3ALDI Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)
Part of ALDI Clothes Dryer  2.9 (189)

ALDI Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

 VerifiedMPN:GYJ70-78F3E
2.9

47 reviews · Statistics

PositivevsNegative
36%28%36%

Build Quality
3.5 (4)
Value for Money
4.0 (4)
Ease of Use
3.8 (4)
Cleaning & Maintenance
3.5 (4)
Noise Level
4.5 (4)
See the Best Clothes Dryers in 2024 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

ALDI Clothes Dryer › Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)47 reviews
Tuhin S.
Tuhin S.NSWSydney, NSW11 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

ALDI got this wrong

I have Bought a lot of things from ALDI thinking they are thoroughly checked and meet the standards, but this cloths dryer has proved me wrong. After using the machine for couple of years the door has broken down and took really long get it replaced. When you buy white goods you expect to last long but again it didn't. Moved house and it will not turn on, it will trip the house fuse. Finally got read of it by council clean up. ALDI should go to a better supplier and test this products before selling. Disappointed!!!  Show details
Ease of Use
Noise Level
peter young
peter youngNSWMurray Region, NSW5 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

its good

its a good dryer and i am happy with it it dries the clothes really great it does well with delicates i would recommend it to others i normally put in towels and sheets Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
R Surendran R.
R Surendran R.VICGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Perfect for bachelors

Very good and Perfect product from aldi . It's easy to use and good to used especially for bachelors. It's been more than a year and working fine. Love the product Show details
Jennifer B.
Jennifer B.3 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
  • Thumbnail
camellia lady
camellia lady6 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E
Said
SaidSydney13 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Excellent

I purchased the game Stirling (Aldi) 6.5 clothes dryer early last year in an Aldi off Woodville road it is just amazing it’s perfect it dryers my clothing within minutes and I don’t have to worry about going to my backyard to hang my washing I love it and I love the warranty and the options on warranty we should see more electrical equipment in Aldi and other big outlets.

 Show details

Wilsons
WilsonsMalvern4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Still working!

I thought this wouldn't last as long as it has so far. Its one of those cases where as soon as you unpack it you go "oh". Its a bit on the cheap and crumby side of things but amazingly is has been completely reliable and I even used it this morning. Not the biggest capacity, not the best quality but cheap!

 Show details

CheynKissy
CheynKissySouth Australia6 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Just ok

I'm not sure I would recommend this machine unless you were in desperate need for one and on limited funds. Ours lasted us a little under three years which for the price is not bad. We did have to claim a repair about a year in and it took so long to complete that we were not able to use the dryer at all for a couple of months. We were never able to use the highest heat setting as it would make the dryer overheat and shut down and the lint filter is at the back of the machine and its not easy to get off or empty. All in all it was just ok and I wouldn't buy another one.

 Show details

Vintage1
Vintage1Moorabin4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Cheap Aldi dryer - does the job

This is n about to win any design awards! Its a very basic and cheaply made dryer from Aldis weekend special buys over two years a go. It's a bit crappy in sme ways (lint filter falls out due to being super cheap plastic) but its still working and has kept out clothes dry for two winters. Would I buy the same one again? Maybe, so long as I had realistic expectations regarding its very cheap price point. Its ok, not wonderful

 Show details

MorrisTC
MorrisTCKyneton4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Very basic model

We got this at one of those special buys at Aldi. It works but its just about the cheapest dryer available. Its pretty small and if you do a big load, it is often necessary to split the string in two. It's a bit on the plasticky side and probably won't last all that long but it came with a three year guarantee, so I guess I am OK for for. It works but I doubt I would get the same one again.

 Show details

OneLove
OneLoveFrankston4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Good and bad - it works!

I am in two minds about this. yes, its has been good to be able to dry our clothes with but the build quality leaves plenty to be desired, then again, its still under warranty (3 years) so I am covered. This dryer is flimsy and light weight with some parts made from cheap plastic. The lint filter is just silly, it doesnt stay in place. It's also very large and can take a whole load right out of the washer so that good. It has both good and bad points and I suppose you get what you pay for at the end of the day.

 Show details

Newfie
NewfieGeelong4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

A necessity in the southern states

There is no living without a dryer in Victoria and so we were very pleased to see these on special buy at Aldi just when we needed one. It is a larger size dryer with very simple controls. It feels a bit flimsy here and there but build quality is mostly OK and Aldi gives a long guarantee. It works well but can take quite a long time sometimes.

 Show details

Snapper
SnapperBrisbane4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Doesn't dry towels Or sheets

It has never dryed towels or sheets well. Not bad for small items, but the reason I purchased a big dryer was for sheets and towels. It is now just over 3 years old (by 20 days) and have noticed it is not heating as well as it used to. Will put in a warranty claim, hopefully aldi still cover it.

 Show details

Tr00py
Tr00pyMelbourne4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Couldn't live in winter without it

Life in Victoria is hard enough in winter but without a dryer, forget it - it would be impossible! This is not the worlds flashest dryer but it does the job and always works. It is cheaply made with lost of plastic parts and is reasonably small. It has simple controls but it always starts and came with a decent guarantee from Aldi and was cheap!

 Show details

Cap0
Cap0melbourne4 posts
  Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E

Large Capacity Works Well

This turned out to be a good machine but I had my doubts about it at first. It is very light for its size and I wasn't sure about buying white goods from Aldi. They have a three year guarantee so thats what influenced to to go ahead. It has worked out well. It does do its job well and can take a lot of washing in one go. It has touch controls which are very easy to use. The lint filter isnt the greatest design but over all its worth the price,

 Show details

Questions & Answers

Jason C.
Jason C. · Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

I have been given this dryer but need a wall bracket. The bunnings one is too short and another generic doesn't allow for the duct . A spares website says the part is no longer available

ALDI
ALDI   DM   
Julia G.
Julia G. · Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

The filter keeps falling off

Helen Hendricks
Helen Hendricks · Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

Dryer will not turn on. I was drying a load and it stopped, now it wont

Helen Hendricks
Helen Hendricks  

did you receive my question??

ALDI
ALDI   DM   

Details

Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
CategoryClothes Dryers and Vented Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Condenser Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $269$229$199$599
Capacity6.5 kg6 kg4.5 kg8 kg
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)2.5 star(s)7 star(s)
Energy Consumption287 kWh per year265 kWh per year186 kWh per year145 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety LockChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety Lock and Mobile App
Door Hinge LeftLeftRight
Dimensions 820 x 600 x 565 mm840 x 595 x 545 mm700 x 600 x 435 mm850 x 595 x 630 mm
Drying Programs 44415
Temperature Settings 332
Venting TypeRear Venting
Special Buy Dates
  • Jun 2015
  • 11 Jun 2016
  • 10 Jun 2017
  • 1 Apr 2010
  • 7 Apr 2011
  • 18 Apr 2012
  • 14 Jun 2014
  • May 2015
  • 21 May 2016
  • 22 Apr 2017
  • 17 Jul 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteCharcoal or White
Release date
Discontinuation date
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
  • MPN: GYJ70-78F3E

Extra Information

Haier HDV40A1
Westinghouse WDV457H3WB
Simpson SDV556HQWA
Speed Queen Rear Control
Haier HDV50E1

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.