??!
29 photos
Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester (page 2 of 16)

S3, 79V, 1997 Release, etc...
4.2 from 301 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

301 reviews
5
(160)
4
(83)
3
(25)
2
(18)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (37)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (35)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (38)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (39)
  • Handling
    4.5 (38)
  • Braking
    4.7 (39)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (39)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (39)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (38)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (37)
  • Features
    4.3 (37)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (38)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Kevvie

KevvieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Great

published

Long time Mercedes owner, including ML 350, had one of first Forester GT in Australia. My Forester XT Premium s4 is a delight. All the negative about the CVT , crap, a great transmission. Sits nicely beside our Mercedes c200

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Kevvie, Thank you so much for the superb review and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your Forester. If we could ask a quick favour - we’d love to see your review on Google Reviews as well! The Subaru Team.

Superb machine

published

After having owned a WRX the Forester took a little getting used to, but it is such a refined a driver friendly car that this was an eady transition.
It handles really well for such a high car, and the cvt is crisp and responsive. The adaptive cruise control is really well sorted and helps make commuting far more palatable. It is a perfect size for the teens in the family and is a very manoevorable car in shopping centres. It is engaging enough in the twisties and manages light off-roading consumately.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Melmain

MelmainPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Incredible value for money

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peterm

PetermPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

the best for this category of car

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Evonne

EvonneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is great as a car, but not as a mobile entertaining tool.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Dealers for A$37,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pierre

PierreShellharbour NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes

S Edition for the money

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel

Daniel

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ticks many boxes, very versatile.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sylvia

sylviaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

I use this car everyday for work and family and outings.
This car is brand new so it will be serviced yearly.
No issues at this point.
Fantastic car i would recommend it for all ages so comfortable and spacious .

Purchased in March 2019 at subaru sutherland for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tristan Evans

Tristan Evans

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car, I almost live in it.

published

I have owned this car since March and it has not skipped a beat on the road or off the road. Great safety features that suit me for long driving trips and goes really well off the beaten track.

Purchased in March 2019 at Cricks Highway for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kangaroo3d

Kangaroo3dHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

$170 diagnosis fee after Takata Air Bag Recall

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Year2011
Anon

AnonSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love this car.

published

Great for everyday use in suburban and off road. So great for camping because high ground clearance (same as land cruiser). AWD is great.
If serviced regularly it's a Good reliable car.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

Navigation System Outdated And Not Current

published

Purchased in February 2019 at LIVERPOOL SUBARU.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
levin

levinSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and maintainable family car

published

Bought it when it was 7 years old.
We used it for our family and it is always reliable.
We drove it across states, went to the snowy mountain. Never had a problem.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Raresense

RaresenseSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 29 likes

Safe, Reliable and wonderful car to drive! Highy Recommend! 53K update....

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Trivett Subaru Paramatta for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Clark Kent

Clark KentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 25 likes

XT: Amazing ride quality, effortless torque, Swiss Army knife of SUV’s

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marco Niere

Marco NiereGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

TERRIBLE is an Understatement: AVOID Poor Quality and Over Hyped

published

Purchased in October 2015 for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Really disappointed

published

We purchased a new Forester recently and within the first couple of days an error appeared which disabled all electronic features. It is taking 3 weeks to get fixed. Not reliable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Year2019
AliG

AliG

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Serious Design Flaws and Product Issues

published

Purchased in May 2013.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2012
Shenanigans

ShenanigansBrisbane

  • 37 reviews
  • 29 likes

Great, but not perfect.

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Shenanigans
Shenanigans
Martin

MartinSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our new car!

published

True, we are only 5 days into our new Forester 2.51 S but wow! Silky smooth to drive, plenty of power, amazing technology covering everything you could need. Real luxury car feel with soft leather and great finishes. Traded in an xc90 and loving our experience.
Did lots of research before buying looked at xc60, x3, discovery sport (awful reliability), Honda CRV, Mazda X5...the Subaru came out on top for us with plenty of space, awd, latest release and features, great price compared to all the others.
So far so great!

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
Page 2 of 16
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

chris

chrisasked

Forester S4 (2013-2018)

we have recently purchased a 2013 subaru forrester with 165000 klm , 1 week after purchase preformed a dpf removal and clean , 600klm later dpf light on , another forced regen , drove to and from work 600 klms checked and the system had attempted 4 burns and completed 2 , wife took the car on a 500 klm highway trip and 250 klm in dpf light came on system check showed 5 attempted burns none completed .
can anyone explain what drives the dpf burn and what would stop the burn from completing ?

No answers
Grime

Grimeasked

Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2020)

I have heard that the latest release coming in last quarter2020 is increasing the tow bar load to 1800kg, has auto door locking and front corner parking assist as standard on the S version.Is this true,should I wait for this release as we like to tow a van and the 1500kg is a bit light on?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Grime, There is the possibility that there will be changes to the Forester but we do not have any confirmed specs as of yet. Please keep an eye on our website for any new vehicle announcements. The Subaru Team.

robert c.

robert c.asked

Forester

The tyre pressure as shown on the inside door panel is 230Kpa or 32.8 psi. The dealer who sold the car to me advised that the tyre pressure should be 38psi or 266Kpa. Could you please advise the correct pressure?
Regards Robert cowley

2 answers
Mike
Mike

Subaru recommends 230Kpa for front and rear but to increase the rear to 270Kpa when towing. That's all I know. Cheers

robert c.
robert c.

hi Mike Who is right?
robert

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.