??!
4 photos
Subaru BRZ Z1

Subaru BRZ Z1 (2012-2019)

Also referred to as: Subaru BRZ Z1 2018 and Subaru BRZ Z1 2020. tS (2017-2019), Premium (2017-2019), (No Badge) (2012-2019), Sports Pack (2017), Hyper Blue (2016) and 2 more
4.4 from 12 reviews

See the Best Sports Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Fun and practical

It has been my daily for the past 8 months. It has the automatic transmission which has been returning 8.1l/100km, so I roughly get about 550km a tank. The transmission is sharp and is well suited for the car. It has been reliable so far for the past 10800km without a single major problem. It is soon due for it's first service at 12500km. Aftermarket support is amazing and is one of the reasons I bought this car. In the long run, I feel there will be no problem sourcing parts. I am 183cm and fit comfortably. I tried the ND mX5 and Abarth 124 spider and could not fit. Surprisingly practical as you can even fit your bike in the boot with seats down.

-tives: Door occasionally rattles on drivers and passenger side. Be mindful of the revs if you are zipping through traffic due to the torque dip. Sometimes Applycar play doesn't detect my phone although I suspect it's the charging port being dirty. The attention from idiots on the road who tail gate, try to race you or purposely rev at you...

My first sports car and will likely be my last :)

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Perfect for the younger crowd

Currently I use this car to get to work and cruise it on the weekends. Great for national parks. I drive almost every day. Needs to be serviced every 9 months or when it hits a certain amount of ks (can’t remember how much because the 9 months always comes first for me). never any issues with the car, is certainly a beast of a thing. Hard for older members of life to get in and out.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

It seemed like a good idea at the time but...

When it came time to replace my beloved 2007 Alfa GT I test-drove several new cars including the Alfa Romeo Giulietta, Honda Civic RS, Hyundai Elantra Sport, Holden Insignia and Subaru BRZ. I opted for the BRZ because I didn't need a large car or one with a lot of power and it was the closest match to the Alfa GT in layout.

My BRZ came with the upgraded 152 kW motor and a very welcome 5 year warranty period but apart from that and the excellent driving position, sleek bodywork and beautiful white pearl paintwork the rest of the car was a total disappointment.

Problem 1: The 2.0 litre flat four engine is simply awful. It idles "like a diesel", pings unexpectedly whenever the throttle is opened and has been given a deliberately mapped flat spot right in the middle of the power and torque bands!
Who designs and then builds a motor with an "engineered built-in" flat spot. Subaru - that's who.

Problem 2: The engine, gearbox, tail shaft and differential mountings are completely inadequate for the work they have to do. Whether its accelerating from rest, decelerating to standstill or changing gears up or down, the harmonic motion set-up through the drive train is enough to make the driver and unfortunate passengers nauseous, dizzy and on long trips "seasick".

Problem 3: Simply put - the brakes are completely inadequate given the car's power to weight ratio. The upgrade to 4 piston calipers in the tS model would be a huge help but only if the rest of the car was better and you didn't have to pay extra for something that should be standard.

Problem 4: The 17 inch wheels with 215 x 45 tyres are also completely inadequate given the car's power to weight ratio. Compounding this is the limited slip differential's torque vectoring characteristics which creates unnecessary slippage when cornering. The upgrade to 18 inch wheels and rubber would be a huge help but only if the rest of the car was better and you didn't have to pay extra for something that should be standard.

Problem 5: The ECU, throttle body and accelerator pedal must have come straight out of a parts bin containing left over bits and pieces from the 1990s! It takes so long for the drive-by-wire signal from the throttle pedal to reach the throttle body, injectors and spark plugs, that you'd be forgiven in thinking it actually travelled back in time to 1990 before returning and reminding each component to do something.

Problem 6: The suspension is firm and this is understandable given that it's supposed to be a "sports" car but the suspension components are not suited to Australian conditions. The car is unsettled too easily by even the most benign surface undulations and the damper and spring rate settings are so ill matched that the car is not able to resolve the majority of urban and inter-urban road conditions.

The car is gone now - hopefully to someone who doesn't have to drive it everyday but my advice whenever asked is walk past the Subaru dealer, head straight into a VW showroom and buy a Golf Original instead!

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR A BEAUTIFUL CAR

Bought this car from Furntree Gully Nissan. It was a fantastic service. Sales team was really good and cooperative to get the car on time. They even came to my place to take the car giving a loan car for our private use and bought the car following day. It is a fantastic little car and a very fun car to drive. Fuel economy is very good. Thank you very much.

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Great car at a good price point

Really enjoy this car, has a smooth sporty ride. It is fun but also economical and reliable. The handling is great, although it could do with a little more power. Dashboard is quite boring and basic - I have added my own aftermarket display unit. Great value for money as it is a lot cheaper than a lot of other sports cars

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great perforamnce and handling for a cheap price

Look this is a sports car. This isnt something you get if you value practicality. That being said I daily drove this thing for 2 years with no issues. The rear seats are too small to seat adults they are very useful for storage.
Great handling, rear wheel drive, slow acceleration but this thing is made for corners - not the 1/4 mile

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Better than a Go Kart !

Bought this little car about 3 months ago now and have never been as happy to drive ! It is so fun and easy to drive even on the tiniest roads.
It's incredibly low consumption as well which is surprising for a sports car. Only issue would be the lack of space at the back if you have passengers !
I fully recommended it if you like fun cars and don't want to spend too much money.

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Great Car albeit a little slow

Great handling, not too fast but quick enough around town
Decent legroom, Not that great entertainment system for the money you pay but alright for me.
Reliable from the day I purchase so I can't comment on that.
Will I buy it again if I had the chance.
Some qualms but I would.

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Perfect car for everyone.

Nothing better than SuBaru BRZ, I have one and my other two friends have one each. All second hand but still great performance. Fully recommend for sport car people. All my friend love this BRZ. For me BRZ compare to 86, BRZ more reliable than 86 and way cooler sport car. My second hand 2014 BRZ very worth for $27k. I'm so happy to drive it.

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Fun to Drive

What a great car to drive on a twisty road. So far have done 10k kms and it has been excellent.

Issues:
Gear box oil needed replacing at first service - selling dealer refused to even look at the gearbox after my complaint about it so another local dealer stepped in thank fully.
Paint: Very easy to scratch even with Opticoat applied.

Negatives:
A Little boring to drive around town and lack of power is noticeable especially in stop start traffic.

Positives:
An extremely fun and engaging car to drive once you get out of the city and onto some back twisty roads, i have taken mine onto gravel roads and its great. Once your up and going the engine in fine power wise as plenty on tap once your moving.

Would highly recommend if you enjoy driving.

TransmissionManual

Great Car

Fun to drive, great handling, i love twisty roads in this car, the steering feels fantastic, not as fast as a golf r good ride comfort for a sports car, could do with a grippy tyres, like toyo rir, don't bother with the satnav, the auto gearbox is excellent,from a lexus is.


Great car, well developed from Subaru and Toyota and very nice to drive

Bought a new brz in 2012, great car with good luxury equipment. Boxer Subaru 2litre naturally aspirated motor, Lexus 6 speed with Lexus LSD nice styling. Great car to drive, steering and handling very nice, power delivery adequate but more power would be welcome, drove up to Gosford in sixth gear along the f3 and didn't have to change gear! But my other car ce lancer 1.5litre I would be swapping gears like crazy but didn't mind too much ..lol.. The brz was a replacement car for my old reliable 2001 lancer coupe. However lancer has more back seat space, simple electronics, bigger boot and very cheap to run. Push button start, transponder key, digital speedo, dual zone digital climate control is a huge upgrade in tech.
Leather seats are nice but sat nav was a rip off which I didn't take this option
I suppose people get used to faster cars, like the s2000, 370z, evo x, sti wrx, m3 and golf r which comes with a more expensive price tag but speeding in straight lines isn't everything, cornering requires more skill..
Definitely a car for best bang for buck which is; rwd, fun, sports car and won best performance car under $100k in car sales website back in 2012. It even beat the megane 265, evo x, wrk sti and sorroco r
Nice styling, rwd, boxer motor with direct injection, digital speedo, free servicing for 3 years, aftermarket support,
Premium petrol diet, Pirus tyres that can be changed anyway, expensive gps sat nav $2100, reverse camera $500

Transmission6 speed manual

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Subaru BRZ Z1 (No Badge) (2012-2019)Subaru BRZ Z1 Premium (2017-2019)Subaru BRZ Z1 tS (2017-2019)Subaru BRZ Z1 Hyper Blue (2016)Subaru BRZ Z1 S (2013)Subaru BRZ Z1 Special Edition (2014)Subaru BRZ Z1 Sports Pack (2017)
CategorySports CarsSports CarsSports CarsSports CarsSports CarsSports CarsSports Cars
Starting Price $37,490$39,050$43,580
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors222
Seats444
Fuel Consumption8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power152kW @ 7000rpm152kW @ 7000rpm152kW @ 7000rpm
Max Torque212Nm @ 6400-6800rpm212Nm @ 6400-6800rpm212Nm @ 6400-6800rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016Jan 2013Jan 2014Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 2016Dec 2013Dec 2014Dec 2017

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.