??!
29 photos
Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester (page 4 of 16)

S3, 79V, 1997 Release, etc...
4.2 from 301 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.2

301 reviews
5
(160)
4
(83)
3
(25)
2
(18)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (37)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (35)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (38)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (39)
  • Handling
    4.5 (38)
  • Braking
    4.7 (39)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (39)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (39)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (38)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (37)
  • Features
    4.3 (37)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (38)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Gone_to_the_beach

Gone_to_the_beachSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

One of the most comfortable drives

published

Very comfortable car to drive - visibility, headroom, legroom all great. A little too responsive sometimes and expected the AWD to feel more capable but it struggles up our steep drive. Good clearance for dirt road drives though. All round very pleased with this car and felt we got the best choice.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Designed by gen. X or Y

published
Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Emily

Emily

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it.

published

Great car. Managed to take my 2008 forester on the beach, it went well for an AWD! Big interior, lovely style and quite cheap for uptake. Very good car and glad I invested in it!
The best part is how the car drives in wet weather! Never slides, and is very safe. Lots of air bags too.

Badge2.0D
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zac

ZacLaunceston

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Great price lovely to drive heaps of room looks good good with fuel economy i couldn't think of a better option when it comes to buying a new car today to go to the bakery after work with more pallets and ill need the vic rego papers today mate hope you have a great day

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
maroubra

maroubrasydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect family car

published

This is probably the best car i have owned and i look forward to upgrading to the next model when its time.
The design maximizes the interior space with the rear seats folding completely flat. The design is comfortable and practical for our outdoor lifestyle and kids. Having a shorter wheel base makes it easy to park and drive in the city.
There is plenty of safety features and tech that I need. As for fuel. It's very efficient.

Badge2.5i Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Raj

RajSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

This car is everything I was looking for !

published

Stability of this car is very good especially when it is raining or when the roads are rough.
From the driver's seat , visibility is good for almost 360 degrees ! I love that. No other cars in this category can give so much visibility.Many other brands in this category have a hatch back window which restricts the rear visibility.
Running costs are very reasonable !

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Shayno

ShaynoMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Best car I've owned

published
BadgeXS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

a brilliant motor vehicle

published

A brilliant car purchased it in October 2015 with 169,000 km on the clock and now has nearly 250,000 km on the clock. Only non maintenance item that has needed to be replaced is the clutch at 210,000 km and it was the original clutch that was replaced. I have found servicing to be very reasonable since owning it and managed to have the timing belt done for less than $800 just recently. Mind you i am not using the dealer for servicing as you don't get the same service as you would from an independent mechanic

Badgex ski fx
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
4 comments
russy1
russy1

I still have this car. Just reached 300,000 km and still going strong

russy1
russy1
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
elijah

elijahMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Great car but technology is not simple.

published

Unless you are good with technology and are a quick learner this car may not be for you. It can be very helpful if you understand what you're doing with the car, but to be honest it can be a pain in the back if you are not to switched on with the smaller details of the car. Still happy with the car but also learning new things about it everyday!

Badge2.0D-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Donna H

Donna HChiltern

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst car I have driven in a long time.

published
BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Poolowner

PoolownerAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

2016 great improvement over 2010

published
Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Ash

AshNSW, 2070

  • 5 reviews

My ultimate car!

published

Living in Sydney and being someone who loves to get out in the wilderness and explore I needed a car that was going to cater for both! I've found that car in my Forester XT. Such a spacious, well designed and reliable car. Small enough to navigate through narrow Sydney streets but gutsy enough to go a little off road and get me to where I need to go!

BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
rgirardo

rgirardoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

What a great car so solid, just watch out the doors open really wide and can bang into other parked

published

Driving experience - this car is far Superior then our old Ford Escape, it drives smoothly and is higher off the floor so you can see further ahead, which gives you better ability to predict the traffic.
Just watch out when you open the doors they open very wide and you can easily hit other car that are parked nearby, especially dangerous when you have kids who are determined to open their own doors but not strong enough to stop the force of the door. I like the feature that tells us how many km's we have left before the fuel will run out.
The reliability has been fine we have only had the car for a couple of weeks it is way more economical then the old Ford Escape.

Badge2.5i
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Craig

CraigPerth

  • 4 reviews

Subaru Forester 2017 base model

published

Great driving with my 2 young kids 4 bikes on the back and a canoe on the roof.
Very good reversing camera.
Good fuel economy and roomy inside.
Excellent vision to see out when driving which makes you feel very safe.
Wonderful to have a full sized spare.
Best car we have owned

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Ash

Ash

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great features, drives superbly

published
BadgeXT Premium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam L

Sam LSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Love it!! Super comfy for passengers as well

published

We have did tons of research to look for a car that can fit a driver that’s 6ft tall and still being comfortable in the limited space, as well as a big boot that can fit white goods. Very smooth performance and sometimes we even complain about the pedal being too sensitive. Plenty of legroom for back passengers, One tip on buying is to choose the non-leather seats, so much comfier and absorbs less heat in the sun.
Only complain is the vent for AC sometimes is not powerful enough for back passengers under Australian’s hot weather. Oh, and the car survived in a severe hailstorm with only two dints! Very impressive.

BadgeXT
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Fossie1

Fossie1Adelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sixth Forester I have owned, the first brand new one.

published
Badge2.0D-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Lowell

LowellAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Good car for general use

published

The car is small outside but spacious inside. We can fit three child seats in the second row (if the child seat has got arm rest, it needs to be lifted up). It is easy to drive around and parking in the shopping centre is not difficult. Overall it's a reliable small SUV.

BadgeX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Grant

Grant

  • 2 reviews

Great Car to drive - just needs more technology on the inside

published

Bought the car new at the end of 2017 for the growing family - 1 infant and toddler. Perfect size for the 4 of us.
Driving Experience - It's a pleasure to drive, nice and smooth, quite cabin and the viewing is fantastic, which is why we bought it over the Mazda CX5. Interior is great, but it does lack the refinements of others in the same class. My only problem is with the head unit and speakers. Speakers are of poor quality and I love listening to music in the car. Also the lack of apple and android car play is disappointing on a 2017 model car that you pay over 30K for. All in all very happy with the purchase

Badge2.5i-L
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jenny

Jenny

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Constant DPF issues with Diesel model

published
Badge2.0D-L
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Page 4 of 16
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

chris

chrisasked

Forester S4 (2013-2018)

we have recently purchased a 2013 subaru forrester with 165000 klm , 1 week after purchase preformed a dpf removal and clean , 600klm later dpf light on , another forced regen , drove to and from work 600 klms checked and the system had attempted 4 burns and completed 2 , wife took the car on a 500 klm highway trip and 250 klm in dpf light came on system check showed 5 attempted burns none completed .
can anyone explain what drives the dpf burn and what would stop the burn from completing ?

No answers
Grime

Grimeasked

Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2020)

I have heard that the latest release coming in last quarter2020 is increasing the tow bar load to 1800kg, has auto door locking and front corner parking assist as standard on the S version.Is this true,should I wait for this release as we like to tow a van and the 1500kg is a bit light on?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Grime, There is the possibility that there will be changes to the Forester but we do not have any confirmed specs as of yet. Please keep an eye on our website for any new vehicle announcements. The Subaru Team.

robert c.

robert c.asked

Forester

The tyre pressure as shown on the inside door panel is 230Kpa or 32.8 psi. The dealer who sold the car to me advised that the tyre pressure should be 38psi or 266Kpa. Could you please advise the correct pressure?
Regards Robert cowley

2 answers
Mike
Mike

Subaru recommends 230Kpa for front and rear but to increase the rear to 270Kpa when towing. That's all I know. Cheers

robert c.
robert c.

hi Mike Who is right?
robert

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.