2ALDI Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)
Part of ALDI Clothes Dryer  2.9 (189)

ALDI Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

 VerifiedMPN:GYJ45-68
3.4

25 reviews · Statistics

PositivevsNegative
52%28%20%

Build Quality
2.7 (3)
Value for Money
4.3 (3)
Ease of Use
4.3 (3)
Cleaning & Maintenance
4.3 (3)
Noise Level
3.0 (3)
See the Best Clothes Dryers in 2024 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

ALDI Clothes Dryer › Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)25 reviews
Naomi L.
Naomi L.NSWSydney Surrounds, NSW
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Average

Works ok for us when the weather is bad to dry the kids clothes and other things. Easy to use and has air setting, warm, and hot setting. No timers or sensor etc. Bad points, the lint filter doesn't stay in, falls off all the time resulting in loud banging noises, and lint all over the laundry. Only rotates one way so sheets and towels are impossible to dry as they just end up in one big ball of wet washing. If you can afford a better one, I would get that one and not this one. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Matthew K.
Matthew K.4 posts
  Fair Incentive Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

yes drys cloths when ever I'm cant hang cloths or pushed for time

Dries cloths as required is great value for money always handy to dry your washed cloths and fabric items when the weather forecast is storms and rain allso when you come inside out of the rain with wet cloths Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Jane L
Jane LVICGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC5 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Stopped working

Worked well for 18 months before stopping working altogether, for no apparent reason.

Got a refund with 36 month warranty. It was a bit of a task to get it though. It's made me a bit wary of Aldi appliances. Show details

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
trev
trev
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Think twice

The dryer filter falls off constantly. Really annoying and noisy.

The rotation ties sheets into big knots which means you constantly have to attend to the wound up pieces. It also ties towels into tight bundles so unless you in attendance the towels are wet after 2 hours.

Cheap but I wouldn't buy another!

 Show details

Sunday1
Sunday1Carlton4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Very Simple Dryer Dries Alright

This spins around and blows heated air over the clothes for a predetermined time set by a manual timer. About as simple and rudimentary as is humanly possible. It does an alright job but it is built light and has lots of super el-cheapo plastic parts including a lint filter that falls out on its own. Wouldn't get the same one again but it has worked ok so far

 Show details

Moose
MooseMoorabin4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Works ok bit flimsy

This is still running after two years and still drying my clothes so I am happy enough with it. Whether I would actually recommend it to others ais debatable as its a very cheaply made product and it shows - the plastic on the link filter is nonsense and it regularly just falls out so I am not sure I would unless you understand this and want the very cheapest product and understand that it probably wont last all that many years

 Show details

Diana.C
Diana.C6 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Great dryer good options

Very good dryer has a lot of options which I think is great because sometimes you don't want to over dry the cloths or you just need to air them out ! Sometimes the cloths are damp and you just need to dry it not the full cycle because of the options.

 Show details

Guineas
GuineasBulleen4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Worked well for years now

This was cheap to buy and has put in far more service than I thought it would. Its a very simple dryer, just a timer and heat selector and kind of cheap construction but it has worked for over three years now and I have no complaints. Its a little on the small side and can take quite a while with towels but it was very cheap to buy in the first place. Good little worker!

 Show details

VKCbase
VKCbasemelbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Serves its purpose

This dryer is a little weird looking but it works fine. Its a smaller size so I find its best to split out the load in half and dryer half at a time with half airing then swap. Its a little on the plasticky/flimsy side of things so I don't expect to own it forever but it came with an OK guarantee and still works fine a year in. Its cheap and does the job (sort of) but don't expect miracles. Its just a very basic machine

 Show details

Cheers55
Cheers55melbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Simple Cheap Dryer Works Fine

This get really hot for a little dryer and gets the clothes done quite quickly if you dont overfill it. This is very important because due to its small size it can bundle the clothes up if there are too many. The controls are absolutely basic and the construction is adequate, not super strong but it only costs $249! Its good for the price

 Show details

Fielding
FieldingMelbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Winter Saviour

Would not be able to get through winter without a dryer and this has turned out very well. I thought it looked a bit strange when we first got it but it has done a good job already and looks like keeping on going fine. Its actually pretty quick for a a dryer due to its compact size and is simple and just works well. It may not last forever but it came with a good guarantee from Aldi.

 Show details

Anja mew
Anja mewQLDSouth East Queensland, QLD6 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

You get what you pay for

This is the second dryer we have in our household of 6 so it’s a great ‘extra’ dryer

Of course there are no intelligent or weight sensors

But hey what do you expect for $150

It does the job of drying and it does it well and in the end if you want all the bells and whistles then you pay for all the bells and whistles but is you need a dryer that does the job and just dries.....this is the one for you great for any units or smaller items of clothing etc 4.5 kg good size!

 Show details

Galaxy9
Galaxy9melbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Cheaply Made Works Well

Got this entirely based on price from Aldi. Well they say "you get what you pay for" and so it is. This is a cheaply built plasticky dryer. Despite it's light build it works fine but its hard to see it still running in more than five years. It works best to finish off air dried clothes and also better if the load is split into two. It works fine it just feels cheap.

 Show details

Delray
DelrayMelbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Simple Dryer Works OK

This is avery basic model and that is reflected in the cheap price. It is a little light in terms of build quality but it does the job. We just use it for hand towels at work and its fine. I don't expect this to last for many years like the old Aussie ones used to because of the cheap plastics and flimsy looking door hinges but it should run OK for a few years.

 Show details

Cyber12
Cyber12melbourne4 posts
  Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68

Basic Model Works Fine

This el cheapo Aldi clothes dryer isn't about to win any design or beauty awards but when it comes to the uncomplicated task of spinning slowly around and blowing hot air, it does the job fine.

Build quality is a little cheaper, the door hinges don't inspire confidence in their long term strength. Price is also cheap though.

‎Its cheap, it works, it probably won't last forever but it's ok

 Show details

Questions & Answers

Amer E.
Amer E. · Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

What is the button for low or high for

Stirling C.
Stirling C. · Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

How much did it cost to buy$$$?

theresa k.
theresa k. · Stirling 4.5kg GYJ45-68 (May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

Why does my filter constantly fall off my 4.5kg dryer

Details

Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
CategoryClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Vented Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Condenser Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $199$269$229$599
Capacity4.5 kg6.5 kg6 kg8 kg
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)7 star(s)
Energy Consumption186 kWh per year287 kWh per year265 kWh per year145 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety LockChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety Lock and Mobile App
Door Hinge LeftLeftRight
Dimensions 700 x 600 x 435 mm820 x 600 x 565 mm840 x 595 x 545 mm850 x 595 x 630 mm
Drying Programs 44415
Temperature Settings 233
Venting TypeRear Venting
Special Buy Dates
  • May 2015
  • 21 May 2016
  • 22 Apr 2017
  • Jun 2015
  • 11 Jun 2016
  • 10 Jun 2017
  • 1 Apr 2010
  • 7 Apr 2011
  • 18 Apr 2012
  • 14 Jun 2014
  • 17 Jul 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteCharcoal or White
Release date
Discontinuation date
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
  • MPN: GYJ45-68

Extra Information

Beko BDP83HW
Haier HDHP-AN1 Series
Beko 7kg BDP710W
Solt Heat Pump Dryers GGSHP
Ariston N11HPLWAU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.