?
? !
10 photos
Subaru Forester S5

Subaru Forester S5 (2018-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru Forester S5 2020 and Subaru Forester S5 2022. 2.5i-S, 2.5i Premium, 2.5i-L, 2.5i
4.0 from 25 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (16)
  • Braking
    4.9 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (15)
  • Handling
    4.7 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (15)
  • Features
    4.6 (15)
Previous
Next
testdriver

testdriverMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 39 reviews
  • 45 likes

Very impressive

published

Bought a 21 MY after having previously had a new Outback. I would say it is noisier than the Outback but very similar in other respects. Very happy with the car, its features, its comfort, value, performance etc. No concerns at all. Many, many safety features.

Purchased in December 2020 at Eblen Subaru.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Reasons

ReasonsAdelaide

  • 14 reviews
  • 20 likes

MY21 Subaru Forester 2.5i Sport AWD - An Excellent Small AWD SUV

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Jarvis Cars for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew

AndrewSydney, NSW

Bit Disappointed

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Squiggles

SquigglesCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

"IT'S A CHARASTERIC OF THE VEHICLE" - REALLY!!!

published
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oldsalt

OldsaltMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car, a few fixable issues that they will not fix?

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Oldsalt
Oldsalt
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Allan

AllanSydney, NSW

Scary

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
See all answers
7 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Allan
Allan

Thank you. Car being further examined today by Subaru dealer but if they cannot locate the issue i shall be in touch. at this stage i am afraid to drive it out of Sydney as there is obvious to me a random issue occurring with AVT.

Allan
Allan

Subaru email address provided above is not functioning. Not a good sign!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeSouth East Queensland, QLD

I cannot live with this any longer

published

I purchased a 2.5iS in May 2020, thinking it would be my happy retirement vehicle, but have had nothing but annoyance from the CVT.
There is a jerkiness which nobody can give me a decent explanation for.
I have taken it back to the dealer 3 times, but feel that Subaru is trying to do a snow job on me.
2 branches of my dealer have done "CVT Relearns" but no change.
I have had up to 9 trained Subaru staff tell me that they have never heard of it, and then after they sent data to Subaru, I was told it was "A characteristic of the vehicle"
I have spoken to at least 50 other people who have similar age Subarus and none of them have experienced this.
I am seeking legal advice on Lemon Laws to get some form of recompense.

Purchased in May 2020 at Keystar Rothwell for $42,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
6 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Mike, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Forester. You're welcome to send us a direct message at our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

Mike
Mike

I have sent an email direct to the Subaru contact email, but no response.
Is this another example of Subaru not knowing what they are doing.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Mike, We have requested that our Customer Relations Team get in touch with you asap. We'd appreciate if you could send us a private message on our Facebook page to ensure that we have the correct details for you. The Subaru Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Supergee

SupergeeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

A lot of fun

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brendoon

BrendoonPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The extras make it

published

After driving for a month in both city and higher speed have found the Forrester very comfortable. All the extras on the S model make it easy when you get going, auto seat & mirror reset are great. Warning alarms though some may think annoying are just a reminder we are human and make mistakes or misjudgments.

Fuel consumption is good and though driving in the fuel efficient mode has still fast pick up when required. Engine shutdown when stopped saves an amazing amount of fuel. Startup is less than a second so no delays

Room through out is good as have been passenger in front & back ,only thing missing is phone charger but has many USB outlets

Previous car was current model XTrail and Subaru wins hands down.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Brendoon
Brendoon

Subaru team, 7 months on and still love the Forrester, a few little quirks but that’s why every car is upgraded to improve on what is a good car.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wes_l

wes_lSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

So far so good, though we've only had this car about 6 months, it's a fantastic vehicle to drive. No problems with driving in a bit of mud or snow either.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wheel_Nut

Wheel_NutIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great, but one annoying problem, now resolved by my own investigation

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Subaru Forester 2020

published

Best car ever had. Bought the Forester iL in Jan 2019 which has performed very well. Over the last year 7.7L per 100kms but not in a city. Very stable on both sealed and unsealed roads. The Eyesight technology and active cruise work perfectly. As a result this May my wife chose the Forester iS for work and it has additional sound system, leather, sunroof and upgraded off road called X mode. It has the same kit as Audi's or Merc at half the price.

1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Mike, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We’re so happy to hear that both you and your wife are enjoying your Foresters. If we could ask a quick favour, we would love to see your review on Google reviews as well. The Subaru Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray

RayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dashboard rattle, dealer can’t fix

published

Dashboard is rattling crazily since new and already been to dealer 3 times. They can’t fix it.
When the weather is cold, it make one noise. When it is hot, it make another rattling noise!
Small rock got inside the driver side door panel every time I travel on gravel road!
The dealer removed the rocks but never fix it so rocks still get inside every time!
Passenger seat squeak!
Driver side mirror rattle!

The car drive smooth but all the crackling and rattling noise is driving me crazy!
Build quality on this car is equivalent to something you order from Wish website.
Happy to trade in my 8 months old car now at a lost!
Ohhh it will constantly beeping at you for no reason!

Purchased in September 2019 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
5 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Ray, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au if you would like to discuss further. The Subaru Team.

Ray
Ray
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeanette

JeanetteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very comfortable fabulous safety features,

published

Easy to get in and out of, very comfortable, great colour range, best of all the excellent safety features. Easy to read large infotainment screen. plenty of leg room in the back. Excellent visibility. Love it

Purchased in March 2019 at Subaru Docklands for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Superb machine

published

After having owned a WRX the Forester took a little getting used to, but it is such a refined a driver friendly car that this was an eady transition.
It handles really well for such a high car, and the cvt is crisp and responsive. The adaptive cruise control is really well sorted and helps make commuting far more palatable. It is a perfect size for the teens in the family and is a very manoevorable car in shopping centres. It is engaging enough in the twisties and manages light off-roading consumately.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melmain

MelmainPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Incredible value for money

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Evonne

EvonneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

It is great as a car, but not as a mobile entertaining tool.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $37,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sylvia

sylviaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car

published

I use this car everyday for work and family and outings.
This car is brand new so it will be serviced yearly.
No issues at this point.
Fantastic car i would recommend it for all ages so comfortable and spacious .

Purchased in March 2019 at subaru sutherland for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tristan Evans

Tristan Evans

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car, I almost live in it.

published

I have owned this car since March and it has not skipped a beat on the road or off the road. Great safety features that suit me for long driving trips and goes really well off the beaten track.

Purchased in March 2019 at Cricks Highway for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

Navigation System Outdated And Not Current

published

Purchased in February 2019 at LIVERPOOL SUBARU.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

Grime

Grimeasked

Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2021)

I have heard that the latest release coming in last quarter2020 is increasing the tow bar load to 1800kg, has auto door locking and front corner parking assist as standard on the S version.Is this true,should I wait for this release as we like to tow a van and the 1500kg is a bit light on?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Grime, There is the possibility that there will be changes to the Forester but we do not have any confirmed specs as of yet. Please keep an eye on our website for any new vehicle announcements. The Subaru Team.

KSC

KSCasked

Forester S5 2.5i Premium (2018-2021)

Can you set the vehicle to auto lock at a certain speed or when the vehicle is put into drive? Having to remember to lock the vehicle after all these years of your previous vehicle doing this is taking a lot of getting used to. I don't like the idea of driving around with someone being able to jump into my boot or doors whilst stopped at traffic lights etc if I happen to forget to lock the doors..

3 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ KSC, The Outback is currently our only model with automatic door locking. The Subaru Team.

Grime
Grime

Any truth in the rumour that Subaru Australia is enabling auto door locking again in new Forester for 2020?

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Grime, Thanks for getting in touch. There is no confirmed news at this stage that automatic door locking will be available in the next Forester but please keep an eye on our website for all new vehicle announcements. The Subaru Team. http://bit.ly/2NrKg8N

Bob B

Bob Basked

Forester S5 2.5i Premium (2018-2021)

Just upgraded from a Subaru liberty 2015 (entry model) to a 2020 Forester premium. Very happy with the vehicle in general, however the radio quality and coverage is not great. I find that I need to source new stations frequently when driving, 40-60 Km is about the range. The liberty had a good range and sound. The vehicle supplier could not assist me with this issue. Learning all the new features and instructions was a daunting task and the manuals were difficult to follow. The best source of learning was from American and Canada u tube sites. Pity the car did not come with simple video instruction, it would have saved a lot of time and stress. Love the ride and cabin comfort and low road noise.

3 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Bob B, Congratulations on your new Subaru! We're so glad to hear that you're happy with your Forester. All our retailers provide a free one month check and chat service for new vehicles where they can go through any concerns you have. We do appreciate your feedback about instructional videos which we will be sure to look into. Feel free to contact our Customer Relations Team if you have any other questions at feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Bob B
Bob B

Sorry, I did contact the retailer about this issue and they could not provide me with an answer, this is why I contacted Subaru Australia.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Bob B, We're sorry to hear that your Subaru retailer was unable to assist. Just to clarify, have you contacted our Customer Relations Team already? The Subaru Team.

See all Subaru Forester questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Forester S5 (2018-2021)

Details

Compare all 18 Subaru Forester
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $39,399$41,718$47,958$44,808
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L63 L63 L63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm220 mm220 mm220 mm
Release dateSept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018
Compare all 18 Subaru Forester

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.