of the options.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Guineas

GuineasBulleen

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked well for years now

published

This was cheap to buy and has put in far more service than I thought it would. Its a very simple dryer, just a timer and heat selector and kind of cheap construction but it has worked for over three years now and I have no complaints. Its a little on the small side and can take quite a while with towels but it was very cheap to buy in the first place. Good little worker!

Date PurchasedMay 2015

VKCbase

VKCbasemelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Serves its purpose

published

This dryer is a little weird looking but it works fine. Its a smaller size so I find its best to split out the load in half and dryer half at a time with half airing then swap. Its a little on the plasticky/flimsy side of things so I don't expect to own it forever but it came with an OK guarantee and still works fine a year in. Its cheap and does the job (sort of) but don't expect miracles. Its just a very basic machine

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Cheers55

Cheers55melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Simple Cheap Dryer Works Fine

published

This get really hot for a little dryer and gets the clothes done quite quickly if you dont overfill it. This is very important because due to its small size it can bundle the clothes up if there are too many. The controls are absolutely basic and the construction is adequate, not super strong but it only costs $249! Its good for the price

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Fielding

FieldingMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Winter Saviour

published

Would not be able to get through winter without a dryer and this has turned out very well. I thought it looked a bit strange when we first got it but it has done a good job already and looks like keeping on going fine. Its actually pretty quick for a a dryer due to its compact size and is simple and just works well. It may not last forever but it came with a good guarantee from Aldi.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Anja mew

Anja mew

  • 2 reviews

You get what you pay for

published

This is the second dryer we have in our household of 6 so it’s a great ‘extra’ dryer
Of course there are no intelligent or weight sensors
But hey what do you expect for $150
It does the job of drying and it does it well and in the end if you want all the bells and whistles then you pay for all the bells and whistles but is you need a dryer that does the job and just dries.....this is the one for you great for any units or smaller items of clothing etc 4.5 kg good size!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Galaxy9

Galaxy9melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Cheaply Made Works Well

published

Got this entirely based on price from Aldi. Well they say "you get what you pay for" and so it is. This is a cheaply built plasticky dryer. Despite it's light build it works fine but its hard to see it still running in more than five years. It works best to finish off air dried clothes and also better if the load is split into two. It works fine it just feels cheap.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Delray

DelrayMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Simple Dryer Works OK

published

This is avery basic model and that is reflected in the cheap price. It is a little light in terms of build quality but it does the job. We just use it for hand towels at work and its fine. I don't expect this to last for many years like the old Aussie ones used to because of the cheap plastics and flimsy looking door hinges but it should run OK for a few years.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Cyber12

Cyber12melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Basic Model Works Fine

published

This el cheapo Aldi clothes dryer isn't about to win any design or beauty awards but when it comes to the uncomplicated task of spinning slowly around and blowing hot air, it does the job fine.
Build quality is a little cheaper, the door hinges don't inspire confidence in their long term strength. Price is also cheap though.
‎Its cheap, it works, it probably won't last forever but it's ok

Date PurchasedMay 2017
GTHO

GTHOMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Does The Job

published

Cheap dryer from Aldi does the job.
It's not the biggest by any means but it heats up very well and dries clothes fast. A word of warning though, this is a cheap model and can get too hot if left running so I recommend smaller loads and regular checking of the clothes. There is only hot and cold settings.
The door and filter are a bit plasticky so they may not last forever but for the price paid ($199), it's quite adequate

Date PurchasedApr 2017
B. Salisbury

B. Salisbury

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Aldi's Poor Response to Repair of Faulty Dryer on Warranty

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Aussieidiot

AussieidiotSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

At this price, you get what you pay for

published

Our F+P dryer died and money was tight. Aldi had the dryer as a weekly special, so we thought "why not?!"

It works. It dries the clothes. But it has this really neat hidden feature of rolling up towels and sheets. Perfect for the bachelor who hates folding clothes. Not so great if you want dry towels and sheets.

I have to give some credit to the Stirling Customer Service team. Our lint filter would no longer stay where it should. We found the receipt and warranty card. I contacted them, and told them what was wrong. I didnt want to lug the whole dryer back to Aldi for a refund and hope they come back as a Special Buy. Stirling CST obliged and sent me a replacement filter. Yah! it works so I can go back to neatly rolled towels.......

Date PurchasedMay 2016

ShelleyT

ShelleyT

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works a treat best value for money

published

The stirling clothes dryer is easy to use, with plenty of space to dry bedding.
Great for an active family with lots of washing.
The only downside is the flter is in the back of the drum so to clean the filter you litwrally have to reach right in to remove filter. Not good if you have back injuries.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Tash

TashGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Ideal for emergency drying

published

I dont like using the dryer for environmental reasons but with 3 kids and my eldest starting school we needed sonething for emergency drying. I paid 199. Lightweight so i set it up myself. Works great for 199 however u cant adjust heat otherthan hot or cold and increase in bill as i used it too much in winter. Definefly worth the money however.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

G5

G5Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Value Effective Drier

published

My old secondhand dryer died and I was expecting to pay more than this price for a secondhand one. Easy to install get going and using it. When turned on it's pretty quiet and simple to use. Dries clothes effectively as long as you don't overload it. Perfect for renters as it is light to move and ok getting up a flight of stairs and around corners. Should there be a problem the 3 year warranty is great.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 2

See all ALDI Clothes Dryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about ALDI Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017) but you can read 41 questions about ALDI Clothes Dryer.


Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

CategoryClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $199
Capacity4.5 kg
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Energy Consumption186 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall Mountable
Door Hinge Left
Colour / Finish White
Dimensions 700 x 600 x 435 mm
Drying Programs 4
Temperature Settings 2
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2015
Discontinuation dateApr 2017
Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: GYJ45-68

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.