?
? !
29 photos
Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester (page 4 of 16)

S3, 79V, 1997 Release, etc...
4.1 from 311 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (44)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (44)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (41)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (45)
  • Braking
    4.6 (43)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (40)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (43)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (43)
  • Handling
    4.4 (42)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (42)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (43)
  • Features
    4.2 (42)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Ford

FordAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good vehicle wife loves it!

published

Recently upgraded to the new Forester from our older Outback. Second Subaru and love the dependability of the car, it has taken a bit of getting used to the key less entry as previous cars all had keys. The drive of the car is faultless and comfortable and teaching our daughter on her "L"s to drive in the new car has been quite easy and she is more than comfortable with its size.

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tristan

TristanBurpengary

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

really good handling love it I totally love it not a lot of noise in the car comfortable seats, average legroom, good Dashboard not expensive at all for a car! quite hard to connect up with bluetooth, didn't like the stereo, so it is an average car i reckon. ok

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic all rounder car

published

This is my 3rd subaru forester. I originally purchased an old SF5 as a rounaround car and fell in love with it. Since then I've upgraded to a SG9 and now a SH9 because I can't fault them.
They can handle soft off-road and quite comfortable on the highways too. Lots of legroom in front and back even with child seat.

BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good All - Rounder 2006 Subaru Forester XT MY07

published
BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Travis

TravisPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible stereo can only be paired to 1 phone!

published

The vehicle is a good solid ride. People who want to spice it up and select sports mode, or switch to economy mode, there is none of that. Put it in drive and there is only one setting. The stock tyres Geolanders seemed to generate a bit of road noise. The biggest annoyance is the stereo. It is crazy hard to setup and pair bluetooth and the system only has room to store one phone. The bluetooth always disconnects 5 minutes into the drive but switching off the stereo and doing some random things seems to reconnect it. Thank goodness it is relatively easy to replace it really is well below expectations from a modern vehicle.

Badge2.5i Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Raza

RazaSydney

Very Disappointed !

published

Extremely disappointed after purchasing new XT Premium 2016 model.
Very very annoying CVT transmission, jerky, you cant able to control the slow speed.
Very very bad steering and poor handling, have to hold steering with both hands all the times because it always shaky.
Bad Fuel economy
Bad road control, vehicle shakes alot on highways.
Sat NAV is totally useless
Herman Cardin speakers are not impressive, it sounds like pretty standard speakers.

BadgeXT Premium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shantell W

Shantell W

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect car for everyday.

published

I love my forester. I purchased it just under 1year ago and I couldn't be happier. Previously I owned and Mitsubishi outlander, I wasn't never 100% happy with it but I have now found my perfect car. It has got everything I have wanted in my car and I and able to use it for my daily drive as well as taking it camping and fishing in the weekend with my major adjustment. The biggest down fall would have to be the fact that it has Pandora installed but is no longer available in Australia and no way of removing it or adding other apps to replace it. I have also be unable to sync my new phone to the Bluetooth system which is a huge inconvenience for me, as I spend a lot of time in my car daily.

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2014 forester

published

Great car, love it, paid 37k for a car that we thought would last 10 to 15 years or at least 150k . but at 12k had to have a new motor fitted due to failed main bearings. At 0k we complained that the new motor sounded like the old one, at 34k another new motor, failed main bearings,cams and supports, Now number 3 new motor at 0km make same bottom end rattle as the other 2, glad for the 5 year warranty but what happens when that runs out, CVT trans has a lot to be desired as wll, slow shifting from R to D, lurching at lite throttle , will never buy another Subaru

Badge2.5i Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarena

SarenaSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

MY18 Forester XT - best decision ever

published

With Bub arriving, it was time for an upgrade. This was the best decision ever. The seats are really comfortable, especially sitting at the back with Bub. I am easily car sick and the forester was sturdy enough for me that I wouldn’t be sick in the back even if I was travelling for an hour. Favourite features are the front arm rest in the middle, leg room at the back, and keyless lock and unlock technology.

Only negative I can say is the GPS isn’t great and sometimes gives a route that doesn’t make sense. Otherwise we’re very happy

BadgeXT Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rbvm

rbvmSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent SUV

published

2018 Subaru Forester 2.5i L Special edition handling very good quality excellent great fuel economy great dealership service Bathurst Subaru .Like the compact size good leg room .Style is appealing ,simply love the new alloy wheels as standard they are so easy to keep clean ,sorry no apple car play.

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gone_to_the_beach

Gone_to_the_beachSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

One of the most comfortable drives

published

Very comfortable car to drive - visibility, headroom, legroom all great. A little too responsive sometimes and expected the AWD to feel more capable but it struggles up our steep drive. Good clearance for dirt road drives though. All round very pleased with this car and felt we got the best choice.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Designed by gen. X or Y

published
Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emily

Emily

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it.

published

Great car. Managed to take my 2008 forester on the beach, it went well for an AWD! Big interior, lovely style and quite cheap for uptake. Very good car and glad I invested in it!
The best part is how the car drives in wet weather! Never slides, and is very safe. Lots of air bags too.

Badge2.0D
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zac

ZacLaunceston

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Great price lovely to drive heaps of room looks good good with fuel economy i couldn't think of a better option when it comes to buying a new car today to go to the bakery after work with more pallets and ill need the vic rego papers today mate hope you have a great day

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
maroubra

maroubrasydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect family car

published

This is probably the best car i have owned and i look forward to upgrading to the next model when its time.
The design maximizes the interior space with the rear seats folding completely flat. The design is comfortable and practical for our outdoor lifestyle and kids. Having a shorter wheel base makes it easy to park and drive in the city.
There is plenty of safety features and tech that I need. As for fuel. It's very efficient.

Badge2.5i Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Raj

RajSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

This car is everything I was looking for !

published

Stability of this car is very good especially when it is raining or when the roads are rough.
From the driver's seat , visibility is good for almost 360 degrees ! I love that. No other cars in this category can give so much visibility.Many other brands in this category have a hatch back window which restricts the rear visibility.
Running costs are very reasonable !

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shayno

ShaynoMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Best car I've owned

published
BadgeXS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

a brilliant motor vehicle

published

A brilliant car purchased it in October 2015 with 169,000 km on the clock and now has nearly 250,000 km on the clock. Only non maintenance item that has needed to be replaced is the clutch at 210,000 km and it was the original clutch that was replaced. I have found servicing to be very reasonable since owning it and managed to have the timing belt done for less than $800 just recently. Mind you i am not using the dealer for servicing as you don't get the same service as you would from an independent mechanic

Badgex ski fx
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
4 comments
russy1
russy1

I still have this car. Just reached 300,000 km and still going strong

russy1
russy1
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
elijah

elijahMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Great car but technology is not simple.

published

Unless you are good with technology and are a quick learner this car may not be for you. It can be very helpful if you understand what you're doing with the car, but to be honest it can be a pain in the back if you are not to switched on with the smaller details of the car. Still happy with the car but also learning new things about it everyday!

Badge2.0D-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Donna H

Donna HChiltern

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst car I have driven in a long time.

published
BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 4 of 16
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

Bob Simmons

Bob Simmonsasked

Forester S4 (2013-2018)

I have a Subaru Forester only done 107596 kms and is repeatedly failing to start for now reason.
Ignition lights all Ok but just dies on key operation.
No response from starter motor at all.
Can happen anywhere stuck at home some 45 Kms from home and have had it towed to workshop twice after being stuck in city.
Can anyone offer a solution

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi Bob, We are so sorry to hear this and would like to hear more. Could you please contact us at feedback@subaru.com.au or you may call our Customer Relations Team on 1800 22 66 43 (Monday to Friday 8.30am – 5.00pm AEST). We look forward in hearing from you.
The Subaru Team

Arthur B.

Arthur B.asked

Forester

Diesel engine comparison.

1 answer
Allan
Allan

Arthur, my Foester is petrol so I cannot make any comparison with diesel.

chris

chrisasked

Forester S4 (2013-2018)

we have recently purchased a 2013 subaru forrester with 165000 klm , 1 week after purchase preformed a dpf removal and clean , 600klm later dpf light on , another forced regen , drove to and from work 600 klms checked and the system had attempted 4 burns and completed 2 , wife took the car on a 500 klm highway trip and 250 klm in dpf light came on system check showed 5 attempted burns none completed .
can anyone explain what drives the dpf burn and what would stop the burn from completing ?

4 answers
Misty P.
Misty P.

My Forester (2010 diesel) has had this problem appear after 250K ..I took it to the mechanic and he did a "burn off" after which it was alright for a while. Now the light is coming on and sometimes the engine light as well but it also disappears as well? Anyway I have had 6 Subarus and yes I love them but I wouldn't buy a diesel again and I live in the country definitely wouldn't buy one for city driving as the diesel need long highway country runs to burn off the soot? I really hope Subaru doesn't let the quality of their cars slip. All cars/makes/brands have "issues" it just how much it takes to repairs these which you need to take into account.. VW (never buy one) is on another planet with spare parts which you WILL need in dire course..I have been happy with all my previous models and probably would buy another or a Toyota which are probably the most reliable cars out..

chris
chris

after 4 months of constant issues with the dpf we removed the old dpf and sent it to western australia for an inspection prior to another clean , upon a camera inspection they discovered the insides were damaged $3500 later a new dpf aftermarket , egr and manifold clean and most important change in driving style ( drive it like you stole it and do not use 6th gear unless you are in 110klm zone ) and only drive in 3rd gear around the city. fuel consumption has only increased by .5l/100 klm but no lights or mechanic bills
since this we have the dpf light come on once then went out performed a scan and we had completed a regen burn 20klm ago which is half way to town

Paul E.
Paul E.

It would be worth checking whether the excessive oil consumption issue is contributing to the DPF build up. A class action (regarding these models 2011-14 Forester 2.5-litre, 2013 Legacy 2.5-litre, 2013 Outback 2.5-litre, 2012-13 Impreza 2-litre and 2013 XV Crosstek 2-litre) was settled in the US in 2014.

https://www.smh.com.au/business/subaru-sued-over-us-defect-claims-20140721-3ca3o.html

See all Subaru Forester questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Forester

Details

Compare all 18 Subaru Forester
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $39,399$41,718$47,958$44,808
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L63 L63 L63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm136kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm239Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm220 mm220 mm220 mm
Release dateSept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018
Compare all 18 Subaru Forester

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.