2ALDI Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)
Part of ALDI Clothes Dryer 2.9 

ALDI Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)

 Verified
2ALDI Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)
2.4

35 reviews

PositivevsNegative
26%23%51%

Build Quality
1.0
Value for Money
1.5
Ease of Use
1.0
Cleaning & Maintenance
1.0
Noise Level
3.0

Reviews

35 reviews
Joanne
Joanne
  Stirling 6kg

Absolute waste of money

Stopped working after 2 years. Mind you it took forever to dry anything prior to it dying. Waste of money. Avoid at all costs, do not waste your money on this rubbish machine Show details
Enya
EnyaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD12 posts
  Stirling 6kg
Value for Money
Noise Level
DogzOwn
DogzOwnGippsland, VIC4 posts
  Stirling 6kg

The drum came loose, screws strippef

As above, nothing much else to say, really, rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhunarb rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb

 Show details

Rec0rds
Rec0rdsMelbourne4 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Good cheap dryer - simple but effective

This was the cheapest dryer going when I bought it and its has put in three solid years. Its not about to won any beauty pageants but it does the intended job and has run without a hitch for years. It makes a big difference to have a dryer in Melbourne. Its very simple to use and was extremely cheap to buy.

 Show details

Gen
GenIllawarra, NSW8 posts
  Stirling 6kg
Jen
JenSydney, NSW2 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Don’t buy!

Door fell off the third time I used it! Clothes rolled up into a ball so it took extra long to dry. Attempting to get it fixed under warranty. Wish me luck! I am a fan of Aldi products but this 6.5 kg Stirling brand dryer is an absolute disappointment.

 Show details

Krusty
KrustySydney, NSW77 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Slipping belt

I find cheaper equipment is as good as the big name brands even if you have to improvise,If you find this dryer to slip in the cold weather. Always unplug from main power,remove the back plate and replace the spring you find on the belt tensioner with a slightly shorter one from the hardware store,This will pull the belt tighter and should eliminate your slipping problem,this same technique could work with other machines.Be careful not to use too short springs as this could put too much strain on the appliances.

 Show details

allen
allen2 posts
  Stirling 6kg

terrible, do not buy

Stopped working after 14 mths ,hardly used as cloths rolled into ball and not dry.It didn't turn itself off. The stop button just wouldn't work.The same with kettles and toasters bought at Aldi. Show details
Greg
Greg
  Stirling 6kg

Do not buy

worked for a year then died

would not by any capital equipment from Aldi

The unit looks brand new. We are shifting home and are throwing it out.

It was hardly used and I could not find the purchase document

Hopefully the metal can be recycled rather than land fill

Greg

 Show details

Noura
Noura12 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Waiste of money

Not recommended to anyone I bought it few years ago and never work I put clothes inside for 1 hours and sometimes more and still the same wet not dry even if it's not full with clothes same results. It's worst product I ever purchased waste of money and electricity too .Never buy it

 Show details

Sunnflower
SunnflowerAU51 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Ok for a while

Purchased an aldi clothes dryer 3 years ago, its a 6 kg.

It was such a good dryer and still is but recently its started to make a louder annoying noise when its operating.

Has been more quiet in the past and has a squeaking noise. Maybe needs new bearings.

Was $179 when we needed a dryer because of all the Qld rain.

Has been great, has numerous drying heats and times, stainless steel drum, looks good. Can be floor or wall mounted and comes with the button sticker panel either way up.

Tho now we have it right way up and took the old panel sticker off to apply the new one but its bubbling and not sticking well.

Still dries the same but with the noise after 3 yrs. Have no, other complaints and very happy with it other than the noise.

 Show details

Kelly R
Kelly RSydney, NSW15 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Does the job

It's nothing fancy, but the price tag is reflective of that. I usually just use the 1 hour cycle. There are options to have a light air dry or more heat. It's not intelligent enough to know when the clothes are dry, so you have to just keep checking. It's good for winter when nothing dries for days or when it's raining for days on end.

 Show details

Caitlyn
Caitlyn2 posts
  Stirling 6kg

DO NOT BUY!!

Today I went Aldi to buy a clothes dryer. It was a reasonable price $269 so I brought it home set it up and as soon as I turned it on it didn't work. The machine wasn't tumbling the instructions didn't help either. I ended up returning it. And getting another one from Harvey Norman. What a long day!!

 Show details

MMJ123
MMJ123
  Stirling 6kg

Stirling Dryer 6 KG

Terrible !! DO NOT purchase the Stirling Dryer. The lint filter keeps coming out and because the dryer only dries in one direction sheets end up I a big ball and don't dry. Worst purchase ever !! This is the worst dryer I have ever had and will never recommend anyone purchase this. Money wasted.

 Show details

Ben
BenBrisbane21 posts
  Stirling 6kg

Leaking water - new 6.5 model

Only run it a few times and found it is leaking so will probably return it. Have never known a dryer to leak water before.

The controls on it make it look like a sensor dryer but it is not - the "modes" are just different run times - well featured for the price though.

Disappointing as we are usually happy with Aldi gear but it seems that dryers are not something they do well.

Questions & Answers

Rose T.
Rose T. · Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)

My dryer has a problem with the drum not turning so the clothes are not drying. It turns on okay but just not rotate. How do I fix it please .???

Crystal
Crystal · Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)

Where’s the reset button

Col1953
Col1953  

on the back

april
april  

Yes its on the back

Ash P.
Ash P. · Stirling 6kg (Apr 2010, Apr 2011, Apr 2012, Jun 2014)

Hi, I have a Stirling 6.5kg dryer, it’s 2-3 years old, when I press the power button the control panel turns off.
Any solution how to fix this?

kuldip s.
kuldip s.  

The small tab on the upper side of the door needs to be pushing a switch in the dryer. It was brocken in mine.

Details

Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
CategoryClothes Dryers and Condenser Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Vented Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $229$269$199$599
Capacity6 kg6.5 kg4.5 kg8 kg
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)2.5 star(s)7 star(s)
Energy Consumption265 kWh per year287 kWh per year186 kWh per year145 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety LockChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety Lock and Mobile App
Door Hinge LeftLeftRight
Dimensions 840 x 595 x 545 mm820 x 600 x 565 mm700 x 600 x 435 mm850 x 595 x 630 mm
Drying Programs 44415
Temperature Settings 332
Venting TypeRear Venting
Special Buy Dates
  • 1 Apr 2010
  • 7 Apr 2011
  • 18 Apr 2012
  • 14 Jun 2014
  • Jun 2015
  • 11 Jun 2016
  • 10 Jun 2017
  • May 2015
  • 21 May 2016
  • 22 Apr 2017
  • 17 Jul 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteCharcoal or White
Release date
Discontinuation date
ManualDownload manualDownload manual

Extra Information

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.