??!
4 photos
Subaru Forester 79V

Subaru Forester 79V (2002-2008)

4.2 from 56 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.2

56 reviews
5
(28)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
ganesha

ganesha

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not as happy as with previous Forester

published

Bought the Forester Luxury 2006 model in 2010 and had it for 10 years. Just got wrecked in an accident. Looking back it's been an expensive car with many more things going wrong than with my previous 97 forester. Just recently the harmonic balancer failed and it nearly cost me the engine! Other failures were the thermostat, electrical fan assembly, wheel bearings and the usual, brakes and CV boots. It also had developed an oil leak which I'm told is normal too. The cost of parts is very high as are the timing belt replacements. Will buy a different brand this time after having owned four Subarus all up.

Purchased in October 2010 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good All - Rounder 2006 Subaru Forester XT MY07

published
BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Donna H

Donna HChiltern

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst car I have driven in a long time.

published
BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester 79V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jordan

JordanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Better than a lot of newer cars

published

Drives smoothly and handles very well. Is very responsive even under light acceleration. Interior is quite nice and very fashionable for its time. Outside lines are a little plain but still better than much of what was released around that time. Overall the economy is good and it is such a pleasure to drive, both in handling and responsiveness, with a quiet smooth ride as bonus.

BadgeX
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Lien Ma

Lien MaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

We Love It

published

Purchased this car due to the coming of our LOs and so far we have a great experience driving with this. Great technology, spacious and nice interior. One thing I like the least is the touch screen, it's very laggy and takes a while to process, even taking more than 5 seconds to pick up a phone call.

BadgeXT Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Kerem Y

Kerem YWollongong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Car

published

The 04 Forester XT (SG) does not disappoint. It has an AWD 2.5L 4 cylinder turbocharged engine pushing out approx. 110kw atw. It is reliable, sturdy and has very good handling. The turbo version provides approximately 350-400km on a full tank of 98RON which is the absolute recommended fuel for this vehicle, given it is turbocharged.

Why don't you get one and feel the power of the boxer engine and the turbo push you back into your seat?

BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Harrison

HarrisonSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great all rounder with good reliability

published

Great car for everyday as well as getting out on the weekend. XT is relatively fast but handling is a little sloppy. The luxury model has a nice interior with a sunroof and leather seats but the stereo will likely need upgrading. Reliability thus far has been good with no major issues.

BadgeXT Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Elle

ElleSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great car

published

As the first owner of the car, I have been driving this car for about a year and so far have no issues with it.
My previous car was a Lexus RX330 and it was very expensive to maintain. Anyways, although I prefer the exterior of the Lexus over the Subaru, the interior does not disappoint. I absolutely love everything about the interior, as it is spacious, comfortable, easy to clean and very high tech. Also the fuel consumption is good for an SUV.

BadgeGX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sam H

Sam HLithgow

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

My baby!

published

I loooove this car. I bought it second hand privately. It had a few little things that needed tuning but we have fixed all of that up and it is just my big Baby! It is reliable and cheap to run. Most comfortable car ive ever driven. And i feel 100% safe taking my daughter in it.. love love love

BadgeXS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester 79V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom A

Tom ASouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A station wagon with off roading capabilites

published
BadgeXS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Engine Size2.5
Errol

ErrolSt clair

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

happy chappy

published

Meets all my needs. Have owned various makes of vehicles and this subaru is my favorite suv.
The 2.5L can keep up with all other suv in this category. Comfortable and reliable on long trips
Heavy on fuel on short trips. Freeway good , 8.5L
Per 100k.
Happy with my choice

BadgeXS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.5
Catfish

CatfishSale

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

As good as it gets for the price.

published
BadgeXT
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.5

The great all-Rounder 2006 XT

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
Kimizoo

KimizooPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable Subaru Forester 2006

published

We have been driving this car for 2 years. Bought at mileage 150K. Still going strong. Reliable family car. Camping twice a year, loading 2.5 seater kayak, family with three teenagers, no problem. Decent fuel economy. The only reason not to give 5 star is the boot space is not very generous compared to other SUV such as Outlander.

Badge2.5i-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.5
rbvm

rbvmSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

2007 Subaru Forester XS and 2018 Subaru Forester 2.5IL

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester 79V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
41.2South

41.2SouthTAS, 7275

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sold to my son- still going well

published

Excellent build quality. Good visibility (take out cargo barrier.
Dealer service over-priced at $330. Will get done privately.
Quiet ride. Cruise control unnatural feel (better on Outlander).
Creature comforts basic.
Hate electric windows that need ignition on. Citroen does it better allowing windows to be closed after switching off motor.
great grip on road.good fuel economy < 9.5L/100 (auto)Not as high as 2008+ model.Low centre of gravity, so less likely to roll over than other 4WDs.
Auto accelerator touchy- Camry is better.Plastic dash panel scratches easily.Rattly cargo barrier/cover blind.Tyres Geolandar wore unevenly under 40 000 probably due to poor alignment.

1 comment
41.2South
41.2South

Update Apr2016- drivers window motor replaced twice recently.

boooma

booomaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car , practical ,easy and great to drive , our 2nd subaru in 12 years.

published
BadgeX
Engine Size2.5
1 comment
boooma
boooma

We had two sets of rear wheel bearings go one after the other.We used OEM's form Parsons , our mechanic was disappointed with the quality and got them replaced.Otherwise we are up to 135k and still going strong.

luke culbertson

luke culbertsoncentral coast. nsw

Great car, not perfect.

published
BadgeX
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.5
Nugget

NuggetSydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

The Dreaded Head Gasket

published

Purchased in October 2003 at McGrath Subaru.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

OK, but buy a RAV4 or XV instead if you can afford it

published
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Jon
Jon

Author's note, I don't have a 2013 SJ??!! Its a 2006 Weekender! Dunno how that happened?!

Page 1 of 3
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

Jon M.

Jon M.asked

Forester 79V (2002-2008)

Started the vehicle this morning and let it idle for 90 seconds with my foot on the clutch...dog escaped so I took foot of clutch and got out to retrieve dog (all up...about 30seconds).

Heard a gear grating noise behind me and watched the car jump forward, then stall. Bugger said I.

Put dog away and went back out to the car.

Got in - tried the gear stick and it balked at all gears. Started the car with foot on the clutch and engine started, no problem. No engagement of gearbox.

Went to engage gears - which I couldn't, so I took my foot of the clutch which promptly stalled the engine.

Gearbox stuck in 5th gear.

Any body had a similar experience? Time for a new gearbox?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Jon M, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Forester. We recommend having your vehicle inspected and diagnosed by a Subaru service retailer to see what can be done for you and your vehicle. The Subaru Team http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

Robert B.

Robert B.asked

Forester 79V (2002-2008)

how many keys can i reprogram for remote

No answers
Vik

Vikasked

Forester 79V (2002-2008)

I am looking to buy Forester which is 2008 and driven 220ks, Is it recommended to buy such high ks in petrol with 2.5 lts engine?

4 answers
Sam H
Sam H

Hey, i dont know a huge amount about cars. But as long as the car is well looked after it should be ok. But that is high kms for a 2008 model.

Macca1963
Macca1963

Make sure the timing belt has been changed.
Check the service history, if not consult a mechanic that you trust to give the car a going over.

russy1
russy1

Thats not a big mileage these days but just ensure that the service history is up to scratch and as previously mentioned the timing belt has been changed i know of a 2009 model that has nearly 450,000 km on the clock that has only had consumables replaced and is immaculate

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.