??!
31 photos
ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner

ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner (page 2 of 4)

A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018), A006C-12C (3.5kW, Oct 2016, Oct 2017), Pre-2016 Models, etc...
3.3 from 72 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

3.3

72 reviews
5
(14)
4
(28)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (9)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (10)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.4 (10)
  • Portability
    3.3 (10)
Previous
Next
Golf1957

Golf1957Chadstone

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Pumps out plenty of cool air

published

We have used this over one summers so far We live in Melbourne so its freezing all year and then its 40c over summer. Portables are perfect for us and this one works very well. It cools much more than its diminutive size would suggest and can easily make a room habitable even on those 40c days. Simple set up and very basic remote. Good bonus is that this model does not require the water tank being emptied as it vents it outside. Would purchase again, good unit

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Bookems

BookemsMoorabin

  • 4 reviews

Good cooling over summer

published

We are currently renting which means we can't install a split system and our landlord is too cheap to get one so this was style our only option. I actually performed way better than I expected - my dad said that portables were not up to par but this one did manage to cool the bedroom. It's a bit noisy and the window kit isn't the strongest but these are always something of a compromise. I did cool which meant I could sleep and that's a good thing!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sharpie

SharpieCranbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works just OK

published

This works, yeah, but only just. Its cold when you are sitting right in front of it but it never once cooled our living room down properly. Its from Aldi special buys and its similar to other things we have got from them. Dubius machines of unknown origins branded "Stirling". It is fragile and you have to be careful because it would be easy to snap some part of it - especially the window kit. We kept it because we rent and we were desperate for anything that cooled but I wouldn't buy the same one gain.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wowsers

WowsersGlen Waverly

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Small spaces only

published

Got this in on of those Aldi special buys. I kind of knew that these had limitations and found out, yep, they CANT cool a normal sized lounge room in full summer heat. It was cool, even cold sitting directly in front of it but it never did much to the overall room temperature. In my small study - it was actually quite good so there is a definite hard limit with room sized and these things. I will say that its quite well built and worked perfectly the whole time/

Date PurchasedDec 2017
RCFlyers

RCFlyersmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Much Better Than I Hoped!

published

This really saved us during the summer - it was far more effective than I thought it would be. Everyone told me that portable aircons are useless but this one really bought the goods! It is the more powerful model that ALDI do an it was more than adequate in our bedroom - in fact we would have to tun it down once it has reached a good temperature or it would be too cold. It noisy when running but not so that you can't sleep. More of a white noise. It comes with a window hose and remote control both of which are good. Its packed away now but I will be using it again next summer.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
RumBar

RumBarMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good Room Aircon

published

We got this in an attempt to cool our overly hot home office. I actually did pretty well for an Aldi product. It seemed a bit dubious when we unpacked it, but once we got everything hooked up and turned on, it cooled very well. I is noisy, but not too bad. It annoyed my wife but not me, I was just pleased to get some cool relief. It comes with a remote and a window pack. Overall a decent machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
SonicBoom

SonicBoomMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Lots Of Cold Air

published

I was amazed at how effective this little air-con on wheel is , especially when people had told me they dont work. This model certainly does! We had it in the bedroom and had to tun it down as it was too cold. We even had it running in the sitting room and it made a good difference there despite the large size of the area. It comes with a rather basic remote and a widow kit too. Overall this doesn't feel like it will last forever due to some cheap plastics in some area (hose etc) but while we have it it does a good job on hot days.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Mullet

MulletGeelong

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic Bedroom Aircon

published

We got through a sometimes very hot summer with this in the bedroom. Its a little noisy which I am fine with but bothered my wife a bit. It does a great job of cooling small spaces though - puts out really frosty cold air. There is no water tank to empty with this model which is a relief. You just connect up the pipes to the widow kit and away you go. A good product. just dont look too closely at your power bills!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Micky5

Micky5Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Works In Small Spaces

published

This is a good and bad product. The good news is that it does as promised and puts out icy cold refrigerated air. The bad news is that it only has enough power to effectively cool a small space. I used it in the small home office - it was good. I moved it to the lounge room - it was no use. It was good sitting right in front of it but it could nit get the room temperature down effectively. Buy for small spaces and its good.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
L0rax

L0raxmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Worked Well Over Summer

published

We have this back in storage now that the heat has passed but it did championship level work on those hottest days over summer. Our lounge gets it directly from the afternoon sun which is great in winter but too much in summer. This little unit was able to bring it from 'unbearable' to 'pleasant' in about 30 minutes. It never actually made the room cool-cold, I think that would be expecting too much because of the space but it stopped it being horrible and hot. When you stand near the machine you can feel it putting out cold chilled air. It did very well and I will be relying on it again next summer.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
L0rdy

L0rdyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Saved Us From The Heat

published

I wasn't sure if this would work or not but I am so glad we purchased it. It has been quite a hot summer and this made all the difference in our poorly insulated house. You have to set it up quite close to a window and close the window onto the attachment that holds the hot air pipe. Start it up and around 15 minutes later...sweet relief!
Its a clever design that expels the humidity outside too so there is no water tank to empty. It comes with a remote but I just turn it on and off at the machine.
It works very well and at the end of summer in storage it goes for next year!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Melissa

MelissaBendigo

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works but not the best

published

How house is old with the high celling and over summer gets very hot, we brought this over summer to cool our sons room down
It works but not great room was still hot but no where near as hot as it was without the air conditioner
The price is affordable for any household to own one

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Tealy

Tealymelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good For Bedrooms Not Lounges

published

This little portable aircon has been a mixed blessing.
It works just as it should but you cannot exceed the suggested room size or it quickly gets overwhelmed on the really hot days. It did such a good job cooling our smallish bedroom that we tried it in the lounge - no good. It was cold in front of it but it never cooled the room down
Its good for bedrooms but that is all. Noise is not too bad and overall I am happy with it.
You just need to be realistic about its abilities.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
frosty_1

frosty_1Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Only Good For Smaller Rooms

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
RTG

RTGGeelong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lifesaver! Lots Of Very Cold Air!

published

Note this review is for the black coloured 4.1KW version Model A008A-14C

Aldi seem to sell these quite regularly but all models are not created equal! They released this more powerful black 4.1KW model last December and it's a little ripper. Really pumps out the cold air and not too noisy caveats: for a portable unit and for a medium sized room that can seal up
I would say that if they bring this particular model out again go for it as it really cools well but know that the hoses and remote are not made from the strongest plastic so I don't know how many years it will last,]
Overall a good machine that cools well but not A1 build quality

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alita

AlitaGippsland, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

My angel this summer! How did I live without it?

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Momimo

MomimoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Worth the cheap price

published

Hey people. This fan is exactly what you pay for. Aldi special at the end so don't get your hopes up too much. Still does what it says and keeps you cool. Just blotting power will stret demisnishing a bit as time goes on and then it will be a average fan enough for the same room or garage

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Saves me from the heat!

published

This air conditioner is perfect for my flat which does not have any cooling systems. It is very quiet which allows for a peaceful night sleep and circulates well to ensure the whole room is cooled down. I would not be able to sleep in these hot summer nights without it! Installation was straight forward and I can move it easy to whatever room I need it in!

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Do not buy..... useless, intermittently turns off... when you need it. I just destroyed mine out of

published

Intermittent faults.
Turns off all time.
I just destroyed mine.... plastic crap everywhere.
Heats up, blows cold for five minutes.
I will never buy this brand again.
Angry,

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Pris

PrisSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does the Job

published

This aircon can cool a room given a little time, not a unit but just one room is fine.
the window kit installation is easy but seems to missing bolts to hold the three pieces in place.
It is nice and quiet, i was pleasantly surprised.
however it only blows to the left at all times, i would have like a more flexible setting.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 2 of 4
See all ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Narissa Louise K.

Narissa Louise K.asked

PA33W with Wi-Fi (3.3kW, Oct 2020)

Is this product now available? This product was listed on sale 21 October but it wasn’t available at your stores

No answers
Martha B.

Martha B.asked

Stirling Portable Air Conditioner

Can I get a. Hose for my portable air conditioner ?I lost it on moving house ?

No answers
Sven O.

Sven O.asked

Stirling Portable Air Conditioner

In store stock

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.