??!
14 photos
Subaru Forester S4

Subaru Forester S4 (2013-2018)

2.5i-S, 2.5i-L, XT Premium, etc...
4.3 from 112 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

112 reviews
5
(64)
4
(32)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (17)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (18)
  • Braking
    4.5 (18)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (18)
  • Handling
    4.2 (17)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (17)
  • Features
    4.1 (16)
Previous
Next
Simon C

Simon C

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Went from a mk7 golf R to a 2014 xt premium: great so far

published

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Simon C, Thank you so much for your excellent and detailed review! We're sure many Product Review users will find it helpful. If we could ask one favour, we would love to see your review on Google as well. Stay safe. The Subaru Team.

David H

David HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does everything so well

published

We bought this Forester in early 2016 and have had no issues with it. We usually replace our cars every five years however we see no reason to update soon as it drives perfectly and is economical with all the power we need.

Purchased in January 2016 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Smurfette

SmurfetteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 24 likes

Great car, 4th year and still like new

published

Very happy with the car. Its been very much loved for the past 3.5 years. Maps are a bit if a lost cause. And there's no simple way to upgrade via SD card. Honest feedback, please give the system the ability to connect to mobile WiFi and read from Google Maps. Life can we so simple - you just need to listen:)
Service is on an expensive side and I refuse to keep servicing at Subaru. Some Customer service staff also need a makeover. But some are absolutely lovely.
Otherwise Mechanically and Comfort wise the car is an A+
We are happy with the car overall and that's why we rate it 5.

Purchased in December 2016 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Russell H.

Russell H.Southern and Hills, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

3rd Subaru but quality has slipped badly.

published

Whole dash rattles since almost new. Cracking sounds around B Pillar on both sides everytime body flexes. No thigh support for front seats. Subaru Australia don't care nor does dealer.

Purchased in November 2014 at Subaru Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Russell H, We’re sorry to hear of your experience with your Forester. If you would like to discuss this further with us, you’re welcome to contact our Customer Relations Team on 1800 22 66 43 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Russell H.
Russell H.

No satisfactory outcome.
Looks like Subaru is off our list for next purchase.
No attempt by Subaru Australia to resolve. Clearly brand loyalty means nothing

Ted

TedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does the job nicely

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Shane D.

Shane D.Perth, WA

Fantastic car combines performance & practicality.

published

Purchased used through a dealer the XT is my 4th Subaru. It offers the combination of useable performance & good internal space that I need.
I have found it great for day to day commuting and for fun on the weekends,
The only issue I have is the Bluetooth connectivity not working which my research seems to show is a common fault with the 2014 Forester.
I will look to get this sorted & then the XT will be the perfect car for me!

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
PierreP

PierrePGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

If only it would start!

published

Purchased in December 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Terrible

published

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Kevvie

KevvieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Great

published

Long time Mercedes owner, including ML 350, had one of first Forester GT in Australia. My Forester XT Premium s4 is a delight. All the negative about the CVT , crap, a great transmission. Sits nicely beside our Mercedes c200

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Kevvie, Thank you so much for the superb review and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your Forester. If we could ask a quick favour - we’d love to see your review on Google Reviews as well! The Subaru Team.

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peterm

PetermPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

the best for this category of car

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Daniel

Daniel

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ticks many boxes, very versatile.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Anon

AnonSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love this car.

published

Great for everyday use in suburban and off road. So great for camping because high ground clearance (same as land cruiser). AWD is great.
If serviced regularly it's a Good reliable car.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Raresense

RaresenseSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 31 likes

Safe, Reliable and wonderful car to drive! Highy Recommend! 53K update....

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Trivett Subaru Paramatta for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Clark Kent

Clark KentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 25 likes

XT: Amazing ride quality, effortless torque, Swiss Army knife of SUV’s

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Marco Niere

Marco NiereGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

TERRIBLE is an Understatement: AVOID Poor Quality and Over Hyped

published

Purchased in October 2015 for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AliG

AliG

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Serious Design Flaws and Product Issues

published

Purchased in May 2013.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2012
mike4005

mike4005

  • 2 reviews

This is a fantastic car

published

A great and very safe car, ideal in traffic or on long intercity drives. Its very economical, very comfortable. I would recommend this vehicle to any person looking for a safe vehicle. Its also great value, cheep to insure and has a 10year warranty great boot, in fact I love it

Badge2.5i Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
ALix

ALixBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Best family car

published

I got this car because I was starting a family and it hasn’t disappointed me yet. It’s a smooth drive and is the perfect size for the fam.

It is super spacious - I think because there is many windows and it’s a boxy-ish car now like the slick back type Rav 4 (which I was going to get).

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
DavidAH

DavidAH

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for us

published

This is our third Forester and have had it for almost 3 years now. It's been excellent with absolutely no issues. I find it's performance more than adequate and is so much better than competitors AWDs on indifferent quality roads (and I've driven most of the competitors for my work in rural areas) with the full-time all wheel drive being a major benefit. I see no reason to change it for many years to come (although the new model looks a bit enticing).

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
sarah

sarahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Spacious functional wagon

published

Bought our Forester in 2014 and nothing has ever gone wrong since. It is very spacious for transporting large teenage boys around which is the best thing plus lots of boot space.
It cruises very well on long journeys, absorbs the bumps, and seems fuel efficient.
The only two annoying things are the automatic engine switch off which I find very irritating and you whilst you can turn it off for each journey, the default is always on. The other thing is it's not that attractive looking, a bit boring in my opinion but, it does the job and I'd highly recommend it for a family car with great safety features.

Badge2.5i
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Page 1 of 6
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

chris

chrisasked

Forester S4 (2013-2018)

we have recently purchased a 2013 subaru forrester with 165000 klm , 1 week after purchase preformed a dpf removal and clean , 600klm later dpf light on , another forced regen , drove to and from work 600 klms checked and the system had attempted 4 burns and completed 2 , wife took the car on a 500 klm highway trip and 250 klm in dpf light came on system check showed 5 attempted burns none completed .
can anyone explain what drives the dpf burn and what would stop the burn from completing ?

No answers
Angie E.

Angie E.asked

Forester S4 2.0D (2013-2018)

I took a 2016 forester diesel for a test drive, its MY17 i believe. Its a manual...and i loved how it drove! My question is, how do i know if its a 2.0D or 2.0D-L model? Does the vin number give any indication?

3 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Angie E., The MY17 Forester diesel comes in the 2.0D-L or 2.0D-S variants. You're welcome to private message us through Facebook or send us an email at feedback@subaru.com.au with the VIN and we can confirm for you. The Subaru Team.

Angie E.
Angie E.

So it would be the 2.0D L, as it doesnt have the sunroof and driver assist etc.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Angie E., If it does not have a sunroof then yes, it would be a 2.0D-L. To be sure, it would be best to send us your VIN as previously advised. The Subaru Team.

Clio

Clioasked

Forester S4 2.5i-L (2013-2018)

Does the reversing camera come with a warning sound?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 18 Subaru Forester
Subaru Forester S4 2.0i
  • Discontinued

Subaru Forester S4 2.0i (2013-2018)

No reviews yet
Subaru Forester S4 2.0i-L
  • Discontinued

Subaru Forester S4 2.0i-L (2013-2018)

No reviews yet
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$28,990A$30,240A$31,990A$33,240
TransmissionManualManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km8.1 L/100km8.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power155kW @ 5600rpm108kW @ 3600rpm155kW @ 5600rpm177kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque320Nm @ 3600rpm350Nm @ 1600-2400rpm320Nm @ 3600rpm350Nm @ 2400-3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2013Feb 2013Feb 2013Feb 2013
Discontinuation dateAug 2018Aug 2018Aug 2018Aug 2018
Compare all 18 Subaru Forester

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.