??!
3 photos
ALDI Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

ALDI Stirling 6.5kg GYJ70-78F3E (Jun 2015, Jun 2016, Jun 2017)

MPN: GYJ70-78F3E
2.9 from 47 reviews

See the Best Vented Clothes Dryers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
10
3 star
14
2 star
4
1 star
12

R Surendran R.

R Surendran R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for bachelors

published

Very good and Perfect product from aldi . It's easy to use and good to used especially for bachelors. It's been more than a year and working fine. Love the product

Purchased in March 2017 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Jennifer B.

Jennifer B.

  • 2 reviews

Aldi Stirling Dryer Still Alive!

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $315.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
camellia lady

camellia lady

  • 3 reviews

Dripping water same as others

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Said

SaidSydney

  • 12 reviews

Excellent

published

I purchased the game Stirling (Aldi) 6.5 clothes dryer early last year in an Aldi off Woodville road it is just amazing it’s perfect it dryers my clothing within minutes and I don’t have to worry about going to my backyard to hang my washing I love it and I love the warranty and the options on warranty we should see more electrical equipment in Aldi and other big outlets.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Wilsons

WilsonsMalvern

  • 4 reviews

Still working!

published

I thought this wouldn't last as long as it has so far. Its one of those cases where as soon as you unpack it you go "oh". Its a bit on the cheap and crumby side of things but amazingly is has been completely reliable and I even used it this morning. Not the biggest capacity, not the best quality but cheap!

Date PurchasedJun 2015

CheynKissy

CheynKissySouth Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Just ok

published

I'm not sure I would recommend this machine unless you were in desperate need for one and on limited funds. Ours lasted us a little under three years which for the price is not bad. We did have to claim a repair about a year in and it took so long to complete that we were not able to use the dryer at all for a couple of months. We were never able to use the highest heat setting as it would make the dryer overheat and shut down and the lint filter is at the back of the machine and its not easy to get off or empty. All in all it was just ok and I wouldn't buy another one.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Vintage1

Vintage1Moorabin

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap Aldi dryer - does the job

published

This is n about to win any design awards! Its a very basic and cheaply made dryer from Aldis weekend special buys over two years a go. It's a bit crappy in sme ways (lint filter falls out due to being super cheap plastic) but its still working and has kept out clothes dry for two winters. Would I buy the same one again? Maybe, so long as I had realistic expectations regarding its very cheap price point. Its ok, not wonderful

Date PurchasedJun 2016

MorrisTC

MorrisTCKyneton

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very basic model

published

We got this at one of those special buys at Aldi. It works but its just about the cheapest dryer available. Its pretty small and if you do a big load, it is often necessary to split the string in two. It's a bit on the plasticky side and probably won't last all that long but it came with a three year guarantee, so I guess I am OK for for. It works but I doubt I would get the same one again.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
OneLove

OneLoveFrankston

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good and bad - it works!

published

I am in two minds about this. yes, its has been good to be able to dry our clothes with but the build quality leaves plenty to be desired, then again, its still under warranty (3 years) so I am covered. This dryer is flimsy and light weight with some parts made from cheap plastic. The lint filter is just silly, it doesnt stay in place. It's also very large and can take a whole load right out of the washer so that good. It has both good and bad points and I suppose you get what you pay for at the end of the day.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Newfie

NewfieGeelong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A necessity in the southern states

published

There is no living without a dryer in Victoria and so we were very pleased to see these on special buy at Aldi just when we needed one. It is a larger size dryer with very simple controls. It feels a bit flimsy here and there but build quality is mostly OK and Aldi gives a long guarantee. It works well but can take quite a long time sometimes.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Snapper

SnapperBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't dry towels Or sheets

published

It has never dryed towels or sheets well. Not bad for small items, but the reason I purchased a big dryer was for sheets and towels. It is now just over 3 years old (by 20 days) and have noticed it is not heating as well as it used to. Will put in a warranty claim, hopefully aldi still cover it.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Tr00py

Tr00pyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Couldn't live in winter without it

published

Life in Victoria is hard enough in winter but without a dryer, forget it - it would be impossible! This is not the worlds flashest dryer but it does the job and always works. It is cheaply made with lost of plastic parts and is reasonably small. It has simple controls but it always starts and came with a decent guarantee from Aldi and was cheap!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Cap0

Cap0melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Large Capacity Works Well

published

This turned out to be a good machine but I had my doubts about it at first. It is very light for its size and I wasn't sure about buying white goods from Aldi. They have a three year guarantee so thats what influenced to to go ahead. It has worked out well. It does do its job well and can take a lot of washing in one go. It has touch controls which are very easy to use. The lint filter isnt the greatest design but over all its worth the price,

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Pikachu

PikachuMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Really Good Dryer

published

Best value dryer available, I think. We paid only $269 but its big and roomy and can handle a full load straight out of the washer. Its got push button controls and you can mount it upside down or right way up! Its failry quick but we only use it to finish clothes mostly, so its hard to tell. It has a decent guarantee (3 years) so you are well covered if anything goes wrong.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Newfie

NewfieGeelong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap But Works OK

published

This is a cheaply made dryer with plastic parts everywhere but I am still glad we have it. In Geelong it gets very hard to dry clothes around this time of year and this helps a great deal to finish them off. Its just got a timer and heat switch - thats it. Oh and you have to remember to empty the flimsy lint filter. Its cheap and it does the job

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Kaya

Kaya

  • 2 reviews

Love it!

published

Love love love my dryer!!
Worth every dollar i spent. Easy to use, looks great! Haven't used my clothes line in so long.
Defiantly worth investing in one if you haven't already. Very easy to clean , the vent is easily accessible And has a decent amount of room inside for clothing oh an its alot quiter than my last dryer

Date PurchasedApr 2015

TTime

TTimemelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Better Than I Thought

published

I had my doubts about buying an appliance like this from Aldi but its been great and it came with a three year warranty. It takes a whole load of washing, no problems and its been perfectly reliable. It's a little bit noisy sometimes but all dryers can be. Cleaning the lint filter is easy and there is no other maintenance to speak of. Its cheap, it works!

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Steph

StephMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Hand me down

published

My mum originally bought this is has been used extensively by an active household with several tradies also using it before she gave it to me. I have always put my sheets in a washing bag and I use dryer balls so I have never gotten balled up sheets. Dry time is fast and definitely has been a valuable purchase by my mum.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Taylor

TaylorNewcastle

  • 4 reviews

Good for the price

published

Purchased for first house and works good but can't fill very much as it will stop and you need to arrange or take out clothing for it too keep drying. for bigger loads it takes a long time to try and sometimes multple times through the dryer. But once you work out the right amount of time to amount of clothes ratio it works fine.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

BradenDoe

BradenDoePerth

  • 5 reviews

Not great. Not bad

published

We needed to upgrade to a larger tumble dryer and was on a tight budget. The Stirling came up on special and figured, why not. It does what its meant to and dries the clothes. The only draw back is that it only spins one way, this has resulted in mostly sheets/quilt covers being "rolled" up which effectively means they do not dey correctly. All in all a good dryer though

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 3

See all ALDI Clothes Dryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Addy

Addyasked

Do you have spares of the felt on the filter

No answers

Sharon

Sharonasked

My dryer sometimes leaks water from the bottom. Is this normal?

No answers

Amanda

Amandaasked

Are these products stackable?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

CategoryClothes Dryers and Vented Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $269
Capacity6.5 kg
Energy Rating2 star(s)
Energy Consumption287 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock
Door Hinge Left
Colour / Finish White
Dimensions 820 x 600 x 565 mm
Drying Programs 4
Temperature Settings 3
Venting TypeRear Venting
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJun 2015
Discontinuation dateJun 2017
Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer

Download manual
  • MPN: GYJ70-78F3E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.